4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Awesome tour. Second time I did this tour. It is amazing. So much fun, so informative, wonderful time. Highly recommend this tour. Hopefully you will get Kenny as your tour guide and he is great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This is a must-do activity in Punta Cana if you want to see and experience the countryside! You have a ride in a monster truck, some horseback riding, a visit to an elementary school, a visit to an actual Dominican home, and a visit to the beach. The bonus is the delicious meal and drinks provided.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Due to adverse weather conditions our trip was cancelled on the original date booked. We were however called in advance at the hotel to advise us of this and it was rearranged to suit.
The pick up was prompt and from start to finish received excellent service from out guide. The trip was packed full of interesting locations and things to do and well worth the expense. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip and would definitely book with you again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Safari was our favorite on our honeymoon!!!You get to go to a school(which the kids were out),see a church next to it,go to a traditional families home,see and taste the process of coffee,cocoa,cigar making,buy rums,cigars,coco oil(cheapest we found),vanilla extract,and buy there pineapple wine!!(we got one and wished we bought a few bottles when we got home)this was a small store on the trail when doing the coffe,cocoa etc,We also walked through small butterfly garden,horseback riding,eat a traditional Dominican meal on the ranch,then last go to Macoa beach to relax.The trip is pretty much all day 7+ hrs !! It was an awesome experience though!!Find out ahead of time if the kids are in school and bring them things like school supplies pencils,papers etc.One note if you get this excursion through Viator be sure when you check in to your hotel to schedule a pick-up.We thought it was already arranged and waited an hour only to have to reschedule the next day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Had a awesome time! Will droit again!!!M

Javier G
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a great excursion! Wonderful way to see and get a feel for what the country is like outside the resort. Strongly recommend, Tour guides were awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

omg!i highly recomend this trip.its fabulous,informative,fun.rudy is the greatest,it was so much more than i expected a full day of fun knowledge and the rum kept flowing.we saw cigars rolled,made fresh coffee,ground our own chocolate straight from the tree.the ride through the (jungle) was breathtaking.went to an old church a schooll house and the most prestine beach ive ever seen...i could have done the same trip the very next day..i was impressed and so was the person i was traveling with.thank you so much! and rudy deserves a raise hes awsome!!

Mfedirch
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this adventure. Rudy awesome job

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was an amazing tour. I would recommend this tour. It is a must see and do when you visit Puerto Plata. The pick up and drop off went great, everything went on time. The tour guide was great. He was very friendly and informative. He spoke english very well and joked around with everyone. The sights that you see are amazing. Being able to see the underside of the Dominican, away from the prettiness of the resorts and see the way people actually live here was very eye opening. If you are travelling with children I recommend you take them on this tour. It will give them a sense of what they have and how they live compared to the Dominican children. I recommend that you bring along bags of hard candies to throw out to all the smiling happy, waving children that run out along the edge of the road when they hear the truck coming. I bought these at the $ store at home and brought them with me. You should also bring along some school supplies to donate to the Dominican school that you stop at. The lunch included in the tour is pretty good, it is a buffet lunch served at the river. I would not suggest going swimming in the river but it is a really nice place with lots of picture opportunities and nice views. On the way back you will stop at a gift /souvineir shop so bring along some money. Drinks are also included in the tour, rum, beer, pop and water. The tour guide and bartender are very good with the drinks. Overall I thought the tour was great. From start to finish it is never a dull moment. Everything you see and do is wonderful. GREAT TOUR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We had the most awesome time on the Monster Truck Tour! The guides were fluent in many languages so everyone could understand what they told us.Saw an amazing amount of the beautiful countryside/local people/lifestyle/country school, and the rum flowed the whole trip! Would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see more than just another resort and beach in a nice sunny climate. Get out there and take a look at the real Dominican! 5 * for sure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This trip was the most amazing experience we ever went on! You have to get Gregory because makes the trip! He is knowledgeable, funny and very intelligent! My kids will never forget this experience! I give this 100,000,000 STARS!!!!!!!!! Thank you!! The Meyer Family from Barrington Hills, Illinois!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Miy friend and I had a great time on our trip it was great fun. the guide and the other guys with him were very informative and helpful. would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

If I could give this 100 stars it would not be enough! The safari itself is fantastic, went to some great places, met some great people and had some fantastic experiences; it was a real eye opener. What made it even better - the guide we had; a guy called Gregory. He was my favorite person of the entire holiday and my family all had the same opinion. He speaks god knows how many languages with ease and is full of interesting information. We learnt more about the Dominican in 1 day with him than in the other 14 days together. He is very funny and full of energy - everyone on the trip loved him and were still talking about him and the trip 4 days later!! The trip itself is great but if you go on it you have to go with this guy - he is a legend :-) He should be cloned and one of him should be on every trip there is. Brilliant!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Loved it, the guide was great. I would love to take this tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

One of the best excursions I've been on in the Caribbean. Our guide, Sammy, was great. Be prepared for a very long day and be sure to bring candy or school supplies for the kids at the school.

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message