Insider's Guide to Punta Cana

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 153 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gerarda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

this was a great experience, we were able to see how the real natives live and the guide was very knowledgeable--- although not all that female friendly for driver

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

This is the best excursion ever. Seeing the Punta Cana countryside, the culture, and people was amazing. There were four of us in the buggy and we all thoroughly enjoyed the ride. Making stops at different places along the way was so interesting. We would recommend this excursion to one and all. As long as you are able to drive a stick shift, you are on your way to one great adventure. Just make sure you take your bandana to cover your nose to avoid the dust.

Rhonda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Fun, exciting, beautiful! The best experience of our trip to Punta Cana. A great way to see a part of the country outside of the resorts. Great fun-loving guide.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Amazing experience. They don't really advertise it as extreme but it is quite an adventure. You have to be comfortable driving 90km/hr in these buggies. You will be driving through punta cana roads and traffic laws are very different! Awesome experience and you really see the country, be comfortable with animals, potential rainstorms, and getting really dusty and dirty... Awesome experience you will remember.

Malcolm M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Absolutely brilliant. Fantastic trip very well run and informative, We laughed and had fun the whole trip. Great to be taken off the beaten track and see the Dom. Rep. as it is and how the locals live. Recommend it to anyone

Brenda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Had a great time on our half day dune buggy adventure. There were 3 of us, 50 yr old Mom, 24 yr old son and 21 yr old daughter. My son and daughter split the driving. You need to know how to drive a 4 speed, but the shift very easily. Do not wear good clothes, and be prepared to get dirty and possibly wet. Need to wear googles or good sunglasses due to wind, bugs, etc,. We took a large bag of hard candy for the little children in the small villages, and they loved it. Good way to see the real Dominican Republic, and how the people really live. Would recommend it ! was fun and interesting.

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Being picked up in a dune buggy at the hotel was the start to an awesome day. The best half day adventure ever. I now wish we would have done the whole day. Charlie and Angie are the best. Thank You..Thank You!!!

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Absolutely amazing! Pure, dirty fun!! This was the best excursion of our honeymoon. Be ready to get dirty, but it's well worth it.

David F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Had a great time, the people that run the buggies are very nice and very helpful. The trip was great to see how the people live in the country and driving the buggy was great. You really get to see a lot and go places that you would never get to go on your own. They take lots of pictures of the trip and everyone on the buggies. They do charge for the pictures but it is worth ever penny cause if you use your camra you will be sure to break it. This is a must do when in Punta Cuna.

Moussa B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Great exprience and I would doit again!!! Very nice people...

Dennis S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

HAD A GREAT TOUR , AND OUR GUIDE WAS FANTASTIC, HE HAD VAST AMOUNT OF INFORMATION, ABOUT THE PEOPLE , AREA, LIFE STYLE WOULD RECOMEND THIS COMPNAY , 4 1/2 STARS, ONLY BECAUSE I DIDNT WANT IT TO END A TERRIFIC DAY...

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fun ride into the countryside and rural areas. Plenty of opportunity to drive. You will get dirty (not just mud--think airways, ears, eyes, and dust). Owner will lecture you about not breaking things. And seats and vehicle are Spartan...it's a dune buggy! Great way to see more of the country

Teig

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Not a dune buggy. No sand involved. This is a follow the leader tour. No vender or sales pitch except if DVD pictures are wanted. Beach vendors were absent as Easter weekend . Usually they would be around. Had fun but not exactly what we expected.

teri m

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip off the main roads and into the heart of DR. Was nice to escape the Hotels and experience what DR is really like and nothing beats doing it in a dune-buggy. Staff was courteous and professional. Would recommend it to others but be advised that you need to know how to operate a standard transmission and comfortable driving on highways. Thanks Charlie and Angela!

Myriam W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

you need to know how to drive stick shift with the clutch and all

Sheila R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great experience and beautiful views and stops. The beach stop was the highlight which was prettier swimming than even our resort beach. Only my husband could drive since this is very raw manual driving through hills, country and city (lots of driving!) Very bumpy but lots of fun for our whole family! Great seeing the non touristy version of DR with happy kids (who like candy) along the way and a stop for a snack at the colmado. We would have liked more bottled (cold) water since it was only offered once (and warm). Paid $20 for the picture cd of everyone but have not viewed yet.

Jim A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We had a very good time! It was interesting to see how the Dominican people live - enjoyed going to their houses and having Dominican coffee! The only downside was that they need to recommend that you bring some kind of hankerchief to cover your face because it is VERY dusty.

Teressa V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was very neat. We drove through the local country side. We stopped at a local cafe, and were able to see what life was like outside of the resort. Be sure to wear tennis shoes, they won't let you drive in flip flops or sandals. Also make sure to wear clothes you don't care about. The guide was cool most of the time, but towards the end he got very frustrated with us because we weren't driving fast enough behind him through town...but keep in mind that the roads and the driving is nothing like the states, its crazy. Other than that, it was a neat tour.

Jamie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great fun, very personalized ride small group loved it would book this here instead of the resort.

Steven A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Loved this! It was a great way to see the country outside of our resort. Our guide was very informative. Yes it was hot and dirty, but we expected this. We had our 11 year old boys with us and they loved it. Would highly recommend this excursion!

Deborah O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

It was lots of fun and great to get out and see the countryside while doing your own driving. The operators are great. Everything went as planned and we learned things about the D.R. at our stops too. I recommend it. Nice to get off the resort for a while!

Arron B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Lots of fun while on the buggy - the tour was a little hokey!

Dawn C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was great - more than 4 hours. Good guide, fun times; however, I felt it was a little too long. I would recommend it regardless. Be prepared to get VERY dirty. Off road driving, city driving and a beach finale! REALLY good!

Susan E L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Crazy fun.

Jodi J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I had a fabulous time, and our guide Charlie was very informative about the area. I learned much and am pleased that I did the excursion.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 88.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5215HALF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message