5 star rating: Highly Recommended 51 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Simpson Bay, St Maarten
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Trip to the Island of Prickly Pear from St. Martin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Boat crew was awesome, island was pretty cool and the food served was good. Can't really complain except the water was a little bumpy coming up but that's just the sea for you...DEFINITELY recommend over the St. Thomas trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The trip was fantastic. The ride was a bit rocky as we had just had a couple of days of rainy weather from the tail ends of a a hurricane. The crew was amazing. They couldn't do enough for us. The lunch was great and the beach was spectacular. I would go again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This was by far the highlight of our trip!!! The crew was GREAT! The snorkeling was good, lunch was excellent and the beach was beautiful too! We would recommend this trip to anyone! Well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

one of the highlights of our trip, kids got to swim with a school of bluefish. lunch was outstanding. crew helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

What a fantastic day! Gorgeous beach and snorkeling. The crew was great, a lot of fun. The food was fantastic and rum punch runneth over. . .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We had a great time. I went with my wife and 9-year old son. The trip was great, Prickly Pair was great, the lunch was great. The crew were great with my son and the boat was beautiful. I highly recommend this trip - good value for the money. Only one issue - really hard to find the marina - no signs! Luckily we bumped into someone who'd taken the trip and she directed down the stairways and through the halls to get to the check-in area. Signs please!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

By far the best value and trip of our entire stay. The staff is super nice. Boat is very well captained and the crew made it fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The trip on the Lambada to Prickly Pear was the best day of the trip! The swells were unusually active, but it didn't spoil a thing! The kids loved it and the crew was so accommodating and fun! They also know how to really take care of folks true sailors keeping everyone safe as well as pour drinks. It's a must! A real fun experience and no worries! I think it's best for families with kids over 7 years old.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The crew of the Lambada was professional and friendly. I did several trips through the group that runs this trip and did notice one constant in all the trips. They listed departure time is actually an hour before the boat is actually expected to depart. For trips that leave St. Maarten this is due to port and immigration issues that need to be addressed before the boat leaves so bring some entertainment and be prepared to wait. Prickly Pear is gorgeous and I loved going. I actually ended up snorkeling off that reef twice during my stay. Anyone considering this trip should be aware that there is a current in the area and it can be very strong. I was there a month after a hurricane and was told that there were fewer fish than normal but I still saw large schools of fish and even got to swim with a sea turtle at one point. For non-swimmers there is a launch that will take you to shore, they bring bags over to the island the same way for people who choose to swim over. As a helpful hint you have found the dock if you see signs for Pelican Marina Residences. Finding the appropriate place to park for the marina is impossible without help. Either stop and ask any of the parking security guards at the gates or turn left into Hollywood casino, turn left at the next street and talk to the security guard at that booth. Parking is the top of a pretty long hill, and is free. If you can't walk hills, take a cab or if staying on the island see if the activities desk can get you on the shuttle to the dock that seems to stop at many of the resorts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The staff were amazing, very accommodating, and the trip was beautiful! The crew really knew how to make everyone happy and relaxed. I definitely recommend this to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a beautiful island. The beaches were white sand and the water was gorgeous. There was snorkeling and the sailboat ride was wonderful. We did this at the end of the trip and if we did it in the beginning we would have done it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great and friendly staff. Everyone was nice and they brought drinks to where you were sitting. Open bar was awesome along with the snacks they served. The restaurant they brought us to in Anguilla served some excellent ribs. The staff recommended the fish but it was a bit different than what we expected.

The only thing was we couldnt go snorkeling at Prickly Pear because of the swells. The staff told us that before departure and gave us the option of rescheduling but we did not have anymore time so we went anyways. The told us the snorkeling instead wouldnt be excellent however the alternative snorkeling spot they brought us to we couldnt see anything at all. The water was murky, however we still enjoyed swimming/snorkeling in the bay and the beach was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great time! The Mahi Mahi was yum. Just missing rum cake for dessert at Prickly Pear. Even though it rained for a few minutes, wished we could have explore Anguilla.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a great time! The water was perfect and so was the weather! Not quite as much to do at the island but the staff had a great lunch prepared and the snorkeling was good! Best part was the interaction with the staff - they really made you feel welcome!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great trip to Prickly Pear. The crew was fantastic, lunch was delicious, and the ride on the Lambada was great. Snorkeling was so so.
For those who read the other reviews - the boat drops anchor a ways from shore. Those who snorkel can snorkel to the beach. For those who don't, they will ferry you and everyone's stuff to the beach in the dinghy - it takes a while as the dighy is not that big.
To summarize, my wife and I had a good time and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great time but snorkeling was not very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great trip. The reef was so close and the fish were vivid colors. Lunch was great and excessive! All in all one of our favorite things we did while in the island!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Beautiful trip with great opportunity for gathering shells.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Had a great time on this tour but again, Groupon adds nothing to the equation because you can get the same tour for the same price on the island and not be locked into a specific day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Great lunch, great crew - poor snorkeling due to heavy wave action and so-so reefs.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Capt Pete and the crew were great. The weather was not the best in the morning but by the time we got to Prickly Pear it was great. They know the area well and made the trip a highlight of our vacation.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A fun trip! Well worth the price for the day. Great food and beautiful views. Better than average snorkeling!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Great trip, great food and drinks. One in our group forgot to take motion sickness pills and lost her lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was an ok day trip. Prickly Pear beach was pretty and quiet. Lunch was provided by a few residents of Anguilla and was quite good. I had the chicken. While I did snorkel, I did not see anything but seaweed which was what a number of other guests stated also. Some said they saw a few fish but nothing to really talk about. Not sure if this was because it had just stopped raining right before we arrived. The crew was good and included the guests in hoisting up the sail. Men on the way out and women on the way back.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The crew onboard was excellent in rough waters. My complaint is with the ground transportation to and from hotels. It was very disorganized. we were directed to the wrong bus and when the error was detected we were put on public transportation to get back to the hotel. We did not feel safe.

Special Offer

From USD $ 109.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3324PRPEAR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message