4.5 star rating: Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Penang, Malaysia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Penang Island Discovery Morning Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

An interesting tour with the obligatory tourist shop stops. Our guide was personable and informative. He showed us the flavor of the entire island and did not make us stay in the required stops.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The guide and the trip was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This tour gave us an amazing feel for the entire island of Penang. The drive was beautiful and we enjoyed experiencing the various aspects of the island. All of the stops were interesting, but we definitely felt that they were a bit too "commercial" as the information parts were not as extensive as we would have liked and the "shopping time" allotted was often much longer.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Marco K
Switzerland

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

not really much to see

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Interesting and knowledgeable visit along the west coast line among the local fruit orchards. Batik printing reveal some insight and snake temple was quite thrilling and intriguing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Good wway to see the island

Peter D
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Hotel pick-up was on time and again the tour guide was very good. Tour was interesting and gives a sound overview of the island. Most suitable for first timers. Adequate photo shopping opportunities.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

The tour was without a guide,only a driver with broken English,interested only in the property market in the island.Print factory,Fruit market,and Coffee beans factory were commercial breaks,Nevertheless the latter was a good compromise,as the group members were desperate for free coffee drops.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

My first time using aviator. It was a hassle to start. It was good I had a hotel staff call for confirmation. Our booking was unheard of, so she has to fax our prepaid ticket/voucher. Had to wait for hours to get a confirmation for our next day tour. Was really disappointing considering it was prepaid weeks earlier. We could have wasted our day waiting for nothing without confirming first. It should have been hassle free.

Our voucher states a pick up time of 9:30 but we were picked up at 8. It was just a mess to start.

However, the tour was great. Our tour guide was a walking creature of knowledge. Bus was clean.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Interesting trip to batik factory something new. A small shop showing rubber tapping, spices & fruits, a bit disappointing. Visit to malay kampong with nobody around for you to mingle. Snake temple got to pay for entrance fee just to see the different species but nobody is there to explain so got to walk around yourself. Interesting tour to jewellery factory but everything is expensive. Didn't stop to see the penang bridge just drive pass so didn't manage to take a picture of this 3rd longest bridge in the world.

Norma G
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

There was too much emphasis on shopping!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

Couple of shopping stops was a bit of a dampener. I can't fathom why Georgetown is not included in the itinerary. The guide was quite knowledgeable. Snake Temple is quite incredible.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

Not much to be seen. If you did not join the tour, you lost nothing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The island of Penang is very beautiful and this tour drives you around the island. I felt that more opportunities to take photos would have been nice, and I would have loved to see the spice farm instead of the drivers friends roadside stand, but all in all it was okay. I was with two others and our tour was in a small car. The driver was pointing and talking while trying to drive a small car, and I felt in danger at times on the small crowded roads. We made it back safely though and the guide was pleasant enough.

JUMAAN A
Saudi Arabia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

It's a sales trip, don't forget to bring enough money to spend your day in shopping stores.

From USD $ 33.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3705PEN10

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message