4 star rating: Recommended 148 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 148 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The island is beautiful and the lunch was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The one down side was trying to get confirmation of a pick-up time from the hotel and even after a time was given they were 50 minutes late.

Once on the bus (which was extremely comfortable) the rest of the tour was really good. Weather was rubbish but unfortunately you can't control that. Barbecue on the beach was excellent.

Dan R
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good value, well organized and lots of fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This excursion was a good respite from the drudgery of sun and food at the resort. It was a beautiful day. The day starts with an early morning bus ride of about 1 1/2 hours, stopping at other hotels to pick up guests. Once at the fishing village where the day really starts, we were assaulted by numerous vendors selling hats, booze, towels, and anything else you could want. They are PERSISTENT! Our guide seemed friendly for the most part, however he was obviously tired (napping while on the catamaran). The staff managing the boat were great, interacting with the tourists, dancing, and having fun. After the catamaran ride to the island, you get lunch (reasonably good - lobster for an extra $35 - $45 USD), and hang around on the beach. Then, into the speedboats to a lagoon where we saw starfish. In all cases, there are LARGE GROUPS of people, all going to the same place, starting at the same time, etc. The ride back was long after a day in the sun. Everyone seemed a bit pissed that the bus stopped at a tourist center for "potty break" with only 10 minutes left to get back to our resort and relax. The guide explained that he was required by the tour company to do this. We were NOT happy about the stop.

All-in-all, a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I think we just timed this trip badly. Cancelled twice on the third attempt the water was very choppy going out that was on the catamaran, I was a bit disappointed with the island as well but the food was good. Coming back on the speed boat was much better and stopping for the starfish was great time

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed everything about this excursion...BUT....way too much time sitting around after lunch waiting to go to last part of the excursion. Other than that, I'm glad we went.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this trip, but it was too many bees at Sanona Island which took away the enjoyment. The best part was riding the speedboat to the Blue Lagoon where we were able to get out the boat and enjoy swimming or walking (for those who can't swim) through the clear water not blue. My husband didn't feel well but I told him he need to take advantage of this clear water and he really enjoyed it. Can't remember tour guide name but they all was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

it was fun and worth your money,we had no complaints at all but the cameraman took some nice pics. later on he was asking for 135us ?????then 100 then 70 and final price was 60us,not much to see at saona and water was warm but rocks ,make sure take your own pics or better yet bring underwater camera if you can

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lots of fun, the only downfall is getting in boats a little tricky for older folks!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great tour with a great tour director. The weather was not the greatest going out on the catamaran but the sun came out as we pulled up to the island. The island was beautiful although there was no place to snorkel. Warning: Don't let them put a bandana on you unless you want to buy it!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic time, fantastic food, and a fantastic crew.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We had a great time on this tour. Our tour operator was organized, and informative. The staff on the catamaran engaged guests well. Only real complaints were the amount of vendors hounding you at the dock/park area where we boarded, and the continued attempts to sell photo or video packages.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The trip was wonderful; the boat was a blast and Blue Lagoon was gorgeous. The food was good, but the all-inclusive drinks should include something other than just rum and soda or water.

A couple things would have been nice to know before leaving:
1. Bring cash for shopping
2. There is a 90-minute bus ride each way
3. The catamaran is only one-way. There is a speedboat on the other way (though a pleasant surprise for us, I can see this as a problem for those with back problems
4. Wear water shoes, as you must get out of the boat on to sharp coral (my wife cut her foot open)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely beautiful. Our only complaint is the duration. All day really is all day. From sun-up to sun down you are gone, and most of the trip is spent on the tour bus or the catamaran. Only a couple hours at the island. But the scences are breathtaking and the trip on the bus is informative and you get too see many areas of the Dominican Republic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The bus trip to the bay was long but very comfortable. The trip on the catamaran was great and so was Saona Island and the laggon. We felt pressured to buy the video, but the young man taking it was nice. He was just very pushy to buy. Overall, we had a fun day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful! The only problem was the pick up time, they came to pick us up later than the time on the sheet. Other than that everything was great!

Nancy
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our pick-up time was 7:55 and we waited and waited and waited. We called a few times and were told thay they were fifteen minutes away. Half and hour later they said they were 5 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later they finally arrived. This was the only negative part of the day, but it certainly was a bad start.

Aside from the wait, the trip was AWESOME and one of the highlights of our week in Punta Cana. I highly recommend this cruise and wish to thank the staff for such an organized excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Although we had some rain during the boat rides - it was a great excursion. Make sure you take a change of clothes with you. Take extra $$ to buy from the vendors on the island- like your photographer ($25-$30) and or $20 for a DVD of your trip plus other memorabilia.
The guide had some great Dom. Rep. insights and we enjoyed the history (not his political point of view tho')
Catamaran party was great!
Saona beach was fantastic! (best beach ever!)
We were advised later about the food- do not eat - many get sick.
Speed boat and Blue Lagoon were amazing!! (2nd best part)
When you are 1st arriving- they say they are taking a 'security' picture...it's really to sell you a bottle of rum with your photo on it- not so impressed with being lied to.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Too many stops at other hotels, too much time wasted instead of staying more at Saona like other tours do. Otherwise the tour leader was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful boat ride, beautiful island. Fun atmosphere on the boat. Downside: they don't provide snorkel gear when you get to the island, would have been nice to have that..

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Best cruise i've taken...Saona Island is absolutely beautiful a must seen when in Punta Cana.

Be careful with the crew taking video of you while on the cruise. Poor quality video's and poor service.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a great excursion! The bus ride to the catamaran is REALLY long, so be prepared to pack som food to eat or something to drink. Lunch isn't served for about an hour after you get to the island --- i reccomend doing this one!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Had a great time. Bus ride to event and back took much longer than we expected. I was also under the impression there would be snorkeling and there wasn't. Guide and his staff and boat captains were great. The videographer was great too. Would highly recommend this cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This trip although a very long day was very much so worth it. Having spent most of the week on the Atlantic side of the island it was a completely different world on the Caribbean Saona island side. Once at the ocean, you take either a motor boat to the island or a catamaran. Both are lots of fun especially with a lively crew - rum and cokes are always in hand thanks to the crew. The island was beautiful with white sand, much hotter as a result but none the less made for some great photos. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and if you had any questions he was quick to make sure they were answered. Came with a videographer who provided constant entertainment. Would advise lots of sunscreen and small bills for tipping of appropriate members.

Special Offer
$128.99 Save $33.80

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message