Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

planetwheel

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I think we just timed this trip badly. Cancelled twice on the third attempt the water was very choppy going out that was on the catamaran, I was a bit disappointed with the island as well but the food was good. Coming back on the speed boat was much better and stopping for the starfish was great time

Tiffany M. P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed everything about this excursion...BUT....way too much time sitting around after lunch waiting to go to last part of the excursion. Other than that, I'm glad we went.

jazzyjazz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this trip, but it was too many bees at Sanona Island which took away the enjoyment. The best part was riding the speedboat to the Blue Lagoon where we were able to get out the boat and enjoy swimming or walking (for those who can't swim) through the clear water not blue. My husband didn't feel well but I told him he need to take advantage of this clear water and he really enjoyed it. Can't remember tour guide name but they all was wonderful.

cuong n

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

it was fun and worth your money,we had no complaints at all but the cameraman took some nice pics. later on he was asking for 135us ?????then 100 then 70 and final price was 60us,not much to see at saona and water was warm but rocks ,make sure take your own pics or better yet bring underwater camera if you can

Sandra R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Lots of fun, the only downfall is getting in boats a little tricky for older folks!

Lacey T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great tour with a great tour director. The weather was not the greatest going out on the catamaran but the sun came out as we pulled up to the island. The island was beautiful although there was no place to snorkel. Warning: Don't let them put a bandana on you unless you want to buy it!

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic time, fantastic food, and a fantastic crew.

Anthony B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We had a great time on this tour. Our tour operator was organized, and informative. The staff on the catamaran engaged guests well. Only real complaints were the amount of vendors hounding you at the dock/park area where we boarded, and the continued attempts to sell photo or video packages.

Jenny P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The trip was wonderful; the boat was a blast and Blue Lagoon was gorgeous. The food was good, but the all-inclusive drinks should include something other than just rum and soda or water.

A couple things would have been nice to know before leaving:
1. Bring cash for shopping
2. There is a 90-minute bus ride each way
3. The catamaran is only one-way. There is a speedboat on the other way (though a pleasant surprise for us, I can see this as a problem for those with back problems
4. Wear water shoes, as you must get out of the boat on to sharp coral (my wife cut her foot open)

Christina S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely beautiful. Our only complaint is the duration. All day really is all day. From sun-up to sun down you are gone, and most of the trip is spent on the tour bus or the catamaran. Only a couple hours at the island. But the scences are breathtaking and the trip on the bus is informative and you get too see many areas of the Dominican Republic.

Daniel C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The bus trip to the bay was long but very comfortable. The trip on the catamaran was great and so was Saona Island and the laggon. We felt pressured to buy the video, but the young man taking it was nice. He was just very pushy to buy. Overall, we had a fun day.

Andrea A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful! The only problem was the pick up time, they came to pick us up later than the time on the sheet. Other than that everything was great!

Nancy Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our pick-up time was 7:55 and we waited and waited and waited. We called a few times and were told thay they were fifteen minutes away. Half and hour later they said they were 5 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later they finally arrived. This was the only negative part of the day, but it certainly was a bad start.

Aside from the wait, the trip was AWESOME and one of the highlights of our week in Punta Cana. I highly recommend this cruise and wish to thank the staff for such an organized excursion.

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Although we had some rain during the boat rides - it was a great excursion. Make sure you take a change of clothes with you. Take extra $$ to buy from the vendors on the island- like your photographer ($25-$30) and or $20 for a DVD of your trip plus other memorabilia.
The guide had some great Dom. Rep. insights and we enjoyed the history (not his political point of view tho')
Catamaran party was great!
Saona beach was fantastic! (best beach ever!)
We were advised later about the food- do not eat - many get sick.
Speed boat and Blue Lagoon were amazing!! (2nd best part)
When you are 1st arriving- they say they are taking a 'security' picture...it's really to sell you a bottle of rum with your photo on it- not so impressed with being lied to.

Laura E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Too many stops at other hotels, too much time wasted instead of staying more at Saona like other tours do. Otherwise the tour leader was good.

