• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  5 - 6.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. After hearing other tourist comments about their elephant tours (NOT with this company) I was not sure what we would encounter. This company is so humane in the welfare of the elephants that it was an absolute joy being there and around these magnificent animals. The gentle ride through the jungle was fantastic and the view from the back of the elephant was breath taking. The guided tour through a traditional Thai village was so informative and lunch served aboard a large boat just made the whole day extremely memorable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who visits Thailand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Highlight of this tour is obviously the elephant ride but the rest is pretty good too. Joy was lovely and informative.

AMANDA E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This tour is excellent. I had done it 3 yrs ago on my last visit to Phuket and its even better. Our guide was such a happy girl and very informative. The pace of the tour is really good as well -dont feel rushed at all. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was the most amazing trip, my family and I had so much fun and learnt so much too. Our guide was excellent and the Mahouts were wonderful with their elephants. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone going to Phuket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This is a fantastic tour, we had a great day and were very impressed with our guide and the people involved with the tour, would highly recommend this tour to anyone that loves elephants!

We were picked up from our Hotel Rawai beach resort on time in a fitting safari truck :-) We arrived at the Safari on time and well before every other tour. We were quickly shuffled off to a briefing area to learn some local language and how to 'Board' the Elephants.

Our Elephant trainer was lovely stopping often to show us lizards, grabbing them off trees and taking photo's of myself and my Partner with our camera also added to the fun.

A must do in Phuket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour is excellent! It is both educational and fun for adults and children. Lots of photo opportunities. The facilities are well maintained and there are some shopping opportunities. Another well organised Thai event - fantastic!

Gareth J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip is great and something you will always remember. They give you an insight into how they used Ox to plough the land, how the Coconut is important to the Island with various demonstrations of their uses. They show you various ways they make Curry and ask you to try some and also demonstrate how Rubber is collected and used from the large ammounts of Rubber trees in the area. The best bit is obviously the Elephant ride and not only is the ride good some of the views you are shown on the route are stunning. The day is great but don,t just expect an Elephant ride as there are other things that take place. Do not also think that the educational things are boring as you move from one thing to another at a fair old pace so Children won,t get bored as the guide is excellent and makes the stops interesting and involves all. You get to taste, smell, touch various things. I would reccomend this trip to all ages.

Gareth J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip is great and something you will always remember. They give you an insight into how they used Ox to plough the land, how the Coconut is important to the Island with various demonstrations of their uses. They show you various ways they make Curry and ask you to try some and also demonstrate how Rubber is collected and used from the large ammounts of Rubber trees in the area. The best bit is obviously the Elephant ride and not only is the ride good some of the views you are shown on the route are stunning. The day is great but don,t just expect an Elephant ride as there are other things that take place. Do not also think that the educational things are boring as you move from one thing to another at a fair old pace so Children won,t get bored as the guide is excellent and makes the stops interesting and involves all. You get to taste, smell, touch various things. I would reccomend this trip to all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent trip. You are able to do most everything at the same place that several places will try and charge you for each item.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Enter your review here. Great trip all well organised. Worth the money and the tour guide called WI was excellent.

Vicki burn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Again a great day out! Many activities, great elephant trek, much to see and learn. A very productive outing, learning Many things about Phuket and traditional Thai ways. Much more than expected on this tour. Highly recommend., great value!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide Joy was lovely and always had a smile on her face even when there was a problem. Very well organised, location was perfect and clean, transfers were on time and all the people very friendly. Would recommend to others no worries

niallsmum
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Pick up from our hotel was on-time and we were taken to the elephant camp. We enjoyed free coffee and tea whilst other buses arrived from around the island. We met our guide and went to the first demonstration point. We sampled coconut pancakes with Thai sweet tea or sweet coffee. If you don't like sugar in your coffee, drink it before stirring it as the sweetened milk is at the bottom. We watched the water buffalo plough a mock rice paddi, then it was harnessed to a cart and gave us a ride. We also looked at the various stages of how rice is grown. We watched a coconut be milked and shaved. We sampled it too. The next demonstration was for making coconut oil and then a Thai Chicken Curry with rice. Samples galore and tasty too. Second helping were permitted - "Happy Hour!" our guide said. We saw tapping of a rubber tree and processing it into sheets. Then onto the young elephant training area. We watched how they were trained to pick up objects and play with their mahout, then we were allowed to take photos with the elephant (free) and feed them if we wished (a basket of fruit was 50Baht). The children were delighted with this part of the tour! We had a short talk about the mahout and elephant living together for life, and then actually climbed onto the seat on an elephants back for our trek up the hill through the forrest, to a lookout point for a spectacular view towards the east side of the island. Fabulous. Afterwards we said a big thank you to our elephant by buying a basket of fruit and feeding it. A must do experience for Phuket, never to be forgotten!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was a perfect combination of local education and a new and different experience. We loved the elephant show and our ride was great!

melinda s
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

I have been on this tour twice this year and my most recent was even better than the first. Well organised, great guides, interesting and enjoyable content and heaps of fun. No one should go to Phuket and miss this tour. It's value for money and the boat trip is a lovely ending to the day.

From USD $ 87.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message