4.5 star rating: Recommended 28 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Sok Full Day Jungle Safari from Phuket. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 28 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jane J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

We did this trip on my birthday- March 30th.
The mini bus was very modern and nice, but rather a long drive. The trip went well even in the heavy rain

Melvine M
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Fantastic tour, really enjoyed the ride in the jungle. A must do trip for all

Caleb W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This safari was great fun and made for a very enjoyable day. We took a long time traveling, though, to get there and back. We were lucky that we brought some money, as we were expected to tip the canoe driver, the elephant driver, the driver of the minivan, and the tour guide

Steve Z
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Beautiful scenery. The guide was funny and knowledgeable about Khao Sok and Thailand. Great place to take pics and small friendly group made it more fun.

Kerrie M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Wonderful. The elephant camp was amazing. Superb lunch supplied and a pleasant tea break by the river. We enjoyed the enthusiasm of our guide. A great day out.

Aaron J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

It's a great tour for those wanting to see more of Thailand than Phuket can offer. The tour takes you to one of the largest national parks in Thailand and the scenery is beautiful. What they do not mention however is that it will take you about 3 hours to get from Phuket to the park and 3 hours back again of course with a coffee break along the way. We thought that we would be able to read a book on the way so we weren't too worried about the travel time, however the mini bus we rode in either had no suspension or the road to Khao Sok is very, very bumpy. But not all was bad. The Elephant trek was amazing and made the travel time more worthwhile. I haven't been trekking on an elephant in Phuket or anywhere for that matter, so it is hard to compare but I can't imagine the other treks would offer such amazing surroundings. You trek through the rainforest with limestone cliffs towering over you for quite a lengthy time before returning to feed your elephant a fruit basket, if you wish for the cost of 100 Bhat, it's worth it. The kayaking down the river gives you a good chance to take in the surroundings. I was a little disappointed not seeing any wildlife apart from snakes rapped up in the trees, however we are in formed that during the hotter months when we travelled, animals are less often seen.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The write up of what the trip was offering and what you were getting for your money was not accurate. I still enjoyed the experience to the max as it was something I have been wanting to do for a long time.

I would have like to know the length of the bus drove before the trip as this was a it of a shock for me. Felt like I spent most of the full day tour on a bus (over 7 hours traveling). This would have given me a better preparation for the day.

Finally I was sitting at the back of the bus and every time the guide started talking the Chinese couple beside me were either talking on their phone or talking loudly between themselves. I found this very disrespectful and also found it really hard to hear the guide explain the sites around us. I would have liked the guide to please ask the couple at the back to respect the other guests and not talk when she was talking.

I found the guide very good and the bits I heard highly knowledgable and interesting. I would have liked a warming about the monkey cave the bananas which were shoved in my hands were going to cost me money. I have no problem with paying money for a service or helping out however this experience where I was forced to take and feed monkeys and afterwards "hounded" for money was off putting. I appreciated the situation and paid however a pleasant warming from your guide prior to pulling up would have been appreciated.

Overall great day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Of the three tours I took while in phuket, this is the one I would have skipped. The ride was long and the attractions not so great. If you want to go elephant trecking you can do that in the Phuket area instead of driving 3 plus hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Hardly what i would call a jungle safari, sitting in a van 70% of the day to float down a river and then ride around someones farm on an elephant.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

It was a long way from Patong, and we didn't see much wildlife. Some problems with legs going to sleep in the canoe if you sat at the back. Scenery was spectacular! The elephant ride was great, but not much to see and again no wildlife around. The tour guide was great, full of useful information. Not sorry I did it, but probably wouldn't repeat.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2011

This trip is NOT advised from Phuket. To the venue, travel time 3 1/2 hours, likewise for the return. Actual time canoe/elephant = 2 hours !!
Lunch not brilliant. A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT.

Bernard W
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2007

Very little to offer for the price. The elephant trek was notable for the total lack of interesting sights and the canoe trip was a very sub standard adventure. All in all a complete wash out in terms of value for money.

From USD $ 116.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message