4 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phuket to Phi Phi Islands By Express Ferry including Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

It was fun but a long boat ride that took up most of the time. It would have been nice to be in a smaller boat to explore some of the beautiful inlets. We enjoyed the beautiful beach on Ko Phi Phi and the snorkeling. We would do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

I thought the ferry ride to and from Phi Phi Island was a bit too long (something like 3 hours?!). They should have been more specific in stating the itinerary for the day. I wasn't expecting to have to go back to Phuket from Phi Phi at 2.30pm! I barely spent half a day at Phi Phi! If I knew that, I would have opted to stay there for at least one night! The lunch at Phi Phi was not terrible, but not appetizing enough.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Terrific trip to a stunningly beautiful beach. When we got here, we realized we should have stayed several nights here...one day just isn't enough. Our time was pleasant, but it was a long trip for just a few hours on the beach. It was such a large group that went with us, we definitely didn't feel that it was a "tour" - really, it was more of a boat shuttle and a snorkeling mouthpiece/goggles. We couldn't understand a thing through the garbled loudspeaker that the captain was saying about the sights we passed, but they were definitely pretty. I think if you are interested in the Phi Phi islands (which are truly stunning), book a 2- or 3-day trip instead of this one-day trip. I'm glad we did it, but we definitely spend the majority of the time in transit (shuttle van or bus) rather than actually experiencing the islands.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

thought we would stay on phi phi is but was taken to a breach that was so rough you couldnt get into water to swim lucn left a lot to be desired

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Although there was nothing wrong with this trip, I thought it was not as well organised as all the other trips that we booked through viator. Basically there was a lack of communication and we didn't know what was happening until the last minute. Apart from that the trip was fine.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

OK, but should have taken a speedboat rather than this ferry.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not what I was expecting, just a dropp off to a beach and a quick 15 minute snorkeling not to mention how bad the "free lunch" was, I had to pay to get somewhat a decent meal. Overall, a "meh" experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

To change my pick up hotel, from Bangkok I tried to call the travel agency in Phuket and could never connect, I contacted viator costumer service by e-mail, I got late response and not very professional and help full, I called the customer service in the USA long distance call expensive, and the agent said He would call the travel agent and change the hotel. He left waiting 20 minutes on the phone and did got talk to me again...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I thought the trip by ferry to long in comparison to the time spent snorkelling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

We spent most of the time on the ferry which was not what I expected. We spent only about an hour at the beach and didn't get snorkel because it was on the other side of the island.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Unfortunately, all of your time is spent on the ferry picking up and dropping off people between Phuket and Phi Phi Island. Only a short period of time is spent on the island for snorkeling and lunch. Be aware that you do need to bring your own towels. It is worth paying double the amount to take a speedboat. The ferry was crowded and did not have good views of the islands. If you get up to take pictures, you risk losing your seats. It was a long 10 hour day with 8 of those hours spent in an old cramp van or a slow crowded ferry filled with people and a pile of luggage.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It was not worth the travel time. From the time we left the hotel (1 hr drive to port) to the time we actually got to the beach, it took 4.5 hrs. It was not organized well. We were told to go to the ferry by our driver but no tour guide or anyone to direct us. We were left wondering if we were in the right place. We had to make a 1st stop to let off people who were staying at hotels there and then finally to our beach for the day. We literally had 2 hr for beach/snorkel/lunch.We were expecting more time.

Also dont expect to go to the beach where the movie was filmed. You see it from afar... on a crowded ferry.. as they consider it "sightseeing". We did not have a "tour guide" persay. No one introduced themselves as a guide or that they will be leading about 40 people. We just followed people with the same sticker. Lunch was good. Snorkeling was average. We didn't get to go that far from the shore. Water was clear. Guides did there best to attract fish but corals were mostly dead and not very colorful. When we finally got back to the port, it was hard to find where to go to get your transportation back to the hotel. Luckily, we had the same driver who found us in the crowd.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Didn't attend due to bad weather

Melissa B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

apart from being pretty sea sick on boat ride tour was good. but food was crap. only 1hour aloud for snorkeling

Marco K
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The beach there wasn't the beach we expected. It wasn't beautiful.

