4 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • Duration:  90 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Quebec City Historic Discoverers Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

great guide, good value

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A little shorter, and not as much history as I was hoping for. However I still feel the tour was completely worth it, and gave a view of Quebec that you wouldn't normally get. Having the option of staying inside and still hearing the tour guide was great as it was a little cold and rainy the day we went.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour was great - really interesting. Organisation from point of view of tickets/boarding the boat was utterly dreadful. What is the point of pre-booking and getting your voucher if then you just have to queue up behind all the people who haven't pre-booked. There was only one person in the kiosk and all of us nearly missed our boat, despite arriving 45 minutes before the tour and having booked a long time ahead. Very very disappointing. We were only rescued, in the end, by the tour leader from the boat coming and seeing what on earth was going on in the queue. We enjoyed it, but would think twice about doing another trip with the same operator.

Bev B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very relaxing and well worth the money. I bought a pair of neat sunglasses at the store on board. My only complaint would be that we had to sit under a speaker to hear the commentary.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour is excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very nice way to see the city shorefront. The costumed guide was very professional, knowledgable and entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was OK.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A very interesting view of the city from a different angle. Well done.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Although the weather wasn't too good the cruise was well worth the trip. The tour guide made it very interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great tour on Monday, Oct. 8th. We were luck to have nice weather for the time of year. Your guide/information fellow was great.

Allan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Enjoyed the cruise - trip was informative - quite relaxing as well - gave us a good idea of the area and places to visit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

very good. enjoyed the drivers commentry and curtecy to drop us at the cruise ship. tour was fantastic. hotel guests were tardy and lost half hour due to them.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was very easy to book our River Tour with Viator weeks ahead of time. However, if we had waited to book it at our hotel, we would have paid less, and also had free shuttle service to the pier.................................

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Beautiful sights from the water. It was a REALLY windy day, so we appreciated the closed in decks with tables and chairs. The captain even managed to get us to the Falls so we could shoot some pictures. The trip narrator was great--lots of fun with information as well. The only down side was that a group was late, so we sat and waited for them to arrive and it cut our tour by 15 minutes. Other than that, I definitely recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Really enjoyable - relaxing and informative - well worth the money

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Problems with coordination when we got there. I called to check in but the company didn't have any record of us. They told us to go to the pier and the office there validated our tickets. They said they often have problems with this cruise and Viator, in being able to know in advance that our tickets were valid. Also no one on Saturday or Sunday to take phone calls on the main number on the preprinted tickets.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

It was a beautiful day for a river cruise to the falls and it was great to see the city from the water....maybe just a bit long.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We enjoyed the cruise, we went farther than I expected which was nice. The only draw back I would mention is that it's a challenge for anyone with a handycap. Not impossible, I saw the crew carry a man in a wheel chair up the stairs. The steps were a challenge for one of our group but she did it! We are from the U.S. and are used to everything being totally handycap accesable. We addaped and enjoyed ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise aboard this ship with the description of what the buildings were and their purpose. A bit of history surrounding the scenic tour. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. The Staff was equally friendly.

Ray Y
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

It was pleasant and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Too long of a tour. The "fur trapper" on board talked too much.

Rolf Z
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

This was a nice cruise. Great views of the city from the river, and the host does a great narrative. Make sure to take the 90 minute cruise that gets you down to the falls.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

It was a nice tour. You can't beat a cruise of the St. Lawrence. The commentary from the cruise staff was very helpful as well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Unfortunately the day we cruised on the Louis Jolliet was the same day as 100's of school children also cruised so it was very crowded and noisy. We could not hear a lot of what the guide was saying and the day was not the best of days. We managed to enjoy ourselves in spite of the students. I would rate this 3 ***.
since we were also not aware that we could buy our lunch on the boat. We ate before hand in Old Quebec. I would recommend you include that information in your tour explanation. Toni VanOrman

PS I have photos but do not know how to upload them so unfortunately I can include them in this review.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It departed from a convenient location in the Old Port close to the ferry from Levis. The host was very knowledgeable about the history of Quebec City and surrounding areas. Downside - no protection from the elements on deck, an awning would have helped in such hot weather. Too hot to sit indoors.

From USD $ 34.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3571Q_GUIDED

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message