• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 59 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Penang, Malaysia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si Buddhist Temple Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 59 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anne
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

I enjoyed the tour although it was shorter than I had expected at 2hours15mins. Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si were both worth the visit and the guide was well informed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Our tour was confirmed for hotel pick up @ 2PM but no one turned up !!!! After some upsetting, stressful time and many phone calls we were finally sent a (private) bus and driver/guide @ 4PM. :o) There were 2 highlights listed on the tour that we did not get to see at all : #1-Stroll through the beautiful Penang Botanical Gardens with the free roaming monkeys. #2- See hundreds of tortoises at the "Pond of Longevity"
Apart from all that, Penang Hill and Kek Lok Si were beautiful. Wish we had more time there instead of rushing through.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Good tour but too bad the penang hill part wasnt included due to works on the funicular train.

Patsy R
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Well this Penang Hill tour that was booked was actually closed till Nov 2010 but I was still able to book it on the website. I didn't find out it was closed until the day we were geting picked up. They didn't show up. Then the hotel rang the company and they were an hour late, only to let us know that the attraction is being renovated! We were still taken to the temple and the botanical gardens, the gardens are a waste of time all you see is a park, a tram and a few monkeys. The temple is a must see. Make sure you cover your shoulders for the temple tour and allow the whole day to walk the temple, make sure you wear good shoes, I walked nearly 10KM - it's huge!!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Misleading as there was no Penang Hill tour. Kek Lo Si Temple tour was refreshing and a nice walk at the Botanical Gardens

Leticia
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

It is actually quite disappointing. First, we were only able to go to one section of the the Kek Lok Si . The other section had a sign that said it is closed. Our Penang Hill was replaced by the Botanica Garden which I would rate it as average. The guide was more of a driver than a guide. He does not provide us with any information of the places even during the drive. He just simply drop us at the place and said this is it and we see you at xxx time. I had the impression we are having a guide not a driver??

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Hotel pick-up on time. Tour guide was very good. The temple is certainly worth a visit and enough time provided here for a good look around. We knew that Penang Hill was closed for renovations and so were aware of the Botanic Gardens substitution. Unfortunately this was a waste - run down, poorly tended. The tram ride option at an extra, though nominal, cost only serves to highlight the Garden's poor condition. Although not stated in the intenerary, we also stopped at a CoffeeTea Honey operation outlet. Really little more than a sales opportunity, product is pricey and is not going to get through Australian customs anyway. But, tastings offered were an appreciated refreshment on a hot afternoon!

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Good tour but not enough time to to see Kek Lok Si or Penang Hill. Kek Lok Si needs at least twice the time, not the hour provided since only mounting to the temple takes a lot of time. Same for the Penang Hill, a good part of time on the top of this hill spent to wait for the cable car otherwise you might not find a place in it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

It didn't feel like we were on a tour per se, it was more like we'd hired someone to drive us to the places and then we did our own thing once there. The sites were both worth visiting, though. Maybe the botanical gardens can be added to the tour to make it more interesting.

Norma G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Too much emphasis on shopping.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

Penang Hill Tour, not many good views on the peak deserving sightseeing, and the Kek Lok Si Temple isn't the biggest one in E. Asia as the tour guide said. The trams running to the other end every 30 minutes were just wasting the travellers' time.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2011

Contrary to the advice on your website, the railway is closed until March. We only chose this trip for the railway. The Botanical Gardens was not a satisfactory substitute.

Craige P
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2009

Of the many tours I have been on in different cities, this was the most disappointing. For reasons I still don't understand, I was picked up by a private driver and driven many miles to a resort hotel to wait for the coach which, when it arrived, was completely full. I was basically driven all the way back to where I'd been picked up to join the tour! I left this tour half way through as there was so much downtime and wasted time--not due to the company itself but due to the crowds and queues for the train trip. Being one in a group of more than 40 is no way to see a new city.

JUMAAN A
Saudi Arabia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

It was crowded with very low class people. The management was very bad. They put people more than the allowed capacity.

Special Offer

From USD $ 46.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705PEN11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message