4.5 star rating: Recommended 162 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 162 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent! My family and I had a wonderful time. I would recommend this tour to individuals looking to enjoy crystal clear water. The food was delicious, and the company very friendly and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Lot s of fun. If you are at Punta cana you have to do this tour. Best tour ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The trip and and the staff were great. The bus ride is a bit long but it is clean, comfortable and air conditioned . We all enjoyed the lunch we were served on the island. We had a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Our cruise was actually cancelled for until Wednesday April 21, no one called us so we were glad we checked the day before! This was a very enjoyable day! Our guide gave us a very good review of Dominican culture and made as many stops as was allowed for our "comfort". Our catamaran for the sail back to the mainland was beautiful. The support staff was alot of fun too. The papparazzi as they were called took a video of the day which we purchased! A great souvenir indeed! It was the highlight of our trip for sure!

Lise B
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

It was a lot of fun and very beautiful. Bring water and lots of sunscreen. I would recommend. Swimming in crystal blue water with star fish below, feeding the fish bread and then the island swimming and exploring. It was a beautiful day and guide was great.

Jeff I
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We all had a great time. The staff was just wonderful and made sure that you were having fun. Very well organized and well worth it. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was like a trip of a lifetime, we had a great time, the crew was great the facilities were more than adequate. For those of you who are thinking about this trip, do yourself a favor, bring extra cash for things like headbands and tips for the boat crews. When you return from Saona Island, you may have the opportunity to purchase a bottle of rum with your photo on it. The bus we had stopped at a local store that was much better than the local markets at the hotels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Amazing day! From pickup to drop off, we were thoroughly entertained. Beautiful waters, countryside and island. We will do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Best experience and fun time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A lot of fun, I would recommend it!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour: the Catamaran cruise was wonderful but there were too many people onboard and we couldn't fully appreciate the cruise because of that what a pity.
Isla Saona is amazing, a true paradise, one more hour would be great to enjoy the place.
The natural pool is also amazing and I hope we had stayed there a bit more.
Overall, a very enjoyable tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Me and girl friends went for a weekend and it was a blast, a day trip away from the hotel. We were picked up from our hotel and picked up by the bus, I forgot the name of our tour guide but he was very informative.They has unlimited booze and music, some dance lesson too at the boat to Saona Island beautifful island very relaxing, had some fresh coconuts cut for us. We relaxed by the water and then we had lunch... sooo yummy.. some real dominican food, i was surprised not see any mangu dishes, other wise the food was good and another thing I was suprised they werent serving dominican beer presidente . Then we took a speed boat to the natural pool and saw some star fish. When they dropped as off to get back to the bus, there were people on the street who were willing to pay our feet to get the sand off for a dollar, that was annoying. We got back to our hotel, exhausted. Me and my girls liked it. Def worth to do for a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The island is beautiful and the lunch was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The one down side was trying to get confirmation of a pick-up time from the hotel and even after a time was given they were 50 minutes late.

Once on the bus (which was extremely comfortable) the rest of the tour was really good. Weather was rubbish but unfortunately you can't control that. Barbecue on the beach was excellent.

Dan R
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good value, well organized and lots of fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This excursion was a good respite from the drudgery of sun and food at the resort. It was a beautiful day. The day starts with an early morning bus ride of about 1 1/2 hours, stopping at other hotels to pick up guests. Once at the fishing village where the day really starts, we were assaulted by numerous vendors selling hats, booze, towels, and anything else you could want. They are PERSISTENT! Our guide seemed friendly for the most part, however he was obviously tired (napping while on the catamaran). The staff managing the boat were great, interacting with the tourists, dancing, and having fun. After the catamaran ride to the island, you get lunch (reasonably good - lobster for an extra $35 - $45 USD), and hang around on the beach. Then, into the speedboats to a lagoon where we saw starfish. In all cases, there are LARGE GROUPS of people, all going to the same place, starting at the same time, etc. The ride back was long after a day in the sun. Everyone seemed a bit pissed that the bus stopped at a tourist center for "potty break" with only 10 minutes left to get back to our resort and relax. The guide explained that he was required by the tour company to do this. We were NOT happy about the stop.

All-in-all, a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I think we just timed this trip badly. Cancelled twice on the third attempt the water was very choppy going out that was on the catamaran, I was a bit disappointed with the island as well but the food was good. Coming back on the speed boat was much better and stopping for the starfish was great time

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed everything about this excursion...BUT....way too much time sitting around after lunch waiting to go to last part of the excursion. Other than that, I'm glad we went.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this trip, but it was too many bees at Sanona Island which took away the enjoyment. The best part was riding the speedboat to the Blue Lagoon where we were able to get out the boat and enjoy swimming or walking (for those who can't swim) through the clear water not blue. My husband didn't feel well but I told him he need to take advantage of this clear water and he really enjoyed it. Can't remember tour guide name but they all was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

it was fun and worth your money,we had no complaints at all but the cameraman took some nice pics. later on he was asking for 135us ?????then 100 then 70 and final price was 60us,not much to see at saona and water was warm but rocks ,make sure take your own pics or better yet bring underwater camera if you can

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lots of fun, the only downfall is getting in boats a little tricky for older folks!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great tour with a great tour director. The weather was not the greatest going out on the catamaran but the sun came out as we pulled up to the island. The island was beautiful although there was no place to snorkel. Warning: Don't let them put a bandana on you unless you want to buy it!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic time, fantastic food, and a fantastic crew.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We had a great time on this tour. Our tour operator was organized, and informative. The staff on the catamaran engaged guests well. Only real complaints were the amount of vendors hounding you at the dock/park area where we boarded, and the continued attempts to sell photo or video packages.

Special Offer
$128.99 Save $33.80

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message