4 star rating: Recommended 64 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Penang, Malaysia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 64 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

While we enjoyed this tour the itinerary was less comprehensive than advertised. Our visit to the temple was fairly short and we did not see the pool of longevity with the turtles and the visit to the Botanic gardens simply did not take place. When we asked the guide about this he said the gardens were only visited when the hill railway was closed for maintenance.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Very good tour. Guide excellent and informative. The temple is definitely worth seeing - it's beautiful and huge (although still incomplete) - and the cable car is fun and offers good views of Penang. Like all tours, it seemed a little rushed, but this is because you're seeing so much in such a short time period. Also, the air-conditioned van was a god-send haha!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The journey up the hill is much more comfortable these days, though obviously crowded due to the attraction of the views from the summit. The Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple is still an incomplete structure after all these years. You need your "walking feet" for this walk about. Again I was lucky to have david as the tour guide - such an incredible amount of information.

Kerry W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Great afternoon out well worth the money shame there was no time to look or buy at
the shop Be prepared if you combine this tour with Penang Island discovery it can be a long day as we didn't stop for lunch in between but were informed to buy some fresh fruit from the side of the road cause we may get hungry later but otherwise nice time had by both of us

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The tour rep was fun and had good knowledge. The tour itself did not have much to do but stopping over for fresh juice.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

We were the only people booked on this tour on the day we went, so we had a car and tour guide David all to ourselves. David's lively and witty commentary and conversation made the tour even more enjoyable. Thanks David! Do visit Penang - it's a great little destination and this tour deserves better patronage. You could see the same things easily and much more cheaply by bus, but the price of the tour is so reasonable, why would you bother? As of time of writing, the funicular was still out of service, so we got a small refund on the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Temple is a must see but unfortunately, the tram was not working so didn't do Penang Hill.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

When we went on this tour the cable car was having a up grade, buddist temple was good, our tour guide had us laughing so much , with his silly jokes , we had a ball

Lina B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The tour was fantastic. Our guide was very proffesional yet friendly and fun. We would do it again!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice tour, but the train was crowded and we had to wait until 6 PM to board the train.

Pauline T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Would only do it once. The tram ride was very hot and packed in like sardines. The view was great and the temple was very impressive. Would have been nice to spend more time at the temple and surrounding markets.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Fantastic views of Penang from atop the hill. The funicular tram is quite a ride if you're standing. Buddhist monastery is a fantastic place.

Allan R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Very good visit, only marred by low visibility on the funicular.

Paris N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

If you ever visit Penang, this is a must trip. The tour was organised very well, and the climb up to Penang Hill by train was quite an experience.

David H
Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The Hill and Temple tour was cancelled due to Chinese New Year. I was offered the Penang city tour or my money back - I took the tour. It's not possible to "do Penang" in 1/2 day but it certainly visited most of the main sights. The Pewter Showroom could have been replaced by, for example, one of the temples. However, the guide was well informed and I would never have ventured onto the clan piers alone - that alone made the tour worth doing.

From USD $ 46.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705PEN11

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message