4.5 star rating: Recommended 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

I was disappointed in this tour, given that I've had the same tour last year arranged by another company, the difference is huge, this one was not organised properly at all, the tour guide didn't care about anything, no information was given to the people onboard, no one knows what was expected next, no safety measures were taken or explained, even when stopping for snorkeling or swimming, the proper head-count of the people on board was not taken seriously!, we could have easily left some people behind in the open water!

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken to the supplier concerning your experience - and as their reply was very lengthy, we just want to summarize a few points below, for the benefit of present and future passengers.

Safety information for this tour is provided in an information sheet before the tour begins. The sheet is required to be viewed and signed by each passenger before they are allowed to take the tour. The company also wishes to assure all passengers that a proper headcount is always done for their tours, though they do try to keep it from impacting the tour experience by doing it as more 'behind the scenes' work.

We are told that there were two guides on board that day to accommodate multiple languages being spoken, and the second guide was not an employee of the company operating our tour - but a private guide hired by another group. That may have accounted for any perceived aloofness by that guide, as he was tending to his customers.

We do apologize that the tour did not live up to your expectations, but we did want to respond to the complaints concerning safety - as all of our tour operators do take safety issues very seriously. We hope this response provides useful information for yourself, and other passengers, and we do hope the rest of your holiday was excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Good trip if you have only a short time in the area. The trip takes you to a bunch of different stops for swimming, snorkeling, beaching etc. Lots of people and tourists at each destination.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

If you want snorkel great time. Otherwise just going to various swimming holes and the lunch was disgusting....not the Thai food you would expect. Who wants to eat spaghetti while sitting on a beach. I recommend the James Bond canoe tour....much better experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The itinerary is awful we spend just 30 minutes in the most beautiful place of this tour, but then almost 2 hours on dirty and ugly beach

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

The islands are dirty. The bath rooms in the islands are horrible.
The food served is below average.Waste of money and time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Disappointing! This tour should be taken only by those planning to snorkel and should be advertised as such. The operator did nothing to accommodate non-swimmers. The operator also had some customers sign a waiver to hold them harmless in case of poor weather conditions forced changes to the programme or caused injuries to the participants. This boat ride was extremely rough which a number of people became sick.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2006

Far too much time waiting in departure areas. The guide was not enthusiastic or particularly friendly and answered questions with few words. The biggest disappointment, we spent all of 2 minutes gliding through the beautiful Maya Bay. We spent too much snorkeling and looking at monkeys. Lunch was a good buffet. Over all, very poor time management and organization. I would not do this trip again from Phuket.


1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

The Phi Phi islands are beautiful however the area is overcrowded and difficult to enjoy. Our boat had to jockey for half an hour just to get in between the other boats to reach the beach. The boat is a large speedboat with high sides so you cannot see out the sides only out the back. On our 8 hr trip we were off the boat for a total of 2 hrs including a stop for lunch. 6 hrs on a boat without being able to see the scenery not my idea of fun. You could sit outside in the front however there was limited space only a few people could fit. Maybe a shorter trip to one of the closer islands on a smaller boat would be more enjoyable. The area is very beautiful but not sure the trip is worth it for everyone

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011


Bernard W
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2007

Initial welcome was very professional, however the trip itself left a great deal to be desired. The boat was most uncomfortable and of poor standard. Phi Phi Island was very overrated and would definitely not recommend a visit. The boat was unable to get into the island because of the amount of craft already berthed which meant laying off the island for a long spell - approx 45mins. The meal on the return journey was of very poor quality and was cold. The restaurant was very poor standard.

Robyn H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2007

Absolutely terrible. We were picked up from our hotel at 740am and we didn't get on to the boat until 1140am. We wasted all morning hanging around waiting and being told many lies as to why the delay, but it seems it was way overbooked and they intended to overload the boats. The trip was a very shortened version and was disappointing. The area of Phi Phi they take you is horrible and lunch was a warmed up affair. They did have plenty of water, soft drinks and fruit to offer.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 90.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT20C


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message