Shai S
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

This tour did not take me to the beach. The boat anchored somewhere near Phi Phi Don and we snorkeled for 45 min. Then it took us to another location for lunch and that was the entire excursion. I never got to see or walk on the beach shown on the website.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

I was left stranded on an island because I did not go snorkeling with the others. I had no idea that I was suppose to leave the ferry even though I did not want to go snorkeling. Plus all they did was sell everything on the ferry and give us on small piece of watermelon and one free drink. The rest of the food was on sale.

Aaron J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

If I could give any advice, if you want to get to Phi Phi in a hurry take a speed boat option. This tour took us on a boat that must have been on one of the slowest boats in Phuket. We were passed by many faster boats that I'm sure would have arrived in a third of the time. Phi Phi beaches are beautiful, the water is crystal clear. Where the boat docks although the beach is nice the rest of the surrounding resorts and buildings are some what ordinary and run down. If you want to see amazing scenery, when you arrive you can take a long boat out to Phi Phi Lay Island, which the express boat passes earlier for photos on the way to the main island. However after such a slow trip to the island the last thing we wanted to do was get on another boat so we just lay on the beach and had a drink at the bar. Lunch on offer was quite reasonable, I couldn't complain too much about that. Overall the trip there almost didn't make it worthwhile seeing, so catch a faster boat and see Phi Phi lay and you'll amazed by the scenery, it's truly magnificent.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Terrible. There's virtually no snorkeling and they don't take you to any other beaches except for the lunch one. Lunch was quite bad as well.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Horrible excursion. Don't waste your money or time

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This would have to be one of the worst tours I have been on in Thailand. This is the second time I have visited Thailand and second trip to Phi Phi Island. They had indicated they would pick us up at a 7 am and to be there 5 mins early they turned up at 7.35 am. When we got to the ferry there was hardly any seats left. We spent most of the day on the boat dropping other passengers off. The only time spend on Phi Phi Island was 1.5 hours and in this time you had to have a lunch which consisted of a 100 people running at a an average buffet. On our return trip it took about another 3 hours to get back again picking up other people. This is a Passenger Ferry and no way an express. On our return trip to the hotel the driver yelled at us for sitting at the front of the bus and that they had booked 11 people on a 10 seater bus. Please also be aware that if you are booking and paying for children be prepared to have them on your lap on both transfers as they do not allow for seats for children.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This basically is a ferry taking people across to the island to stay with a bit of a bolt on. You spend 2 hours on the ferry each way and then get an hour for snorkelling and an hour for lunch on an island and then get to see where the beach film was made from approx. quarter of a mile away

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

It took 1 and half hour for gathering peole to go to the Pier and took nearly 2 hours transfer to Koh Phi Phi. It means the total transportation time for the trip is 7 hours and i only had 40 mins for swimming and snorkelling . No time for relaxing and doing sth else

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

My husband and I signed up for this tour as day trip while staying in Phuket. The majority of the day was spent in transportation, starting with our 7 am pickup to get to the pier. The ferry to Phi Phi left at about 8:45. As you near the part of Phi Phi that is famous, there is an announcement on the ferry that because our boat is too big, we can't actually go to close so from afar they point out the sights (which were the main sights we thought we'd be seeing). We then made a stop to drop off passengers at the main dock in Phi Phi at about 11. At about 11:15, we had to transfer to a longboat to get dropped off on a small beach. They then announced we would have 45 minutes to snorkel, at which point you get back on another boat and they drive you 100 feet out to snorkel. The snorkeling was not good and there were about 15 other boats around us. At about 12:30 we went back to the beach for a buffet lunch, which was one of the worst meals I had while in Thailand. You then have until about 2:00 to sit on the beach before going back for another long ferry ride and then ride back to your hotel. I felt like the information on Viator's website was misleading and the tour was not at all what I expected. I wish we could get our day back and spend it at the beach instead!

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear your tour did not meet your expectations. We are currently looking into your concerns regarding this tour and our customer support team will be emailing you if they require any further information. Thank you again for traveling with Viator and we hope you enjoyed your vacation!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The information was not clear that did not includ Phi Phi leh. Photos about this tour showed Phi Phi leh/Maya bay. The guide only told us that we would stay only at Long beach in the end of the tour when there was no more time to contract a boat to go to Maya bay. Cheating!!!!

From USD $ 44.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT14C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message