• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 131 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  5 - 6.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phuket Half-Day Safari Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 131 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Enter your review here. Great trip all well organised. Worth the money and the tour guide called WI was excellent.

Vicki burn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Again a great day out! Many activities, great elephant trek, much to see and learn. A very productive outing, learning Many things about Phuket and traditional Thai ways. Much more than expected on this tour. Highly recommend., great value!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide Joy was lovely and always had a smile on her face even when there was a problem. Very well organised, location was perfect and clean, transfers were on time and all the people very friendly. Would recommend to others no worries

niallsmum
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Pick up from our hotel was on-time and we were taken to the elephant camp. We enjoyed free coffee and tea whilst other buses arrived from around the island. We met our guide and went to the first demonstration point. We sampled coconut pancakes with Thai sweet tea or sweet coffee. If you don't like sugar in your coffee, drink it before stirring it as the sweetened milk is at the bottom. We watched the water buffalo plough a mock rice paddi, then it was harnessed to a cart and gave us a ride. We also looked at the various stages of how rice is grown. We watched a coconut be milked and shaved. We sampled it too. The next demonstration was for making coconut oil and then a Thai Chicken Curry with rice. Samples galore and tasty too. Second helping were permitted - "Happy Hour!" our guide said. We saw tapping of a rubber tree and processing it into sheets. Then onto the young elephant training area. We watched how they were trained to pick up objects and play with their mahout, then we were allowed to take photos with the elephant (free) and feed them if we wished (a basket of fruit was 50Baht). The children were delighted with this part of the tour! We had a short talk about the mahout and elephant living together for life, and then actually climbed onto the seat on an elephants back for our trek up the hill through the forrest, to a lookout point for a spectacular view towards the east side of the island. Fabulous. Afterwards we said a big thank you to our elephant by buying a basket of fruit and feeding it. A must do experience for Phuket, never to be forgotten!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was a perfect combination of local education and a new and different experience. We loved the elephant show and our ride was great!

melinda s
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

I have been on this tour twice this year and my most recent was even better than the first. Well organised, great guides, interesting and enjoyable content and heaps of fun. No one should go to Phuket and miss this tour. It's value for money and the boat trip is a lovely ending to the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The Safari Tour was the highlight of our trip. The tour provided a taste of the Thailand culture from Thai cooking to cultivating and planting a rice field. The ox drawn cart ride was a memorable experience as were the coconut pancakes. A truly worthwhile tour and highly recommended.

Ian B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

A great half day trip very well organised and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A must for visitors to Phuket. A great insight to Thai rural background. Very educational and interesting, amazing elephants.

Amanda R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent. Very informative. we saw not only elephants but a water buffalo, saw how they cut the rubber trees and a beautiful lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent day guides! very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The safari tour was fantastic! Very professionally run and gave us great insight into the Thai people and their culture. The elephant ride and our mahout were fantastic. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

well organized tour...would recommend it to anybody

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Brellient day. worth going on.

NeilC
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Brilliant. Elephants and ride was fantastic. The English spoken by the tour guide could have been better, however this did not affect the elephant trek and lead up displays. The displays prior to our elephant trek were good and informative - Coconut pancakes were delicious. Lunch was Thai Style buffet lunch was quiet nice. Don’t forget your Thai Baht (money) for soft drinks and beers. Overall an unforgettable experience. Must include this on your visit to Phuket.

From USD $ 89.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message