4.5 star rating: Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was BY FAR the best excursion we've ever taken! If you want to see AUTHENTIC Dominican Republic scenery, book this excursion and get away from the resort for a few hours... You will be so glad you did!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

It was wonderful. Very informative and LOTS of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Great tour... be prepared to get dirty !! That's what we wanted and our guide delivered....Good information about the local economy and lifestyle,.. We would recommend this to anyone who has a sense of adventure and isn't too prissy about getting dirty !!
Would definitely go on this again....
Barb and Mike - Barrie, Ontario, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This tour is a fantastic way to see the real countryside of the Dominican Republic. These buggies are vastly superior to the tiny things the other tour operators have. If you actually want to drive and have a real engine with real power then this is the tour for you!

The half day tour we booked took us through many areas of the country that would otherwise be inaccessible to "normal" vehicles. We got away from all the tourist stuff and got to see how people really live in this beautiful country. We drove through farm country, saw plenty of locals and got to see what day to day life would be.

Definitely prepare to get dirty - there was a heavy rain the night before our trip, leaving the roads extremely muddy. When you book they tell you to bring a towel and to wear a bathing suit under your clothing - they're not kidding. Definitely bring your least favorite shoes too! The operators will provide you with goggles and waterproof coats, but we were silly and declined the coats at first. Remember, no fenders means lots of splashing!

Towards the end of the tour we stopped at one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen and took a dip in the ocean to clean ourselves off. Definitely a great idea - that way when we got to the end of the tour we were somewhat de-mudded.

If (when?) I'm back in the Dominican Republic I'll definitely be booking another trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This was an amazing adventure through the beautiful countryside of Punta Cana! Our tour guide, Charlie, was an expert on the culture of the country and had a wonderful sense of humor. Be prepared to get muddy, which is the best part about this excursion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Fun drive through a lot of places not always visited by tourists. Best part was no one forced us into shopping destinations!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was the best part of our vacation. An extraordinary look at the country side and real life views. The leader was great at directions and narration of the country. Take this trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

It was soo much FUN! Charlie, our guide, was awesome!! Part of the fun was getting dirty. Good thing we wore something that we didn't mind tossing after. We saw the nice countryside of Dominican Republic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Best. Excursion. Ever. If you don't like getting dirty or having fun... don't go. Bring some candy for the kids in the DR. Thanks to Charlie for the great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was a ton of fun. These dune buggies have a VW engine and a 5 speed manual so they are fast and fun compared to other places 4 wheeler style dune buggies.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We did three excursions while in Punta Cana and this was by far the best!! Charlie is an excellent guide and the staff was wonderful. We got to see and experience a side of the Dominican culture that the other buggy tours just don't offer their clients. You will get very dirty and muddy but the experience is well worth it! I highly recommend this experience and you will not be disappointed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Amazing fun!! Petra and Charlie were great!! As other reviews mention, be prepared to be FILTHY haha, but it's all so worth it, a real eye-opening adventure!! Loved it!! Thanks guys.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Charlie is just wonderful!! I got to join him in a dune buggy for two since our group doesn't drive stick, oops, and it was such an interesting and fun ride!! Be prepared to get dirty!! This was the best way to see the real country and how the Dominicans live. I highly recommend this trip to all visitors!! thanks again, Charlie!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a excellent trip!! The guide did an amazing job. I have told everyone about it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a wonderful trip. You really got to see the Dominican Republic culture and have a good time. Thanks Charly for such a great trip that I will always remember and I will refer my clients to you!

From USD $ 85.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5215HALF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message