4.5 star rating: Recommended 159 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 159 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful! The only problem was the pick up time, they came to pick us up later than the time on the sheet. Other than that everything was great!

Nancy
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our pick-up time was 7:55 and we waited and waited and waited. We called a few times and were told thay they were fifteen minutes away. Half and hour later they said they were 5 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later they finally arrived. This was the only negative part of the day, but it certainly was a bad start.

Aside from the wait, the trip was AWESOME and one of the highlights of our week in Punta Cana. I highly recommend this cruise and wish to thank the staff for such an organized excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Although we had some rain during the boat rides - it was a great excursion. Make sure you take a change of clothes with you. Take extra $$ to buy from the vendors on the island- like your photographer ($25-$30) and or $20 for a DVD of your trip plus other memorabilia.
The guide had some great Dom. Rep. insights and we enjoyed the history (not his political point of view tho')
Catamaran party was great!
Saona beach was fantastic! (best beach ever!)
We were advised later about the food- do not eat - many get sick.
Speed boat and Blue Lagoon were amazing!! (2nd best part)
When you are 1st arriving- they say they are taking a 'security' picture...it's really to sell you a bottle of rum with your photo on it- not so impressed with being lied to.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Too many stops at other hotels, too much time wasted instead of staying more at Saona like other tours do. Otherwise the tour leader was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful boat ride, beautiful island. Fun atmosphere on the boat. Downside: they don't provide snorkel gear when you get to the island, would have been nice to have that..

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Best cruise i've taken...Saona Island is absolutely beautiful a must seen when in Punta Cana.

Be careful with the crew taking video of you while on the cruise. Poor quality video's and poor service.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a great excursion! The bus ride to the catamaran is REALLY long, so be prepared to pack som food to eat or something to drink. Lunch isn't served for about an hour after you get to the island --- i reccomend doing this one!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Had a great time. Bus ride to event and back took much longer than we expected. I was also under the impression there would be snorkeling and there wasn't. Guide and his staff and boat captains were great. The videographer was great too. Would highly recommend this cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This trip although a very long day was very much so worth it. Having spent most of the week on the Atlantic side of the island it was a completely different world on the Caribbean Saona island side. Once at the ocean, you take either a motor boat to the island or a catamaran. Both are lots of fun especially with a lively crew - rum and cokes are always in hand thanks to the crew. The island was beautiful with white sand, much hotter as a result but none the less made for some great photos. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and if you had any questions he was quick to make sure they were answered. Came with a videographer who provided constant entertainment. Would advise lots of sunscreen and small bills for tipping of appropriate members.

Dale M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Cruise was a great way to spend the day and get away from the resort. The staff did a great job in getting everyone involved on the island. The vendors were pretty passive and tended to leave people pretty much alone. Lunch was decent, although the lack of any organized line for the buffet meant you had to be prepared to butt in to get at the food. Overall, good value for the money and great way to see the coast from a different perspective.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Cruise was fun, fine and dandy. Was not prepared for the long bus ride to the boat, but overall a great time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip is very well organized and the beach is beautiful. But my wife and I did not find this trip to be worth it. I tried to describe the whole day but I ran out of characters so here is the short version:

The van driver picked us at 7:35am. We drove to 2 more hotels to pick people up. We arrived at a parking lot around 9:00am where we left the van and boarded a coach bus. We took the bus for an 1 hours and 15 minutes during this time we told to look left for some mango trees and right for some sugar canes farms and got a brief history of DR. We arrived at our destination and walked for about 5 minutes before getting to the beach. Took it for about 5 minutes to a catamaran. We boarded the catamaran around 10:20am. 5 minutes into our catamaran ride, they started to blast music and serving alcohol/non-alcoholic beverages. Neither my wife nor I drink alcohol, but drinking at 10:30am it is a bit much in my opinion. This torture lasted for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. We got off the catamaran and boarded the speedboat again and it took us to the island. We arrived at the island around 11:50am. There was about 70-100 people between the 3 catamarans and 6 speedboats. Side note: the trip to the island itself took 4 hours and 25 minutes...our flight from NYC JFK airport took 3 hours and 30 minutes. We were served lunch around 1pm which was okay. The whole time we were there, we felt like it was a tourist trap and people are trying to selling you nonsense the whole time. Our tour guide hung out with the locals for the most part, had lunch, and then took a nap until 2:45pm when we left the Island. The way back things picked up, we took the speedboat back which was much more pleasant then the catamaran. They took us to see some fish and hold some starfish. As we approached the beach again, the captain slowed down the boat to collect tips and only after everyone gave he pulled to shore. I don't mind tipping for good service, but don't hold me hostage.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was okay The trip on the bus was long. The trip to the island was longer than advertised. They served cheap beer and cheap rum with coke and 7 UP. No food or snacks as advertised. The lunch was just okay. The guide was okay but hard to understand at times. The private island was nice but the locals selling things and offering massages were very pushy!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I would have to say it was a beautiful day but felt like we were in a tourist trap for the whole day! The island is amazing by the 12 hour day was very long! Have to ride the bus for an hour picking up at different hotels was not good and then being sold everything from hats to run was a bit much!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

