4.5 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I really enjoyed the monster truck safari - my tour guide was the best, polite and funny. I was looking for speed, but the tour of the cities was interesting and fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

It was great to get out and see how people live in the Dominican Republic!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

It was great to get out and see the actual Dominican! Very informative!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

This was a lot of fun, safe and very informative. Well done and very enjoyable. Probably your only chance as a tourist to see the real Dominican Republic.

Jozef S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Quite interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was nice to be able to book this before we left for the trip instead of having to settle for what the hotel offered.

Ken J
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A very relaxing day. Our tour guide did a splendid job of informing us of the culture, people and types of crops, etc. I would recommend this tour to anyone. We had no problems booking it or being pick up.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Great day out.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

It's a good day, but a long one. Our tour guide was great, very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The tour was awesome. It made the trip for us. Just make sure you have all the info with you, and have your hotel call to confirm a few days before. Our resort hadn't used Viator much, and at first the tour operator didn't accept our voucher. Luckily, the hotel staff called and worked it out, but we missed our tour and had to go the following day, which was OK because we had booked the trip several days before we had to leave, so we had some leeway. Otherwise, this was our favorite excursion by far!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a good guide and a nice trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This trip really gives you a true picture of the culture there. Everyone was very friendly

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

this was very good but it was a long day bring lots of water interesting on seeing how coffee , chocolate and cigars are made in the jungle

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was a decent trip but not a five star adventure. We started the trip with a stop at a souvenir stand, followed by a trip to a small village where we were encouraged to buy gifts for the school children. After we toured the school and heard the tale of the desperate poverty of the teacher (he makes about 3x what my GF makes in Russia as a teacher) we toured a marijuana/cocoa farm and heard the same tale of poverty as I watched a $20 bill change hands between the truck driver and the farmer (I saw that 4 times for each truck - $80 in one hour is not poverty). The authentic lunch was beans and rice with some overcooked chicken.
There was "horse back riding" but the horse was too tired to do anything but plod along and I felt sorry for them as I could see that they needed medical attention...
The high point was visiting the beach - it is nicer than the one I was paying to visit at the resort. White sand that felt like silk under my feet, almost no seaweed, and crystal blue water.
Johnny BeGood and Miguel were great. If I did another tour I would ask for them. Maybe they do ziplining? ;)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

.
I really don't know why this tour is so highly rated on Viator, we went on three other excursions – this was the worst one.
Our trip was rescheduled (seems to be common) to a day earlier on 03/22/2012 and it was the coldest rainiest day of our week-long trip. Cold dripping water from the ceiling made the truck ride extremely uncomfortable – we got soaked. Because it was raining 1) we could not cross the river, and 2) the school was closed and when we went to another school, it also had closed early. Our tour guide said he gave the supplies we brought to the Principal – I just hope the kids got them. The lunch was also mediocre.
The one nice part of the excursion is driving through the working class area of Sosua. It's really neat to see and the children wave as you drive by. The house/farm we visited in Sosua was also interesting.
This trip would be okay if the weather is decent, but I believe Management should have given us the opportunity to reschedule or get a refund especially because we did not get a chance to go on parts of the tour that were advertised. Management said they would only cancel the trip for a HURRICANE WARNING. Really??
Even at a discounted price, this trip is certainly not worth US$78 + tax. If you're in Puerto Plata, I recommend you save your money for any of the three excursions mentioned above or maybe even a trip to Sosua.
Overall: Don't take a chance - if the weather is bad (don’t forget they may reschedule your trip to any day) this excursion is horrible.

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message