Insider's Guide to Punta Cana

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Louis C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

We had a fantastic experience! Thanks to our guide Gregory, he made the whole trip as comfortable and amusing as possible. He was attentive and most of all, knowledgeable. He spoke several languages and knew about the culture of the Dominican Republic. You will see small children all throughout the trip. With those you encounter, MAKE SURE you bring something to give to them for school use, or any other useful and handy household non-perishable materials i.e. pencils, eraser, sharpener, notebook, comb, soap, small hand held towels etc. to distribute here and there. Dress very comfortably as if though you're going hiking- comfortable loose clothes, shoes wgood soles no flip flops, and a hat. Also do bring a compact umbrella in the event of rain. Just be prepared to visit the Haitian Refugees at the latter portion of the tour. If you ignore them and leave your valuables at the hotel room in a safe, then you'll be just fine. You don't need to be flashy for this trip at all. It's a type of trip that everyone must be aware of living in the countryside and bringing your experiences back home to your families. It makes you think differently about life at home and display more appreciation about the way we live. A MUST SEEVISIT! Enjoy!!!

Paul M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Best day out couldn't recommend it enough.

Mandy R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Just wished we had been told we were going to meet Haiti refugees that the Dominican Republic had helped. They were so desperate for everything and anything and we were not prepared with anything much. A few of the girls so wanted my flip flops, their feet were just thick mud. It was so sad and I could have given plenty if I had known we were meeting them, so I just gave what I could from what I had with me.

Santos M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The truck ride was awesome. The food was great but very few options. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and very likeable.

Tyler L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This was an interesting tour that gives you an idea of the real Dominican Republic. I highly recommend this one if you wish to go outside the resorts. Our tour guide was excellent. He speaks English, Spanish, and German! And they gave us as much soda, water, and rum and coke as we wanted! But I would not recommend this for the thrillseeker as it is a pretty quiet excursion.

John C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fabulous day...don't miss this amazing tour while in Punta Cana. Viator is the way to go when booking tours. We stayed at the Moon Palace and they did not offer this tour through the hotel, and what they did offer that was similar was more expensive. Pickup and drop-off at hotel was exactly on time. We saw things we never would have seen had we stayed on the resort for our whole vacation. The lunch could have been better, but that was really the only thing to complain about. Go, you won't regret it!

Nazia A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A great experience and exposure to the country, as well as a friendly tour guide and good food!

Maryann W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

What a great tour! We had a blast riding all through the countryside of Punta Cana. It rained some, but still couldn't have been a better day! Thanks!

Fiona C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

An excellent, funfilled day - seeing parts of the real Dominican Republic! Our tour guide was very good and shared lots of his knowledge. I would definitely recommend this trip to other people, take lots of pens, pencils, sweets to throw to the local children, and your camera for photographs of the home you are invited to look around.

Ronald C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed it and would recommend it to others.

Rachel K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

What a great day out. It couldn't have been any better. We had a fantastic day and saw the real Dominican. Would go back and do this again.

Robert S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

An outstanding experience

Maria G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a great time the trip was very interesting and educating it opens your eyes to alot of things. Our guide and driver were very friendly and alot of fun.

Thelma C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The tour was excellent, guide and drivers were great. Buffet lunch was provided and then swimming in the river was awesome. Would do it again if I ever go back to Dominican Republic. Would recommend this tour on the Monster Truck very highly. We had a lot of fun.

Devin D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

There is nothing better than getting a real taste of the countryside and city when you go on vacation. It is just a waste of a vacation if you are just going to sit around the resort or hotel and not get around and really find out what your vacation i.e. country has in store for you.

William S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was awesome. Even though we got rained on a couple times that morning we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide was the best guide ever!

Susan M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

Great tour! You really get to know how the Dominicans and Haitians live, plus you also learn plenty about the country.

John C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We had a blast. Our tour guide was brill and so funny. This was a full-day excursion, and we were never bored. We visited schools, which were a real eye-opener; we visited a house and family in the mountains and had coffee with them; and we visited a voodoo doctor and sugar cane fields. The list is endless, as were the rum, beer and soft drinks. This is definitely a must-do.

Luciano D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great tour and I highly recommond it. I suggest bringning school supplies if you can to leave with the Teacher.

Alexandra D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable day out! Guides were amazing and made trip special.

Kwinkwon Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Awesome experience riding in a the jeep. This is an opportunity for you to learn about culture and experience local flavour. This adventure allows you to visit a school, a church, a family house and a ranch. Well worth the trip.

shane t

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

very enjoyable - the guide was very knowledgible and informative. The only disappointment was that we did not get to attend a session where the school was in session nor did we get the opportunity to cut some sugar cane. Besides these two minor disappointments - I would strongly encourage people to take this trip. Be prepared for a long trip.

Saundra C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

I had a good time on the Monster Truck Safari. It was informational and interesting. The only event that was the least interesting or entertaining was the visit to a "Voodoo Priest". That could have been omitted.

Janet H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

A worthwhile tour.

mrmachine USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The country Adventure Safari was a very interesting experience. We got to see part of the Dominican Republic that one normally does ot see while at a beautiful All-inclusive resort. I am not sure that what we actually saw was typical Dominican Republic life, but it was interesting none-the-less. I think it would be nice if the tour guide had a microphone and speaker so everyone in the truck could hear the narration. with today's technology, that would not be too hard to accomplish. The tour got long toward the end and almost everyone was happy to get back to the hotel. In any case, it was worthwhile and fun. Try it.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message