4.5 star rating: Recommended 117 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 117 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Fantastic tour. It is a very long coach ride (2.5 hours each way from our hotel) but well worth it. Beautiful island and the boat journeys were superb. To book through the hotel rep was nearly US$100 more expensive!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

It is approximately one hour from Hotel zone. The ship to Saona was the same one pictured on the web site. Drinks are served without limit on the ship. I arrive at the island in approximately around one hour. It is free time from there. The ocean is shallow and beautiful, but almost no fish. Lunch was free. You can purchase pictures or a DVD here if you want. (I forgot). Around 3:00 you can ride in a speed boat and then you can enjoy about 45min in a nice clean part of the ocean that is like a pool The return is by speed boat, I arrive immediately and I return by bus from there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a great trip. My only negative is that it is a bit too long. Got picked up at 7 a.m. and didn't get back until 7 p.m. But overall, it was a great trip and our tour guide was great. The catamaran was so much fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

YOU MUST CALL once you get to your hotel to make your reservation even though you already paid it on the website. To get to the catamaran from Punta Cana was about 2 hours and departure from the hotel was at 7am so make sure you eat breakfast before leaving for the tour pack sunblock and something to munch on. Our tour guide was Fausto #2 and he was extremely informative about the Dominican Republic with history, politics, and the economy which makes the ride seem much less than what it is. Once you get to the southern part of the DR you take a small boat to the catamaran. On the catamaran there's all you can drink with lots of music. You then take a small boat from the catamaran to the virgin island where you can swim on some nice sand and water and all you can eat and drink. From there you go to take a speed boat back to feed fish walk in the middle of the ocean to hold starfish and visit a mangrove and visit where part of the blue lagoon was filmed. Overall a great experience. We did not get back to the hotel until 8pm. This is the #1 thing to do in the Dominican Republic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely the best excursion to take while in the Dominican. Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely LOVE it! Best excursion I ever been on. Staff is wonderful, lots of fun and sun. I recommend this cruise for adults. Just remember to bring a set of dry clothes, your wet the whole time getting back to the hotel which is about an hour drive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The catamaran cruise was fantastic. The staff was very accommodating. The catamaran portion of the trip to the island was very relaxing and we engaged in some dancing on the boat lead by staff members. The island was beautiful and the food was fantastic. The fish we ate tasted so fresh. The speedboat on the return trip was fun and we sang songs and chants and the other speed boats. We got to get out of the boats and find starfish. This was the perfect experience for an extremely relaxing trip to Punta Cana

Mfedirch
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

One of the best excursions I have ever taken. Would highly recommend this adventure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our Guide for the trip was ALEX and he was teriffic. My husband and I were the only two english speakers on the Catamaran and Alex ensured that we were included in everything. Saona Island is a Paradise location unfortunately it was slightly spoiled by the locals trying to sell jewellery/trinkets and massages. After lunch our return journey was by speedboat. We stopped at a sand bank in the middle of the Carribean sea on the return journey and got to hold starfish. It was a fabulous day. Just remember to bring your sunscreen. ;-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Highly recommnded if it is your first time in Punta Cana. I inquired several reps at the resort of the price of this excursion and Viator beat anyones price by far!!! The excursion you get a great tour of small villages before arriving at the main marina. Bus ride is less than 2 hours but very comfortable. Catamaran cruise was great plenty of rum and water, no beer! You get that at the beach. Lunch was good, beach amazing at saona. Becareful sun burn not so bad wind burn first time!!! Crew very nice. Now with Dominican Rep. the minute you step off the airplane the people will want to sell you something, same here at the excursion. Dont get fulled, constantly: PICTURES, PICTURES, VIDEOOS, HATS, RUM, nothing is complimentary except food and drinks. You can tip but why. Excursion tour personal have the highest income. Overall highly recommend booking with Viator great trip.

Bart O
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our trip was awesome,we really enjoyed the catamaran ride over,and speed boat ride back from Saona Island.on the island there was a buffet for us,and an excellent opportunity to take some photo's.then we went for a swim and looked at some giant star fish.but on the boat they may hand out these hats(dew rages)they are not free,or a gift,they will come back to you and ask for $4 for each hat.other than that it was an excellent trip,and worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Despite my lack of love for boats and being on the water - this was an amazing day, and full marks to the team.

My only negative point would be direction of where to meet - told just on the beach....perhaps this can be reviewed since there were lots of parties meeting and we had to keep asking and having no idea if we were even in the right area!

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a great time and highly recommend this trip! Be aware, you can buy a video of the trip for $35 and a collection of pictures for $40. You cannot buy any of the pictures seperately. Wonderful time!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Best trip by far in the Dominican Republic!!! The natural pool is cool and Sanoa Island is beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

It was one of the best days of our trip. It was a long day but well worth it !

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message