Cambria L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Beautiful boat ride, beautiful island. Fun atmosphere on the boat. Downside: they don't provide snorkel gear when you get to the island, would have been nice to have that..

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Best cruise i've taken...Saona Island is absolutely beautiful a must seen when in Punta Cana.

Be careful with the crew taking video of you while on the cruise. Poor quality video's and poor service.

Kobina O USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a great excursion! The bus ride to the catamaran is REALLY long, so be prepared to pack som food to eat or something to drink. Lunch isn't served for about an hour after you get to the island --- i reccomend doing this one!

Michael O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Had a great time. Bus ride to event and back took much longer than we expected. I was also under the impression there would be snorkeling and there wasn't. Guide and his staff and boat captains were great. The videographer was great too. Would highly recommend this cruise.

Liana D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This trip although a very long day was very much so worth it. Having spent most of the week on the Atlantic side of the island it was a completely different world on the Caribbean Saona island side. Once at the ocean, you take either a motor boat to the island or a catamaran. Both are lots of fun especially with a lively crew - rum and cokes are always in hand thanks to the crew. The island was beautiful with white sand, much hotter as a result but none the less made for some great photos. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and if you had any questions he was quick to make sure they were answered. Came with a videographer who provided constant entertainment. Would advise lots of sunscreen and small bills for tipping of appropriate members.

Dale M Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Cruise was a great way to spend the day and get away from the resort. The staff did a great job in getting everyone involved on the island. The vendors were pretty passive and tended to leave people pretty much alone. Lunch was decent, although the lack of any organized line for the buffet meant you had to be prepared to butt in to get at the food. Overall, good value for the money and great way to see the coast from a different perspective.

Scott S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Cruise was fun, fine and dandy. Was not prepared for the long bus ride to the boat, but overall a great time.

Jennifer B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Our trip was ok nothing over the top. Our tour guide was very uninteresting he slept on the beach and did not interact with anyone on the tour. We kept getting off and on the boat going from place to place and we did not spend more than an hour in any one place. They were late picking us up from the hotel and then when we got to our meeting point to meet up with the rest of the group to leave we waited there for over another half an hour. The best part was the catamaran ride. I have definitely done better tours in Punta Cana.

avy

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Trip was awesome. Beach was amazing! The only thing I will suggest is that the videographer/photographer should provide an option of purchasing one or two photos. During our trip they only had an option to purchase a package photos, videos and music, which was unfortunate since we only wanted to purchase one photo they took.

Jonathan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip is very well organized and the beach is beautiful. But my wife and I did not find this trip to be worth it. I tried to describe the whole day but I ran out of characters so here is the short version:

The van driver picked us at 7:35am. We drove to 2 more hotels to pick people up. We arrived at a parking lot around 9:00am where we left the van and boarded a coach bus. We took the bus for an 1 hours and 15 minutes during this time we told to look left for some mango trees and right for some sugar canes farms and got a brief history of DR. We arrived at our destination and walked for about 5 minutes before getting to the beach. Took it for about 5 minutes to a catamaran. We boarded the catamaran around 10:20am. 5 minutes into our catamaran ride, they started to blast music and serving alcohol/non-alcoholic beverages. Neither my wife nor I drink alcohol, but drinking at 10:30am it is a bit much in my opinion. This torture lasted for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. We got off the catamaran and boarded the speedboat again and it took us to the island. We arrived at the island around 11:50am. There was about 70-100 people between the 3 catamarans and 6 speedboats. Side note: the trip to the island itself took 4 hours and 25 minutes...our flight from NYC JFK airport took 3 hours and 30 minutes. We were served lunch around 1pm which was okay. The whole time we were there, we felt like it was a tourist trap and people are trying to selling you nonsense the whole time. Our tour guide hung out with the locals for the most part, had lunch, and then took a nap until 2:45pm when we left the Island. The way back things picked up, we took the speedboat back which was much more pleasant then the catamaran. They took us to see some fish and hold some starfish. As we approached the beach again, the captain slowed down the boat to collect tips and only after everyone gave he pulled to shore. I don't mind tipping for good service, but don't hold me hostage.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

Special Offer
$129.00 Save $33.81

From USD $ 95.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476SICC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message