4 star rating: Recommended 31 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  60 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the One-Hour Elephant Jungle Trek from Phuket. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 31 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The elephant trek was fun, its an interesting perspective from the top of an elephants back. Going up hill was a little less scary than down but the animals seemed happy enough to take us around. At the end you could purchase pieces of pineapple and feed the elephants at a price of course which the elephants loved. Good idea if you are on tour with another couple to exchange cameras so you can have photos of yourself. Tour guides expected a tip which we gladly gave.

Toni S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A nice walk through the jungle and rubber plantation!

Pamela P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

A wonderful experience. The scenery was beautiful, the elephant so well behaved and the "driver" so eager to show us and tell us things about the surroundings.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Not as impressive I the other Elephant tours starting from Bangkok for the National Park, Elephants are extremely exhausted, not in a mood for continuous rides by tourists, and they all stop (refuse to move) after every few steps! overall was average, not that great!, but for the fact that it takes 1 hour only, it's of the OK side, especially if you have to catch a plane in the afternoon :)

brenst
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Everything i expected.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Thoroughly relaxing tour of the jungle, the guides pointed out when they saw local wildlife, lizards, snakes and others animals. Stopped to show how the sap from the rubber tree was taken. This was an enjoyable experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

would have been better if it hadn't been raining for a week before. didnt know it was there rainy season.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The pick up service was very prompt, and we got straight out of the shuttle van and onto an elephant. The ride and the views were really nice, but our elephant was too tired or stubborn to carry us. He stopped every 10 feet, and our "driver" had to kick him and tap him with a pick (he didn't hit him hard though). After we got to feed our elephant for a few extra baht.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Good value for the money. The seats on the elephant need upgrading, strange sensation riding such a large animal - but fun.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Not exactly a jungle trek more a trek around handlers campsite situated along main road.
Not recommended for people who care about elephants as our handler repeatedly kept hitting the poor animal with metal hook. The monkey attraction consisted of 10 monkeys chained to oil drums by short leads.

Louise M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

If you are desperate to go on an elephant trek then I wouldn't try to put you off. However at these places, you can never be sure just how well the elephants are treated and as the journey is up and down hill, I didn't feel very safe coming down the steep slopes with no ropes to keep you in the seat.

Derek R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2009

We were based in the north of Phuket, and unfortunately it was a long drive, approximately 1.5 hours, to get to the elephant trekking near the south of the island. The elephant trekking is about 30-40 minutes.

Colin B
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

We knew we had bought one of the cheaper trips, but this is a case of you get what you pay for. If all you want is the experience of riding and being near an elephant, fine, but it literally consists of getting on in a scruffy field, going up a hill in a small disused rubber plantation and having a photo taken. The elephants are thrilling, however.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2007

We were pretty excited to do this, being that the only elephants we see are in the zoo. The ride from our hotel was long, we waited longer than expected to ride and elephants seemed tired. It was fun but could have been more so.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

If I could give this a zero star or negative star I would. First of all the animals were treated poorly, I had to keep myself from crying during the trek. The elephants were obviously tired and if they wanted to take a break or to eat some greenery, the driver/guide would beat him on the head with a bullhorn and yell at them. It was very inhumane and unnecessary. The elephants had cuts on their faces where the bullhorn had been applied. Second, the driver/guide of our elephant and the one next to us talked to each other the entire time in Thai so we couldn't even enjoy the beautiful scenery or get a history about the elephants or the area. One of the drivers even got on his cell phone and chatted away not once, but three times. Third, during the middle of the trek, our guide pulled out a box of jewelry that he wanted us to buy from him. Fourth, during the trek, they had a monkey chained up to a tree by his arm for people to look at....again inhumane. The elephant camp was called Sea View Elephant Camp. I was completely appalled at how the elephants and monkey were treated and that Viator would contract with this camp. Elephants are beautiful creatures and should be treated as such. Again worst experience.

From USD $ 54.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT04C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message