4 star rating: Recommended 54 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Phuket, Thailand
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phuket to Phi Phi Islands by Speedboat. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 54 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Louise M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

A great day out with a friendly guide. For lunch, you board another boat which does become a bit overcrowded as all the tours seem to use it. Luckily, we were there first. Lovely sites to see with some good snorkelling in the morning. Obviously, the highlight of the day is heading to the beach which doesn't fail to impress. Overall a lovely relaxing day.

Peter B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

An enjoyable trip despite the rough sea conditions. The guide was very efficient and informative and despite the fact that it was a full boatload, ensured that all participants got the most out of the trip.

Robert O
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The snorkelling was excellent as was the scenery. The only downside was the sea. It was very choppy which made a number of people sea sick.

STEPHEN H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Early start is worth it for this unforgettable trip to some beautiful islands. Boat was VERY choppy at times though, so maybe take a seasickness tablet before you set off. Only downside is the day is a bit rushed with so many islands to see, and you don't get more than half an hour in any one place before you are back on the boat again for the next one. Think everyone would have liked some more time on the beach in between, but snorkeling was great, and both guide and boat driver were experts. Fresh fruit and endless cold drinks and cold towels on the boat were a nice touch. Worth the bumpy ride just to swim in the lagoon and see the monkeys on the beach! Even if they were a bit wild!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

This was well worth it; the boat was fast. The tour guide was great. The swimming and sightseeing were great, and so was lunch. It was well worth it.

Benjamin F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Maya Bay is very disappointing as it is overcrowded, but they rest of the experience was great.

Helen H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

WARNING - If you have back problems, are pregnant or you don't like rough seas, then don't go! The trip was in a small speedboat facing 2 meter swells which was very concerning, so getting to Phi Phi and the other islands was a huge relief and well worth the suffering. Phi Phi is still recovering from the Tsunami with work in progress, but still a pretty island to visit. Definitely not for the faint hearted! And the ferry is worse according to other travellers.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Great boat, nice crew and fantastic scenery.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Phi Phi islands were spectacular and although we travelled there by speedboat we never really got the opportunity to spend too long in any one location. It's definitely worth doing but it's pretty crowded at each stop and we only had around 40 mins snorkelling time so don't expect too much.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The islands are beautiful, the boat ride is nice (free soft drinks, fruit etc) and lunch was plentiful , so from that point of view, it's worth seeing if on limited time....but we spent about 2 hours on the boat, out at sea while about three or four people out of total of 30 went snorkelling....everyone else, after ten minutes, got very bored and restless as waited for what seemed like eternity....if you like snorting, then fine....we should have been allowed onshore to walk around and explore in the interim

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Overall we had a great time on this tour. It provided great views and many stops that allowed us to take photos and snorkel. Food was decent and fulfilling. Phi Phi Islands are just gorgeous, it basically sells itself. However, there are definitely a few things that I think they could improve for the tour:

1) Tour guide: We have a VERY difficult time understanding his English. We are native users of English, but English was obviously not his first language. His Thai accent was pretty strong. We understood about 50% of what he said. After a while we gave up trying to understand and only paid attention when he was telling us important things like how many minutes we were spending at each stop.

2) The tour is very much stop-and-go. We would travel to one island and spend a maximum of 15 minutes at each location to take photos or snorkel. The two main exceptions were when we visited the beach (it was about 45 minutes) and when we had lunch (about an hour break).

3) Monkey island: was a disappointment. In the pictures on Viator's website, it shows photos that people took while spending time with the monkeys on the beach and in the trees. Maybe it used to be this way. But we were definitely mislead. On our trip we didn't even get off the boat. They took the boat up to the shore and didn't let us off. They just "parked" it so we could take photos from the front of the boat (which is a very small area about 5 feet sq. so everyone was crowding in that one spot to take pictures). I caught sight of one monkey sitting on the ground behind the tree line. He was pretty far out. I had to zoom my camera all the way just to catch a shot. There were other tourists from other tour companies on the beach walking around. When I asked why we couldn't get off the boat, they said it was for safety reasons. Overall just disappointed by this part of the tour, because the pictures lead me to think we would be walking on the beach with monkeys and that didn't happen.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The guides were great and the company was very organized. I was disappointed with the overall trip, as it wasn't what I expected based on the description. We spent more time on a boat traveling between islands than on the actual islands. Every beach we visited was crowded and the snorkeling was overrated.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Place was AMAZING! But the guide was simply annoying. He was very lazy, and tried to be funny but ended up just annoying everyone and looking like a dork.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

I was disappointed in this tour, given that I've had the same tour last year arranged by another company, the difference is huge, this one was not organised properly at all, the tour guide didn't care about anything, no information was given to the people onboard, no one knows what was expected next, no safety measures were taken or explained, even when stopping for snorkeling or swimming, the proper head-count of the people on board was not taken seriously!, we could have easily left some people behind in the open water!

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken to the supplier concerning your experience - and as their reply was very lengthy, we just want to summarize a few points below, for the benefit of present and future passengers.

Safety information for this tour is provided in an information sheet before the tour begins. The sheet is required to be viewed and signed by each passenger before they are allowed to take the tour. The company also wishes to assure all passengers that a proper headcount is always done for their tours, though they do try to keep it from impacting the tour experience by doing it as more 'behind the scenes' work.

We are told that there were two guides on board that day to accommodate multiple languages being spoken, and the second guide was not an employee of the company operating our tour - but a private guide hired by another group. That may have accounted for any perceived aloofness by that guide, as he was tending to his customers.

We do apologize that the tour did not live up to your expectations, but we did want to respond to the complaints concerning safety - as all of our tour operators do take safety issues very seriously. We hope this response provides useful information for yourself, and other passengers, and we do hope the rest of your holiday was excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Good trip if you have only a short time in the area. The trip takes you to a bunch of different stops for swimming, snorkeling, beaching etc. Lots of people and tourists at each destination.

From USD $ 101.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685HKT20C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message