4.5 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Port Douglas, Australia
  • Duration:  7.5 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Port Douglas. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enyoyed the train ride and the tram was wonderful

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a fabulous time! We loved the zoo, the Army Ducks, the Aboriginal songs, and the skyrail! The only negative we had was that the day was very regimented. We did not really get to explore the city of Kuranda at all because the train going back to Cairns eparted early. We would definitely recommend this day trip to our friends though!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

WOW the views from the cable car are great, over the rainforest, stopping at two stations and looking at the different plants and views to the dam. The area at the top of the island was full of stores, etc. but we didn't have enough time to look at everything. Lunch, aboriganul dancers very good, the wildlife Jack the ripper was enormous and now I know why he lives by himself. The train ride down was quaint and you could see the cable car on the opposite mountain. Lovely views of the waterfall and Cairns below.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was a brilliant day out with lots of different things to do. The scenery was beautiful. My only negative comment is that we were rushed back to the cable car when infact there was enough time to browse around the village for a little longer and still make our transfer back to the hotel. Other than that I totally recommend it!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The scenery was breathtaking from both the train and the cable car. We were given only 40 minutes to be in Kuranda before the bus left for the rainforest. We would have loved time for the butterfuly sanctuary. Very sorry we missed that. The rainforest station is very nice but a bit touristy.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Rainy day so not able to do much at each train stop. Arrangements were good. Lunch was great and the Aboriginal Cultral Centre was very enjoyable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This makes a great family trip! Highly recommend the skyway over the rainforest, it's simply amazing!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Unfortunately, it was a cloudy, rainy day and many of the best views were obscured. There was plenty of time in Kuranda, but not quite enough time at the Skyrail stops to walk into the rainforest. The Tjapukai segment was outstanding except for the explanation about the bush foods and medicinal plants which was rushed and not very understandable. Learning to throw the boomerang was a highlight.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

The train ride was very scenic and Skyrail had great views out to the ocean. It's so quiet floating above the rainforest canopy. The highlight though was Tjapukai, it was interesting hearing the stories and about the culture of the Aboriginal people of the area.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This was a nice full day of activity. We loved the town of Kuranda, there was good shopping there, and we enjoyed the Koala Gardens! The train ride and sky rail were peaceful and serene, but we found the Tjapuki Tour most interesting!

Robert H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Very good tour.

Martin B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Had done this trip before but for the two family members I travelled with this was their first time. The Down Under staff were extremely helpful, always there to ensure the whole day ran smoothly and on time. They were courteous and friendly throughout.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Well, without getting 'gushy' I thought the tour was well worth the expense. Everyone involved with the event / tour were pleasant, professional, and efficient. The scenery, the activities made for a most pleasant and enjoyable time. I will recommend this tour to my friends in the USA should they visit Australia, especially the Cairns area.

Kenneth J B
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Very professional staff on tour made for an enjoyable day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Kuranda rail and aboriginal park worth the trip. But very disappointed that skyrail was closed just before our go and even more disappointed that viator have still not responded to my email and reimbursed my husband and myself the cost of this part of my tour which . Now in Thailand for next couple of days and had every intention of booking some trips with you but of course that will not be happening now .

From USD $ 140.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2570KQST

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message