• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely beautiful. Our only complaint is the duration. All day really is all day. From sun-up to sun down you are gone, and most of the trip is spent on the tour bus or the catamaran. Only a couple hours at the island. But the scences are breathtaking and the trip on the bus is informative and you get too see many areas of the Dominican Republic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The bus trip to the bay was long but very comfortable. The trip on the catamaran was great and so was Saona Island and the laggon. We felt pressured to buy the video, but the young man taking it was nice. He was just very pushy to buy. Overall, we had a fun day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful! The only problem was the pick up time, they came to pick us up later than the time on the sheet. Other than that everything was great!

Nancy
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our pick-up time was 7:55 and we waited and waited and waited. We called a few times and were told thay they were fifteen minutes away. Half and hour later they said they were 5 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later they finally arrived. This was the only negative part of the day, but it certainly was a bad start.

Aside from the wait, the trip was AWESOME and one of the highlights of our week in Punta Cana. I highly recommend this cruise and wish to thank the staff for such an organized excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Although we had some rain during the boat rides - it was a great excursion. Make sure you take a change of clothes with you. Take extra $$ to buy from the vendors on the island- like your photographer ($25-$30) and or $20 for a DVD of your trip plus other memorabilia.
The guide had some great Dom. Rep. insights and we enjoyed the history (not his political point of view tho')
Catamaran party was great!
Saona beach was fantastic! (best beach ever!)
We were advised later about the food- do not eat - many get sick.
Speed boat and Blue Lagoon were amazing!! (2nd best part)
When you are 1st arriving- they say they are taking a 'security' picture...it's really to sell you a bottle of rum with your photo on it- not so impressed with being lied to.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Too many stops at other hotels, too much time wasted instead of staying more at Saona like other tours do. Otherwise the tour leader was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful boat ride, beautiful island. Fun atmosphere on the boat. Downside: they don't provide snorkel gear when you get to the island, would have been nice to have that..

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Best cruise i've taken...Saona Island is absolutely beautiful a must seen when in Punta Cana.

Be careful with the crew taking video of you while on the cruise. Poor quality video's and poor service.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a great excursion! The bus ride to the catamaran is REALLY long, so be prepared to pack som food to eat or something to drink. Lunch isn't served for about an hour after you get to the island --- i reccomend doing this one!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Had a great time. Bus ride to event and back took much longer than we expected. I was also under the impression there would be snorkeling and there wasn't. Guide and his staff and boat captains were great. The videographer was great too. Would highly recommend this cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This trip although a very long day was very much so worth it. Having spent most of the week on the Atlantic side of the island it was a completely different world on the Caribbean Saona island side. Once at the ocean, you take either a motor boat to the island or a catamaran. Both are lots of fun especially with a lively crew - rum and cokes are always in hand thanks to the crew. The island was beautiful with white sand, much hotter as a result but none the less made for some great photos. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and if you had any questions he was quick to make sure they were answered. Came with a videographer who provided constant entertainment. Would advise lots of sunscreen and small bills for tipping of appropriate members.

Dale M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Cruise was a great way to spend the day and get away from the resort. The staff did a great job in getting everyone involved on the island. The vendors were pretty passive and tended to leave people pretty much alone. Lunch was decent, although the lack of any organized line for the buffet meant you had to be prepared to butt in to get at the food. Overall, good value for the money and great way to see the coast from a different perspective.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Cruise was fun, fine and dandy. Was not prepared for the long bus ride to the boat, but overall a great time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Our tour was awesome! Thomas was wonderful, looking out for everyone, making sure we got our connections. His talk was fantastic. The food was suprisingly good. Loved stopping for the starfish. My only complaint was the number of people on our beach and the drop off was like a crowded expressway at rush hour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Only had run and coke to drink and they ran out of ice on the boat. It was a little crowded. The food on the island was so so.

Special Offer
$129.00 Save $33.81

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message