4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip off the main roads and into the heart of DR. Was nice to escape the Hotels and experience what DR is really like and nothing beats doing it in a dune-buggy. Staff was courteous and professional. Would recommend it to others but be advised that you need to know how to operate a standard transmission and comfortable driving on highways. Thanks Charlie and Angela!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

you need to know how to drive stick shift with the clutch and all

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great experience and beautiful views and stops. The beach stop was the highlight which was prettier swimming than even our resort beach. Only my husband could drive since this is very raw manual driving through hills, country and city (lots of driving!) Very bumpy but lots of fun for our whole family! Great seeing the non touristy version of DR with happy kids (who like candy) along the way and a stop for a snack at the colmado. We would have liked more bottled (cold) water since it was only offered once (and warm). Paid $20 for the picture cd of everyone but have not viewed yet.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We had a very good time! It was interesting to see how the Dominican people live - enjoyed going to their houses and having Dominican coffee! The only downside was that they need to recommend that you bring some kind of hankerchief to cover your face because it is VERY dusty.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was very neat. We drove through the local country side. We stopped at a local cafe, and were able to see what life was like outside of the resort. Be sure to wear tennis shoes, they won't let you drive in flip flops or sandals. Also make sure to wear clothes you don't care about. The guide was cool most of the time, but towards the end he got very frustrated with us because we weren't driving fast enough behind him through town...but keep in mind that the roads and the driving is nothing like the states, its crazy. Other than that, it was a neat tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great fun, very personalized ride small group loved it would book this here instead of the resort.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Loved this! It was a great way to see the country outside of our resort. Our guide was very informative. Yes it was hot and dirty, but we expected this. We had our 11 year old boys with us and they loved it. Would highly recommend this excursion!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

It was lots of fun and great to get out and see the countryside while doing your own driving. The operators are great. Everything went as planned and we learned things about the D.R. at our stops too. I recommend it. Nice to get off the resort for a while!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Lots of fun while on the buggy - the tour was a little hokey!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was great - more than 4 hours. Good guide, fun times; however, I felt it was a little too long. I would recommend it regardless. Be prepared to get VERY dirty. Off road driving, city driving and a beach finale! REALLY good!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Crazy fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I had a fabulous time, and our guide Charlie was very informative about the area. I learned much and am pleased that I did the excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

very fun AAA rating

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

My husband and I took the 1/2 Day Dune Buggy Adventure on April 13, 2012. Charlie, our guide was a lot of fun and very informative about the life and customs of the locals living in the Dominican Republic. It was interesting to see how people, outside the resorts, actually live and make a living. The tour was fun and since it had rained in the days before, we got really dirty but it was something we expected and the dirtier we got, the more we laughed. Being four wheeler riders at home, we were smart enough to bring bandannas for our faces which not only kept out the dust, it kept our faces somewhat clean as we were covered in at least 3 different kinds of mud. We would suggest wearing something you can throw out as the stains did not come out of some of our clothing. No big deal, they are only clothes. The people in the resort found us quite amusing. Anyway, our trip in the dunebuggies was amazing, we saw a lot of the country you wouldn't ever see sitting at your resort. It is extremely beautiful. It is a good idea to bring candies for the children as the wait and know you are coming. Thank you again Charlie for an amazing, eyeopening experience. We will do it again on our next trip to Punta Cana. We highly recommend this excursion.

