Insider's Guide to Punta Cana

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 37 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:5 hours (approx.)

Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Read what other travelers think about the Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Lots of fun, a truly unique experience! Everything was wonderful, everyone so friendly. My one bit of advice: best to bring your own snorkeling gear.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Despite some showers good trip, swimming with the sharks and rays was fun. I would have been satisfied if that was it, the additional "party-cruise" was not needed for me.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

this was a very good experience. we were able to snorkel in the open ocean (but very safe) and also went into the pens where the sharks and rays are kept. it was pretty cool to see them swimming below you. The crew on the boat were fabulous. kept you entertained and well informed of the rules.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The experience was a good one, but based on the pictures it seemed that we would be put on the dock and then go in the tank. One of the girls with us is not a good swimmer, so being let off the boat just using a rope to get to the tanks were not the best or expected.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Like the tour but you did not mentioned how long your in the water. Why do they asked how well you can swim. The guy did not sure if I can swim with the strong swimmer. They did not tell me what there difference was. You did not follow through with the reservations and I told the guy on the phone that I can not use my cell phone. Lucky lots of people went and I had to asked the guy if this is the tour. He said it is and We are not on the list. Then had to call and confirm the trip. I am disappointed in your service due to lack follow up. I only book two difference trips and neither one you follow through.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Excursion was as advertised. Staff seemed to turn on smiles during the group interaction periods and then turn them off when it came time for individual interaction. Overall, we enjoyed our excursion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

it was a great time - except at the end where there was a huge cost for the photos. This was disappointing since the activities, stops and experience with the sharks and Rays were alot of fun.

Not sure that I would recommend this trip for everyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The overall excitement of finally being able to get into the water to swim with the sharks and rays was quickly taken away as we felt like we were cattle being herded through the enclosures. I would have loved it a lot more if we were able to take our time and really explore on our own.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Not worth the money, people were great but we went on a day when the ocean was a little choppy and were rushed in and out, aside from holding the sting ray for 10 seconds so they could take an over priced photo we were unable to see anything. Totally bummed out, save your money!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour is nothing like you would expect. If you are going to hang out on a boat for most of the day and drink alot then this is for you, but i personally went to see stingrays and sharks and that just did not happen. We stayed and the wyndam and it was nice to have hotel pick up because it was an hour drive to the boat dock area for this excursion so that is the only plus about this excursion. Once we got to the boat it was about 30 minutes to get to the marinarium. We docked the boat out in the middle of the ocean and you had jump out and swim about 500 feet over into the enclosure where the stingrays and sharks are. The waters were super super rough so if you are not a strong swimmer this isnt for you. When we booked this i anticipated we would see multiple stingrays and actually swim with them/touch them as well as see the sharks. Unfortunately the water was so cloudy we couldnt see a thing below us, and as far as the sting rays go, all they do is the guide picks up a stingray and makes the group get in a line and one by one we got to stand with the stingray for .5 seconds and take a photo that you cannot take yourself you must let them take the photo so you have to purchase there single 4x5 print for 15 after it is your turn for the photo you are done...there is nothing else, thats it. No more stingrays, nothing, you go back to the boat and spend the next 2-3 hours on the boat watching the crew dance to songs and try to get everyone super drunk so they can get a better tip. It was the biggest waste of money and i have done a swim with dolphin excursion before that was exceptional. So do not waste your money on this unless , like i said, you want to spend most of your day on a boat with strangers drinking and dancing. Would def not recommend if you actually are wanting to see and experience the sting rays and nurse sharks.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Place was great. Getting there was a procedural nightmare. We confirmed pickup 48 hours ahead, they never picked us up. We got there on another bus and they could not find our reservation. Finally we got it worked out. Trip was wonderful. The rest was not.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

we did not even see the shark during this event!!!

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 98.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2476PUJ_9


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message