4 star rating: Recommended 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Penang, Malaysia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Esther T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This was excellent and we had a really good driver who turned out to be an excellent tour guide as well.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

I loved this tour. It was almost like travelling independently with our own personal chauffeur and just someone there to ask questions when needed. You are left on your own to explore the temple for over an hour and the same at Penang Hill. The views are very impressive. If you want to, you can combine this tour with the Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour as the same guide does both one after the other and you can stay on the bus.

Mark V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Kek Lok Si Temple is amazing. Great views from Penang Hill. Our guide was the best! This tour is a must do when in Penang.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

A must tour when in Penang.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was my fav of the 6 tours that I took with this company. Our guide stayed with our group and pointed out different sites. He made sure that we were in the 1st seats of the 1st car on the trip down. It would not have been as much fun without our guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour with a Pleasant guilde

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Fun trip up to the top of the hill! The "guide" was NOT a guide...he just drove us place to place and dropped us off on our own. Thank goodness, we ran into Phillip, from a previous day....he was so helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

What a great tour especially the visit to the temple and funicular ride at Penang Hill with really good views of Penang and Butterworth! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Nice tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The overall service is good, but the transportation car that used is very old/not representative if compared with the tour price that charged by Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was great. Well done.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

While we enjoyed this tour the itinerary was less comprehensive than advertised. Our visit to the temple was fairly short and we did not see the pool of longevity with the turtles and the visit to the Botanic gardens simply did not take place. When we asked the guide about this he said the gardens were only visited when the hill railway was closed for maintenance.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Very good tour. Guide excellent and informative. The temple is definitely worth seeing - it's beautiful and huge (although still incomplete) - and the cable car is fun and offers good views of Penang. Like all tours, it seemed a little rushed, but this is because you're seeing so much in such a short time period. Also, the air-conditioned van was a god-send haha!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The journey up the hill is much more comfortable these days, though obviously crowded due to the attraction of the views from the summit. The Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple is still an incomplete structure after all these years. You need your "walking feet" for this walk about. Again I was lucky to have david as the tour guide - such an incredible amount of information.

From USD $ 42.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705PEN11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message