Jim and Joanne Presgrave, Sault Ste. Marie, ON

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

We had a great time on our Dune Buggy Adventure! It was the highlight of our trip. Our guide Charlie was very informative of the culture, and area. We really got to see it all, and had a ton of fun getting there! You will get muddy....really muddy, but that was part of the fun! After seeing the other Dune Buggy excursions this was definitely the best! He took over 200 pictures as well of our day that we were able to get on a CD after the trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Good excursion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour guide was incredibly mean towards us as my husband was needing some time to get used to the stick shift. He finally had it figured out and the guy still yelled at him as well as my for trying to help him. I give a 3 because we saw some pretty cool things along ride. Bad attitude.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our guide was nice but intimidating. He let us know the cost of every part of the dune buggy if we broke it. This stressed us out a little. Visit to the village and off roaring was great. Be warned you will take the buggy on a major highway. This was scary since there are trucks and buses. We had our 11 year old son with us and I was a little nervous being on a major road with him in a dune buggy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I had a good time. It wasn't quite what the description said it would be. We never rode on the beach, rather beside the beach and walked up and over a dune to see the beach so don't go thinking you will ride on the beach and even that you will be there for long! But definitely I would do it again!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I probably would have given it a 4 if not for the owner, Charlie. He certainly could do with learning some manners in how he talks to people. He was rude and agressive Yelling at people in front of everybody because they make mistakes. I felt bad for that people The tour guide was really nice. It was a confusion because we were upgraded it to another hotel. We called the night before and let them know. The day of the tour we waited 30 minutes in the lobby , we called them and the lady that answer the phone also was very rude saying that she forgot the hotel chance and we lost the tour .She hang up the phone on me. We had to called back and then she sent the driver to pick us up. As tourist we did not expect to be treated like that. I would do another buggy trip again because it is fun but certainly not with this guy - ever.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

good time was had by all

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Charlie did a nice job of showing us the country side, but there was one downfall that put a damper on our trip. He stopped twice to yell at one of the people in our party because he thought he didn't know how to drive a stick. The person in our party knew how to drive and explained to Charlie that there was a mechanical issue with the dune buggy. After yelling twice, Charlies assistant drove the vehicle and discovered there was a problem with their dune buggy. If that had not happened, we would have enjoyed the trip. But because it happened, the person in my party really was disappointed in the excursion (and he was looking forward to it the most) and that made the others on the trip feel bad. Charlie also yelled at another group that was with us. They were not happy either. Charlie needs to make sure he maintains his machines and doesn't yell at the people paying for this excursion!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The buggy trip itself was ok, not amazing but a good laugh that we all enjoyed. I probably would have given it a 4 if not for the trip leader. He certainly could do with learning some manners in how he talks to people. Another member of the tour said he was sharp with him at the start because he happened to choose the wrong pedal (whilst stationary, engine off and being shown the ropes!!) - I heard this myself also. Later I went the wrong way ONE TIME (didn't stay in his tracks) and he was very rude when we stopped. I said to him "yeah yeah ok"; by that meaning yes i understood, to which he replied by holding up his arms and saying "yeah yeah what - yeah yeah nothing". I would do another buggy trip again because it is fun but certainly not with this guy - ever.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Let me start off by saying, I currently drive a stick shift car everyday and have been driving stick for the last 8 years. The buggies are stick shift too, but they are not in any way identical to what is in my car. There's no speedometer or gauge to tell you your RPMs. You have to drive the buggy off of sound and feeling alone.

My dissatisfaction comes from the short and snippy attitude that I received from the owner and tour guide. My party received literally 3 minutes of instruction for driving the buggy. The instructions from the tour guide, which were already hard to understand through his thick accent, consisted of him telling us to "find and listen for the sweet spot" as we stood outside the buggy.

Due to the crappy 3 minute lesson we received, I had trouble getting adjusted to driving the buggy. The owner began condescendingly lecturing and screaming at me because my buggy stalled out twice. He repeatedly screamed at me "I THOUGHT YOU COULD DRIVE A STICK SHIFT, WHAT ARE YOU DOING!?!"

How can you operate a business like this? Yes, I was having trouble operating the buggy, but you gave terrible instruction and had zero patience with me which only frazzled me further (A paying customer for an excursion that isn't cheap, and that has TONS of local competition).

After 15 minutes of driving the buggy I was fine for the rest of the day. There is definitely a learning curve as you drive it and get used to it. Just beware that if you don't drive the buggy to perfection within 60 seconds, the owner and tour guide will scold and belittle you like a child. 5 minutes of patience and understanding would have gone a long way, and stopped me from being anxious and frazzled.

When I tried to tell the female owner at the end about my concerns, she too was nonchalant and dismissive, and told me "Really, I've never had any trouble driving the buggy"........Gee, thanks.

The rest of the excursion was great, but the harsh introduction put a damper on my mood.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I did not anticipate the amount of driving that I had to do. Shared the buggy with another couple, neither girls drove stick, so the men shared the driving. the places that we stopped gave us a flavor of the living conditions outside of the resorts!!!Being retired this trip was not for us....more for the younger generation.

From USD $ 85.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5215HALF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message