Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Melinda B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Great tour guide and fantastic way to see Phi Phi Island. It's just a shame that the boat leaves at 2.30pm. Wanted to stay a lot longer.

Linda G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was worth doing, but nothing amazing.

MDM J

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Little overrated. Was a nice tour but you only pass 'The Beach' Movie beach, you don't go there.

Andy J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A satisfactory trip to Ko Phi Phi (Don island?) although there was alot of travelling time to get there (taxi was late on pick up and asked for more money) and the knock on timings coming back meant this was a 10hr round trip for 2hrs on the beach. However, snorkelling and lunch were provided and were again satisfactory. I would have preferred the whole trip was privately boated as the big express ferry felt too crowded to be able to see very much.

Mary B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

we enjoyed this tour but there wasnt much time on the island, a lot of time was spent travelling. if i was to do this again i would go by speedboar

Walter G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I think it would be bettet to so this with a Speed Boot and not a ferry

Robert J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

It was fun but a long boat ride that took up most of the time. It would have been nice to be in a smaller boat to explore some of the beautiful inlets. We enjoyed the beautiful beach on Ko Phi Phi and the snorkeling. We would do it again.

Jeremy T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

I thought the ferry ride to and from Phi Phi Island was a bit too long (something like 3 hours?!). They should have been more specific in stating the itinerary for the day. I wasn't expecting to have to go back to Phuket from Phi Phi at 2.30pm! I barely spent half a day at Phi Phi! If I knew that, I would have opted to stay there for at least one night! The lunch at Phi Phi was not terrible, but not appetizing enough.

Christina G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Terrific trip to a stunningly beautiful beach. When we got here, we realized we should have stayed several nights here...one day just isn't enough. Our time was pleasant, but it was a long trip for just a few hours on the beach. It was such a large group that went with us, we definitely didn't feel that it was a "tour" - really, it was more of a boat shuttle and a snorkeling mouthpiece/goggles. We couldn't understand a thing through the garbled loudspeaker that the captain was saying about the sights we passed, but they were definitely pretty. I think if you are interested in the Phi Phi islands (which are truly stunning), book a 2- or 3-day trip instead of this one-day trip. I'm glad we did it, but we definitely spend the majority of the time in transit (shuttle van or bus) rather than actually experiencing the islands.

Glenda C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

thought we would stay on phi phi is but was taken to a breach that was so rough you couldnt get into water to swim lucn left a lot to be desired

Janet C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Although there was nothing wrong with this trip, I thought it was not as well organised as all the other trips that we booked through viator. Basically there was a lack of communication and we didn't know what was happening until the last minute. Apart from that the trip was fine.

asbhopal1

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The actual island is amazing but the tour guides are rude and uninformative. They don and #39;t seem to know what is going on themselves and we didnt feel safe while snorkeling

csoonsay

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

taken for a ride .have to pay transport fee after booking the trip.

LAURA W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

A bit disappointing. The noise pollution from all the long tail boats arriving at once, coupled with the pushy stall holders on the island didn't make for a great experience. You spend around 5 hours travel time for the whole day tour, with around 30 - 40 mins only at each site. Re-think booking!

pianoplus D Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

A word of advice to travellers to Phuket: do not catch the Tour East fast ferry to the Phi Phi Islands for a day trip.
On paper the trip promised: a visit the iconic island of Ko Phi Phi - made famous by the Hollywood movie - The Beach snorkelling in the warm crystal waters, being surrounded by colourful tropical marine life and limestone cliffs and to enjoy a Thai lunch at a local restaurant on the island of Ko Phi Phi Don.
We chose the ferry, booked through Viators, rather than the more expensive speedboat trip and it turned out to be a bad choice.
First the hotel pick-up was 40 minutes late and then the ferry was 30 minutes late leaving the pier. The ferry itself was huge and it really was a public transport ferry, loaded with Island holiday makers with their luggage as well as the tour people. It was stuffy inside, but we were lucky enough to find our way to the bow of the boat and stay in the fresh air.
The trip to our destination took three hours, because it was the second port of call. When we did arrive off the island we were hastily transferred to another boat which headed to the shore. There was a nice sandy beach there, but we didnt get chance to sit on it because we were hustled away into another boat a local fishing boat to rush off to the snorkelling spot.
They turned out to be about a couple of hundred metres off shore.
But I like snorkelling and was looking forward to swimming over the coral among the fish. Then came the shock, There was no live coral and nothing more than a shoal of tiny yellow and black angel fish roaming around. On top of that my snorkel leaked!
My wife and I spent the hour treading water and chatting to a couple of English girls until it was time to get back into the boat.
And thereby hangs another tale. The steel rungs of the ladder reached about 10 centimetres into the water and I found it impossible to lift my leg high enough to reach the bottom rung. I had the strange experience of being lifted bodily from the water

lucy74 Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Found this tour disappointing. We were told to be waiting for the bus at 6.45am but it was nearly an hour later before we were picked up. The trip to Phi Phi Islands was long both bus and then boat ride that by the time we got there we only had just over 3 hours to actually spend on the Island and once you take out lunch even less time. Was also disappointed that you only got to snorkel for 45 minutes, would have preferred if they had given us the equipment for the length of time we were there so that we could snorkel as we pleased.

cipta

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Not good, too crowded and the snorkeling area is very poor

cipta

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Not good

William R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

OK, but should have taken a speedboat rather than this ferry.

Silvano E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not what I was expecting, just a dropp off to a beach and a quick 15 minute snorkeling not to mention how bad the "free lunch" was, I had to pay to get somewhat a decent meal. Overall, a "meh" experience.

Churro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

To change my pick up hotel, from Bangkok I tried to call the travel agency in Phuket and could never connect, I contacted viator costumer service by e-mail, I got late response and not very professional and help full, I called the customer service in the USA long distance call expensive, and the agent said He would call the travel agent and change the hotel. He left waiting 20 minutes on the phone and did got talk to me again...

Murray M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I thought the trip by ferry to long in comparison to the time spent snorkelling

Kamilah C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

We spent most of the time on the ferry which was not what I expected. We spent only about an hour at the beach and didn't get snorkel because it was on the other side of the island.

Lisa T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Unfortunately, all of your time is spent on the ferry picking up and dropping off people between Phuket and Phi Phi Island. Only a short period of time is spent on the island for snorkeling and lunch. Be aware that you do need to bring your own towels. It is worth paying double the amount to take a speedboat. The ferry was crowded and did not have good views of the islands. If you get up to take pictures, you risk losing your seats. It was a long 10 hour day with 8 of those hours spent in an old cramp van or a slow crowded ferry filled with people and a pile of luggage.

ROXANNE G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It was not worth the travel time. From the time we left the hotel (1 hr drive to port) to the time we actually got to the beach, it took 4.5 hrs. It was not organized well. We were told to go to the ferry by our driver but no tour guide or anyone to direct us. We were left wondering if we were in the right place. We had to make a 1st stop to let off people who were staying at hotels there and then finally to our beach for the day. We literally had 2 hr for beach/snorkel/lunch.We were expecting more time.

Also dont expect to go to the beach where the movie was filmed. You see it from afar... on a crowded ferry.. as they consider it "sightseeing". We did not have a "tour guide" persay. No one introduced themselves as a guide or that they will be leading about 40 people. We just followed people with the same sticker. Lunch was good. Snorkeling was average. We didn't get to go that far from the shore. Water was clear. Guides did there best to attract fish but corals were mostly dead and not very colorful. When we finally got back to the port, it was hard to find where to go to get your transportation back to the hotel. Luckily, we had the same driver who found us in the crowd.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 46.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT14C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message