• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a good guide and a nice trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

this was very good but it was a long day bring lots of water interesting on seeing how coffee , chocolate and cigars are made in the jungle

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was a decent trip but not a five star adventure. We started the trip with a stop at a souvenir stand, followed by a trip to a small village where we were encouraged to buy gifts for the school children. After we toured the school and heard the tale of the desperate poverty of the teacher (he makes about 3x what my GF makes in Russia as a teacher) we toured a marijuana/cocoa farm and heard the same tale of poverty as I watched a $20 bill change hands between the truck driver and the farmer (I saw that 4 times for each truck - $80 in one hour is not poverty). The authentic lunch was beans and rice with some overcooked chicken.
There was "horse back riding" but the horse was too tired to do anything but plod along and I felt sorry for them as I could see that they needed medical attention...
The high point was visiting the beach - it is nicer than the one I was paying to visit at the resort. White sand that felt like silk under my feet, almost no seaweed, and crystal blue water.
Johnny BeGood and Miguel were great. If I did another tour I would ask for them. Maybe they do ziplining? ;)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

.
I really don't know why this tour is so highly rated on Viator, we went on three other excursions – this was the worst one.
Our trip was rescheduled (seems to be common) to a day earlier on 03/22/2012 and it was the coldest rainiest day of our week-long trip. Cold dripping water from the ceiling made the truck ride extremely uncomfortable – we got soaked. Because it was raining 1) we could not cross the river, and 2) the school was closed and when we went to another school, it also had closed early. Our tour guide said he gave the supplies we brought to the Principal – I just hope the kids got them. The lunch was also mediocre.
The one nice part of the excursion is driving through the working class area of Sosua. It's really neat to see and the children wave as you drive by. The house/farm we visited in Sosua was also interesting.
This trip would be okay if the weather is decent, but I believe Management should have given us the opportunity to reschedule or get a refund especially because we did not get a chance to go on parts of the tour that were advertised. Management said they would only cancel the trip for a HURRICANE WARNING. Really??
Even at a discounted price, this trip is certainly not worth US$78 + tax. If you're in Puerto Plata, I recommend you save your money for any of the three excursions mentioned above or maybe even a trip to Sosua.
Overall: Don't take a chance - if the weather is bad (don’t forget they may reschedule your trip to any day) this excursion is horrible.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

very good

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

Long day and really didn't learn much about the country. Tour guide gave little information as we traveled. Truck very loud making it difficlt to hear. Visit to see "the wizard" was obviously staged. Felt the cock fight was inapproriate. Not worth the time and money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

Although we had a lot of fun, the excursion was handled in a very unprofessional way. We did not do half the things described on the website when we signed up. The "tour guide" was sort of silly in an uncomfortable way. He must have made reference to "Poo poo and Pee pee" a half dozen times. Also seemed to enjoy farting noises. Really? For $90 apiece? It was because of the people I was with that we had fun.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

honestly it was disappointing. To begin with, they pick you up in an unmarked van and the driver doesn't have paperwork with our names on it (this is dangerous for 2 ladies in a foreign country), although its called Safari, there are no animals whatsoever. There were stops made that I would have preferred not doing if I would have been told in advance such as visiting a Voodoo house (referred to as white magic), touring a home in the mountains (while the woman of the house looked disturbed) does not give you an idea of how the average Dominican lives. I think the tour needs more excitement and adventure.

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message