Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Esther T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This was excellent and we had a really good driver who turned out to be an excellent tour guide as well.

Kerri B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

I loved this tour. It was almost like travelling independently with our own personal chauffeur and just someone there to ask questions when needed. You are left on your own to explore the temple for over an hour and the same at Penang Hill. The views are very impressive. If you want to, you can combine this tour with the Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour as the same guide does both one after the other and you can stay on the bus.

Mark V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Kek Lok Si Temple is amazing. Great views from Penang Hill. Our guide was the best! This tour is a must do when in Penang.

MANUEL N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

A must tour when in Penang.

andrew t

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very friendly, informative guide. Great views of Penang. Well worth doing this tour.

preronade

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I was the only one on the tour, and Tan my guide was very good.He took me to 2 other Buddhist temples as Kek Lok Si was closed.The panoramic views from Penang Hill were awesome! Tan, later went out of his way to show me some major sights Penang and also a quick trip to the Botanical Gardens.

George L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting tour and the journey to Penang Hill a great experience and fantastic views from a high elevation.

Julie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Some confusion initially about when our tour was (we had booked for afternoon but we were reported as no-show for the morning), we had an excellent time. Our guide, Philip, was a local who was very friendly and willing to add in some extra sightseeing when we got through the temple and hill early. We could take our own time, the vehicle was spotless and ran very smoothly, and we had no concerns for our safety despite Penang traffic.

mark.hardy

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I have done thhis tour previously and had the same tour guide again - Lawrence, he is a very good tour guide, his knowledge of the sights on the way to the temple and railway are excellent and he shares lots of information with you.

Only downer this time was we didn't go to the top at Kek Lok Si, not sure if it was a time thing or that last time it was only my wife and I on the tour, so unfortunately my son still hasn't been to the top to see the godess of mercy......I would recommend this tour to people visiting Penang for sure...

dlmosolf

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was my fav of the 6 tours that I took with this company. Our guide stayed with our group and pointed out different sites. He made sure that we were in the 1st seats of the 1st car on the trip down. It would not have been as much fun without our guide.

macca

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour with a Pleasant guilde

Sherry V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Fun trip up to the top of the hill! The "guide" was NOT a guide...he just drove us place to place and dropped us off on our own. Thank goodness, we ran into Phillip, from a previous day....he was so helpful.

Joas

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

What a great tour especially the visit to the temple and funicular ride at Penang Hill with really good views of Penang and Butterworth! Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and very good.

Rebecca H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Nice tour

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The overall service is good, but the transportation car that used is very old/not representative if compared with the tour price that charged by Viator.

Ka Hang Lawrenc S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

nice guide!

Michael L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was great. Well done.

Anthony R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

While we enjoyed this tour the itinerary was less comprehensive than advertised. Our visit to the temple was fairly short and we did not see the pool of longevity with the turtles and the visit to the Botanic gardens simply did not take place. When we asked the guide about this he said the gardens were only visited when the hill railway was closed for maintenance.

Monique H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Very good tour. Guide excellent and informative. The temple is definitely worth seeing - it's beautiful and huge (although still incomplete) - and the cable car is fun and offers good views of Penang. Like all tours, it seemed a little rushed, but this is because you're seeing so much in such a short time period. Also, the air-conditioned van was a god-send haha!

Peter John N

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The journey up the hill is much more comfortable these days, though obviously crowded due to the attraction of the views from the summit. The Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple is still an incomplete structure after all these years. You need your "walking feet" for this walk about. Again I was lucky to have david as the tour guide - such an incredible amount of information.

Kerry W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great afternoon out well worth the money shame there was no time to look or buy at
the shop Be prepared if you combine this tour with Penang Island discovery it can be a long day as we didn't stop for lunch in between but were informed to buy some fresh fruit from the side of the road cause we may get hungry later but otherwise nice time had by both of us

audi2111

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The tour rep was fun and had good knowledge. The tour itself did not have much to do but stopping over for fresh juice.

Joy H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

We were the only people booked on this tour on the day we went, so we had a car and tour guide David all to ourselves. David's lively and witty commentary and conversation made the tour even more enjoyable. Thanks David! Do visit Penang - it's a great little destination and this tour deserves better patronage. You could see the same things easily and much more cheaply by bus, but the price of the tour is so reasonable, why would you bother? As of time of writing, the funicular was still out of service, so we got a small refund on the day.

kim f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Temple is a must see but unfortunately, the tram was not working so didn't do Penang Hill.

Kerry L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

When we went on this tour the cable car was having a up grade, buddist temple was good, our tour guide had us laughing so much , with his silly jokes , we had a ball

Viewing 2 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 48.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705PEN11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message