4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Other than we were booked for a Tuesday and didn't take the trip until Thursday, the experience was very worthwhile. We only found out about the change when we called to confirm our pickup time. The guide and driver were excellent. The information was very interesting and well presented. I would recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I really enjoyed the monster truck safari - my tour guide was the best, polite and funny. I was looking for speed, but the tour of the cities was interesting and fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

It was great to get out and see how people live in the Dominican Republic!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

It was great to get out and see the actual Dominican! Very informative!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

This was a lot of fun, safe and very informative. Well done and very enjoyable. Probably your only chance as a tourist to see the real Dominican Republic.

Jozef S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Quite interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was nice to be able to book this before we left for the trip instead of having to settle for what the hotel offered.

Ken J
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A very relaxing day. Our tour guide did a splendid job of informing us of the culture, people and types of crops, etc. I would recommend this tour to anyone. We had no problems booking it or being pick up.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Great day out.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

It's a good day, but a long one. Our tour guide was great, very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The tour was awesome. It made the trip for us. Just make sure you have all the info with you, and have your hotel call to confirm a few days before. Our resort hadn't used Viator much, and at first the tour operator didn't accept our voucher. Luckily, the hotel staff called and worked it out, but we missed our tour and had to go the following day, which was OK because we had booked the trip several days before we had to leave, so we had some leeway. Otherwise, this was our favorite excursion by far!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a good guide and a nice trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This trip really gives you a true picture of the culture there. Everyone was very friendly

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

this was very good but it was a long day bring lots of water interesting on seeing how coffee , chocolate and cigars are made in the jungle

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was a decent trip but not a five star adventure. We started the trip with a stop at a souvenir stand, followed by a trip to a small village where we were encouraged to buy gifts for the school children. After we toured the school and heard the tale of the desperate poverty of the teacher (he makes about 3x what my GF makes in Russia as a teacher) we toured a marijuana/cocoa farm and heard the same tale of poverty as I watched a $20 bill change hands between the truck driver and the farmer (I saw that 4 times for each truck - $80 in one hour is not poverty). The authentic lunch was beans and rice with some overcooked chicken.
There was "horse back riding" but the horse was too tired to do anything but plod along and I felt sorry for them as I could see that they needed medical attention...
The high point was visiting the beach - it is nicer than the one I was paying to visit at the resort. White sand that felt like silk under my feet, almost no seaweed, and crystal blue water.
Johnny BeGood and Miguel were great. If I did another tour I would ask for them. Maybe they do ziplining? ;)

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message