A lovely day albeit a long day. The only negative I would say was that we had to keep changing from speed boat to catamaran and vice versus and the sea was quite rough and the transfer was quite difficult. Anyone with mobility issues would really struggle with this trip. But the staff and Island were both amazing and a good day was had by all. Also the final trinket shop stop was probably not needed after a long tiring day all you wish to do is get back to your hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a very nice tour however a very long day too much time wasted with the bus ride there and the bus ride back and very crowded nice tour if you're staying in Punta Cana for a week where you can dedicate a full day today left at 7 AM didn't get back to 7.30 pm

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The Island is stunning. Very disappointed in the 'Natural Pool' lagoon. It is advertised as being famous for its abundance of starfish; however the only starfish we saw were the two that the guide "found" and passed around to us. Boarding the speedboat was very unorganized. We waited on the beach for more than 40 minutes to get on our speed boat while others who had just arrived boarded their boats with very little wait time. Lunch on the island was very good with a wide variety of meat and pasta. Beverages were supplied on the catamaran; however there was no fruit provided (as advertised). It was a very quiet catamaran ride back as the crew only began getting things going about 30 minutes before the ride was over.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Our tour was awesome! Thomas was wonderful, looking out for everyone, making sure we got our connections. His talk was fantastic. The food was suprisingly good. Loved stopping for the starfish. My only complaint was the number of people on our beach and the drop off was like a crowded expressway at rush hour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Only had run and coke to drink and they ran out of ice on the boat. It was a little crowded. The food on the island was so so.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Great Trip--Catamaran ride was smooth, plenty of refreshments to drink DJ played island music and volume was acceptable, not painful!! Island is nice, lunch was ok. If you wanted a photo album, the photographers had you posing constantly..no time to yourself. Main complaint: wish someone would have told us about the broken coral just off the shore..quite painful to walk on and unexpected!! speedboat ride back was fun. Would recommend this trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

the tour waS beautiful..chocolate was our "paparazzi" and he was amazing but Fausto 1 was our guide..they forgot us at the hotel and we had to call them to come get us..Fausto gave all the info from the front of the bus..we were in the back and couldnt hear anything..then he was rude TO EVERYONE

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Rating would be higher if it didn't rain ALL DAY during our trip. Because of that, it was a lot less enjoyable. A blinding thunderstorm as you rip out toward the island on an uncovered speedboat was a bit unnerving (not to mention painful due to the rain hitting you at full speed), and much of our time on the island was spent under one of the shelters as we were trying to keep our camera dry. But, everything was delivered/provided exactly as promised. No problems with scheduling, transportation, quality of service, etc... But, be careful - perhaps it was all of the rum, but I didn't understand that the video of the trip offered on the way back (after drinking all the rum) was $40USD. The $10USD paid on the boat was only a deposit with a $30USD balance required to obtain the video. Oh, and a little kid took some clothes from some of our tour mates and was trying to sell them on the beach. Luckily, they got them back without too much trouble and were laughing about the whole thing. Maybe keep a close eye on your belongings once on the island. Would I do it again? Absolutely. It would have been perfect without the rain. And since I still seem to have some room here, be sure to take some insect repellent with you to the DR and use it whenever going to the beach. The sand fleas really got me good and made the last few days of the trip less enjoyable. The little buggers couldn't jump higher than my knees, but they made the bottom half of my legs look like a war zone. Take lots of sunscreen with you, too. It's $28USD in the DR.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Amazing place. Wonderful beaches but the tour wasn't so good. People got drunk by the leaders and they spent a lot of money. i think that was the point from the agency. They gave us cheap alcohol and everyone was drunk (we were smart enough to avoid it) and then , it was dangerous being in the sea and furthermore, i bet that people spent at least 100dollars in unnecessary things persuaded by the leaders! BE CAREFUL if you are about to join the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The catamaran ride was perfect. The staff on the boat tried to make sure everyone was having fun including my kids. The island was beautiful. The starfish area had 2 starfish. One was dead I think? and the other someone was holding. There were really no starfish to see like we expected. The biggest issue was the 4 hour bus ride to get there. 1 hour to Bavaro and THREE more to the catamaran dock. We spent more time on a bus than the excursion. You can't change the distances...but I think your tour company tried to hide how long the travel part was and that was very aggravating. Another couple on the trip told us that they asked and were told 1 hr to 1.5 hrs....and they were also on buses for 3 hours. VERY MISLEADING. Also, the photo video guy was a good idea but we didnt want the video. If the pics were avail online we might have ordered pictures.....but didnt want to pay for the whole set of everyone on the trip. Just an idea.

Special Offer
$128.99 Save $33.80

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message