4 star rating: Recommended 46 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Duration:  13 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 46 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

We had a very enjoyable day. Our coach driver, Grant, was very knowledgeable and friendly. My only advice to improve the day would have been to have had lunch at the winery we stopped at. Possibly, for an additional cost, it would have been better than the lunch provided at a kiosk.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The places were beautiful. It was a very long journey, but well worth it because all the places we dropped by were just captivating, especially the view at Busselton Jetty and at the Cape Leeuwin lighthouse. Lunch was a picnic affair, but well served and professionally conducted. My only regret is the limited time we had to spend at each venue due to time constraints. I would have liked more time to stop by and enjoy the surroundings instead of being rushed off every half an hour or so. But I do understand that the distance we covered was an amazing 300+ kilometers. I would sign up for the tour...again and again and again!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Generally good. Driver was great. Very knowledgeable. My only negative too many shopping stops.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Lots of picturesque spots. The spot where the two oceans meet is quite special. Very ably guided.

Alan D
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

caves were amazing, the lighthouse was closed to climb unfortunately, but amazing scenery. eagle show was cool, the guy who runs the park has great passion for his work. met some brill people on the tour and had fun.

David C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

This is a great tour to do if your time is limited, and you only have a day to see Margaret River. The rugged coastline around Cape Leeuwin is stunning. Mammoth Cave is very beautiful, although the cave tour was a little short for my liking it would have been nice to spend another 10 or 15 minutes there. Had a nice stroll along the jetty at Busselton and watched the sunset over the bay.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

An amazing collection of sights! Do not believe it, however, when they tell you that you need to order food ahead for Busselton or you will not get served. This is just a ploy for the driver to get a free meal! There are actually several evening eating options in lovely Busselton.

mimli77
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

If you have a very short amount of time to see this region of WA, then this tour is the way to go. However, be warned that it is a very LONG day (15 hours from hotel pick up to drop off) with only short amounts of time at each stop (the most being 1 hour for lunch and dinner). While the tour was great and Kerry, the bus driver/tour guide was excellent, in hindsight it's probably a better idea to take a longer tour of this area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The cave visit was good and we learned something we hadn't known before. The lighthouse visit was special as it's where Indian Ocean meets Southern Ocean. Beer tasting and wine tasting activities were OK having done a few others in the past.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour was quite good, although the long hours were tiring. Even though the weather was bad, we did manage to see almost everything. The driver's commentary was very good.

Broomeboy
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Great tour but just to say when I confirmed in Perth I found out that the time in Bussleton was limited to 30 minutes which was disappointing as that did not give enough time for a walk of the jetty and the undersea adventure.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This is a long day trip! If you read the reviews, you know what you are getting yourself into. The stops were interesting, but it did all feel quite rushed. I would have preferred to focus more time on less stops in the region. The trip felt quite disjointed, rushing from place to place without really getting to enjoy the stops. Again, you know this is what you are signing up for and it is an okay trip if you are pushed for time in the area. But, if you have more than a few days, I'd recommend taking your time to enjoy the beautiful sites.

The bus was very nice, as were the meals. I would have liked more commentary from the guide. The commentary he did provide was adequate, but left me wanting. There was a lot of time in which to give the commentary, so more attention could be paid to making the commentary more informative.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Booked tour online and received voucher insisting a printed version would be required to get on bus NOT SO
Nowhere on said voucher did it state where or when tour was leaving Perth Phoned Viator in U.S.to obtain 1300 No to phone Perth office thus obtaining pickup address Too hard whilst on holiday-who carries a printer.
Tour was in fact quite good but much overpriced

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Perhaps it was the season (or non-season). Expected a bit more from the Wine part of the tour other than just mere tasting. The Lighthouse is truly magnificent. The Caves is interesting. The Busselton jetty is pretty nice but would have been much better if the little train ride was included. Overall, traveling time was really long, so if you have a bit of time to spare, you can do this trip else could explore other areas.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

My partner and I considered that it was far too much driving between stops. Our first stop was at Busselton about 2 1/2 hrs first stop which I consider far too long before a break.. Also we were very disappointed in the Margaret River wine tasting stop. We drove for ages to get there, passed lots of vineyards on highway, and we ended up with a very small wine shop which was very ordinary, compared to others in South Aust. and Tasmania, I expected to go to a much better venue. Our stop at Bootleg Brewery was interesting, the platter shared between 2 was very tasty. The owner gave us 2 jugs of 2 different wines between 10 (at a table) then never appeared again to try another beer. I thought it was to be more beer tasting.
We obviously made a bad choice as it was about 14 hr tour far too long..

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

My tour had 50 people on it. I would imagine for $200+ dollars you'd get a smaller group or much better attractions. You don't really get to experience the beauty of the region because you only stop briefly at one vineyard and the lighthouse/jetty don't really make up for it. After doing the tour, don't think it's worth the money. If you have to see Margaret River and only have one day, I'd look for a cheaper day tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Once again this tour wasn't all it was advertised to be. Margaret River was trouted as a main attraction, but we arrived there late afternoon and shops were closed and there was nothing for us to do. We were left there by ourselves for half an hour to explore - explore what? The evening meal stop at our own expence was a distaster. Everyone complained. Don't think we'll be booking any more tours through you. What you advertise is not what you get. Once again very dissapointed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

While we are going to the Margaret River, no one told me exactly which river we passed was the Margaret River. There were too many hotel pick-up and drop-off resulted in us arriving at the hotel at 10.30pm.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

This day tour is too cramped. We are trying to do too much in a single day, and this is very exhausting. We did not get to see much of margaret river too. Most importantly, the dinner was a major let-down. It was of very small portion and the food standard is shabby. I was expecting a good dinner that day as Australia is known for its great cuisine. I will not recommend this trip to all my friends. Maybe you can allow helicopter option at an additional cost, so that we can cut down on the travel time. I will certainly opt for it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

I would not recommend this tour. The tour guide was friendly and very knowledgable however there is way to much driving. Our group was at each stop for 30 minutes tops. We didn't get to walk on the jetty becuase we stopped for only 15 minutes. We didn't get to finish our wine tasting, we barely saw the cave, and we had only about 15 minutes in town shopping before everything closed. The amount of stops you make is way too many for one day (plus it's 3 hours away.)

Also kids should not be allowed on this tour, we had two young kids (around two and three) that kept screening on the bus. In an enclosed space I did not want to spend my vacation listening to out of control kids.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

The caves part of the tour was severely shortened, I feel I paid enough for this tour to get the entire tour of the caves -- they were interesting. The winery was a new one and wasn't very good at all -- which was a shame as the Margaret River winerys are supposed to be fabulous. The food was good -- what there was of it -- we were at the back of the line and the good stuff was pretty much gone. The PA system on the bus had a whine that was very annoying, so I was listening to my iPod very loudly to drown it out and didn't hear the commentary. Thankfully the driver turned it off for the 2-1/2 hour journey back to Perth CBD. All in all I don't recommend this tour.

From USD $ 172.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3115M1_M2_M3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message