• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

had a great tour of the farm country. It rained off an on, but it made the tour that much more fun

Would like to see the pictures our guide took

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Had a great time seeing the real Dominican Republic. We scheduled this adventure with the intentions of high flying crazy fun, but come away with a understanding of the true area away from the cities and resorts. We followed many suggestion to bring candy for the kids, you cant bring enough candy!!! Seeing the excitement you get sharing something that simple was awesome! Ladies, this isn't the high flying dune buggy adventure you think it is, so don't miss joining him on the adventure. I would recommend this so you get an appreciation for the simpler things in your current life!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We had the best time. This was one of the top 2 highlights of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful trip ! Knowledgeable and professional staff. Buggies were a blast to drive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a great time . The staff are very friendly . This a great way to see the country outside of the resort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Tons of fun! best excursion in Punta Cana! If you like to get really muddy this is the excursion for you!!! Thanks to our guide Charlie, We had a GREAT time!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Charlie and anni run an amazing adventure we learned so much about the culture and the people this was one of the highlights of our vacation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Definitely should be called extreme mudding. Our family had a blast on the trip. Our dune buggy became water logged about half way and we had to tie on the guides buggy however we still felt like we were driving because we were crusing along pretty good hitting those mud holes. The tour guide brought, to our hotel, the next day, a free cd of all the pictures he had taken. They went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. Seeing the lifestyle of how the Dominican people live is very interesting and this excursion was a great way to site see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Purchased this adventure as a wedding gift for my niece and her husband. They were absolutely thrilled and pleased with their adventure! They had a great time and were so pleased and happy with this gift - said it was awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

As others have said, absolutely fabulous, some of the most fun we've ever had, worth well worth the price and the highlight of our vacation! Forget Great Adventure, Disney World and any other 2-minute amusement park rides, this is the real deal, down and dirty fun! Charly made the trip more than just a ride with his insightful commentary on the local culture with stops at local farms and villages you'd never get to see any other way. You will get covered with mud and some occasional, shall we say "dung', from the country roads shared by the farmers, where else can you get that! Be prepared, bring old clothes, a bandanna and a baggie to put your valuables in, they will get wet. Some driving gloves would also appropriate. Be sure to buy the picture CD, over 200 great shots provided, made new for each trip. And be sure to bring some candy for the friendly local children you'll meet. We plan to do this again on our next visit to the DR. Do not hesitate to book this adventure. The Taylors, New Jersey, USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was BY FAR the best excursion we've ever taken! If you want to see AUTHENTIC Dominican Republic scenery, book this excursion and get away from the resort for a few hours... You will be so glad you did!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

It was wonderful. Very informative and LOTS of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Great tour... be prepared to get dirty !! That's what we wanted and our guide delivered....Good information about the local economy and lifestyle,.. We would recommend this to anyone who has a sense of adventure and isn't too prissy about getting dirty !!
Would definitely go on this again....
Barb and Mike - Barrie, Ontario, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This tour is a fantastic way to see the real countryside of the Dominican Republic. These buggies are vastly superior to the tiny things the other tour operators have. If you actually want to drive and have a real engine with real power then this is the tour for you!

The half day tour we booked took us through many areas of the country that would otherwise be inaccessible to "normal" vehicles. We got away from all the tourist stuff and got to see how people really live in this beautiful country. We drove through farm country, saw plenty of locals and got to see what day to day life would be.

Definitely prepare to get dirty - there was a heavy rain the night before our trip, leaving the roads extremely muddy. When you book they tell you to bring a towel and to wear a bathing suit under your clothing - they're not kidding. Definitely bring your least favorite shoes too! The operators will provide you with goggles and waterproof coats, but we were silly and declined the coats at first. Remember, no fenders means lots of splashing!

Towards the end of the tour we stopped at one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen and took a dip in the ocean to clean ourselves off. Definitely a great idea - that way when we got to the end of the tour we were somewhat de-mudded.

If (when?) I'm back in the Dominican Republic I'll definitely be booking another trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was an amazing adventure through the beautiful countryside of Punta Cana! Our tour guide, Charlie, was an expert on the culture of the country and had a wonderful sense of humor. Be prepared to get muddy, which is the best part about this excursion.

From USD $ 85.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5215HALF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message