• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 116 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

it was fun and worth your money,we had no complaints at all but the cameraman took some nice pics. later on he was asking for 135us ?????then 100 then 70 and final price was 60us,not much to see at saona and water was warm but rocks ,make sure take your own pics or better yet bring underwater camera if you can

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lots of fun, the only downfall is getting in boats a little tricky for older folks!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great tour with a great tour director. The weather was not the greatest going out on the catamaran but the sun came out as we pulled up to the island. The island was beautiful although there was no place to snorkel. Warning: Don't let them put a bandana on you unless you want to buy it!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great tour with a great tour director. The weather was not the greatest going out on the catamaran but the sun came out as we pulled up to the island. The island was beautiful although there was no place to snorkel. Warning: Don't let them put a bandana on you unless you want to buy it!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic time, fantastic food, and a fantastic crew.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic time, fantastic food, and a fantastic crew.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We had a great time on this tour. Our tour operator was organized, and informative. The staff on the catamaran engaged guests well. Only real complaints were the amount of vendors hounding you at the dock/park area where we boarded, and the continued attempts to sell photo or video packages.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The trip was wonderful; the boat was a blast and Blue Lagoon was gorgeous. The food was good, but the all-inclusive drinks should include something other than just rum and soda or water.

A couple things would have been nice to know before leaving:
1. Bring cash for shopping
2. There is a 90-minute bus ride each way
3. The catamaran is only one-way. There is a speedboat on the other way (though a pleasant surprise for us, I can see this as a problem for those with back problems
4. Wear water shoes, as you must get out of the boat on to sharp coral (my wife cut her foot open)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely beautiful. Our only complaint is the duration. All day really is all day. From sun-up to sun down you are gone, and most of the trip is spent on the tour bus or the catamaran. Only a couple hours at the island. But the scences are breathtaking and the trip on the bus is informative and you get too see many areas of the Dominican Republic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The bus trip to the bay was long but very comfortable. The trip on the catamaran was great and so was Saona Island and the laggon. We felt pressured to buy the video, but the young man taking it was nice. He was just very pushy to buy. Overall, we had a fun day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful! The only problem was the pick up time, they came to pick us up later than the time on the sheet. Other than that everything was great!

Nancy
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our pick-up time was 7:55 and we waited and waited and waited. We called a few times and were told thay they were fifteen minutes away. Half and hour later they said they were 5 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later they finally arrived. This was the only negative part of the day, but it certainly was a bad start.

Aside from the wait, the trip was AWESOME and one of the highlights of our week in Punta Cana. I highly recommend this cruise and wish to thank the staff for such an organized excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Although we had some rain during the boat rides - it was a great excursion. Make sure you take a change of clothes with you. Take extra $$ to buy from the vendors on the island- like your photographer ($25-$30) and or $20 for a DVD of your trip plus other memorabilia.
The guide had some great Dom. Rep. insights and we enjoyed the history (not his political point of view tho')
Catamaran party was great!
Saona beach was fantastic! (best beach ever!)
We were advised later about the food- do not eat - many get sick.
Speed boat and Blue Lagoon were amazing!! (2nd best part)
When you are 1st arriving- they say they are taking a 'security' picture...it's really to sell you a bottle of rum with your photo on it- not so impressed with being lied to.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Too many stops at other hotels, too much time wasted instead of staying more at Saona like other tours do. Otherwise the tour leader was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful boat ride, beautiful island. Fun atmosphere on the boat. Downside: they don't provide snorkel gear when you get to the island, would have been nice to have that..

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message