5 star rating: Highly Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pinnacles Desert, Koalas and Sandboarding 4WD Day Tour from Perth. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a real adventure trip and not a common coach-tour. The airconditioned and comfortable coach as welll as the friendly driver made the entire trip to become "strongly recommended"!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip was just awesome !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Had very little time to spend at Caversham wildlife park. Just managed to cover the 3 main marsupials namely the koala, kangaroo and the wombat before we were whisked off again in the bus. But the pinnacles desert was a wonder of its own class. Seeing the limestone jutting out of the desert sands was amazing. And sand boarding was extremely fun too. It was a perfect Aussie experience I would never forget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent tour, very much enjoyed. We had to ring up the local number in advance to find out the pickup time, but other than that it was a great day.

Danielle C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Had a fantastic time - well organised.

BELINA W
French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

It was a nice and good trip. Pinnacles desert has to be seen. We also liked to touch the koalas and the kangaroos. They are so cute.

Sherry W
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour guide with detailed introduction of local scenery and landscape. I truly enjoyed the whole trip. I recommend doing this in seasons that are not so hot. The desert can be up to 40 degrees. Do take tons of water with you. Don't wear sandals to the sandboarding but normal shoes. Shorts are better than pants. I regretted not trying diving down the sand dunes. Oh well, next time then!

Helen B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Really enjoyed this trip. The stops are well planned out so you're not spending too much time on a coach. There's the animal park in the morning you get the opportunity to stroke koalas, kangaroos and wombats - not to be missed, then a stop for lunch, then onto the Pinnacles for great photos and later in the afternoon, onto sand-boarding and the 4WD! A very enjoyable day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Loved the afternoon tea stop in the middle of no where with the lovey ladies and home made cookie.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour packs a lot of different experiences into one day -- Caversham Wild Animal Park, the lobster processing plant, the pinnacles and sandboarding/4WD.

russ
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very good day out and interesting. Necessitated long distance travel but that is not the tour's fault! The highlights are miles apart.
Very good tour with ranger of the kangaroo and koala sanctuary. Feeding the kangaroo was fun for all ages; getting as close to koalas on this trip was better than anywhere else in Australia I have tried.
The rock lobster plant: interesting and the lobster tasted good. A bit unprepared for the ethics.
The Pinnacles was worth a look and possibly even a short walk although the sun beating down means you need to sun-screen well and use a hat.
The sand boarding was fun. Safe enough. It is a trek back to the top again but it is worth it.
Footwear: sensible shoes rather than sandals. Take sunscreen and a hat.
Our driver was just that: a driver. There was so much going by (scenery and interesting things) that he could have commented on but he didn't.
Overall - worthwhile doing because of the sanctuary and you see a selection of sights.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized. Our first stop at Caversham Wildlife park was quite short, but this was due to the long ride we had to make to Cervantes. The upgraded lobster lunch was delicious and worth it. Pinnacles desert was really amazing and the last stop at Lancelin for the sandboarding adventure was really fun! Only minor thing was that the mic on the bus was hissing whenever the busdriver would not turn this off. So we had to constantly remind him to turn this off. Other than this I would recommend this tour to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really nice tour!
Adapted for the needs of tourists (=good and bad): everywhere just enough time to take some nice photos. Would be even better if you could spend some more time at some locations.
The visit to the wildlife park was really nice: we could see kangaroos, a wombat and koalas from really close, touch them and make some nice photos. The people there were really friendly.
I really loved the pinnacles!! (although a bit more time there would be better)
Sandboarding was really nice.
The lobster lunch was a bit disappointing. Maybe because we first visited the lobster factory and so I didn't feel like eating lobster anymore. It was really hard to eat them with a plastic for from a basket. The taste was not as good as expected. To be honest, the salad lunch of the others looked better.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day out !!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a very nice day, starting form Perth, heading out to the Caversham Wildlife Park, the Lobster Factory, The Pinnacles and Lancelin sanddunes. It's a long day but its fun. The weather in Perth was terrible when I did this, so our whole day was made gloomy with rain and wind, but we made the most of it and still had an enjoyable time. The Pinnacles are really cool, as was the sandboarding, the only thing bringing it down was the weather.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Love the stops at Caversham and lobster shack, although the tour in the lobster factory could do a better. My family's talking about going back to Caversham when we next visit!! Love the pinnacles and the sand dunes. Kids had loads of fun!!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We took this tour on a Public Holiday - Good Friday. Started off on-time. Tour guide cum driver (a big man - can't recall his name) is pleasant and drove well throughout the day. While driving, he updated us on the attractions and histories along the way. 1st stop - Caversham Wildlife. Unless you're on your own or have the whole day, do spend more time walking around and see the animals. 2nd stop - Lobster Shed. Lunch. Had an educational tour around. 3rd stop - Pinnacles. Closer look and feel of the desert 'tombstones'. 4th stop - sandboarding at sand dunes! Fantanstic experience! Overall trip was worth the $$$! Would definitely recommend to others! - Ayu and Yati (Singapore)

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a great day, the guide was very nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The sand boarding was the best part of the tour for me!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

An interesting place to visit, love the sand-boarding and falling trick with the bus

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Quite a long journey on 4WD but comfortable. Played with kangaroos inside zoo as well as koala. Saw real wild kangaroos along the road

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Cool bus, well-experienced driver - perfect trip!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A long, fun day touring around western Australia. I thought there would be a bit more walking/exploring, but it's definitely more of a bus tour than a walking tour. Our guide was great, and despite being there by myself, I never felt awkward. A great way to see parts of Australia that you wouldn't if you stick close to the cities.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

More time at Caversham, and cut out the lobster factory. Sandboarding and 4wd was fantastic!!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

This was great fun. The driver was interesting and informative. The Pinnacles are amazing, the animals part is so-so, but the sand boarding was fun and I really enjoyed the scenery on this tour. The food was good and there was plenty of it. Might be nice to give people a taste of the lobster on the lunch stop as to buy 1/2 a lobster is too much food

From USD $ 171.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3115P3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message