4.5 star rating: Recommended 31 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 31 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

It was great and my wife and friends loved every minute of it. Would tell any body to do this trip when in NZ.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

It was an absolutely beautiful experience. The area is just an outstanding example of the natural beauty. We had a misty typical fjord day which I think enhanced the wonder. It certainly multiplied the number of waterfalls that could be seen. Lake Manapouri is a tantalising entree with the coach trip to Deep Cove a welcome short change before the main course of the Sound itself. The return trip was equally beautiful with an interesting side trip to the Power Station. We arrived back at Manapouri sated by the beauty of the area: and I should add totally depleted camera batteries (including the spare). We had coached down from Queenstown and that scenery is just an appetizer for such a great day. The trip back was great too. Some years ago I had been to Milford Sound and really enjoyed it. If I was asked which trip to choose, I would pump for Doubtful Sound.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The trip from Queenstown to Doubtful Sound was wonderful, with drivers who provided thoughtful commentaries on the amazing landscapes and fellow passengers who shared his enthusiasm. Don't be put off by the length of this day trip, which included a surprising bus ride deep into the Manapouri power station and the unforgettable cruise of Doubtful Sound aboard a very comfortable ship.

Elizabeth E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organised, the scenery was fantastic and the cruise was delightful and informative. We all enjoyed it very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

breathtaking beauty

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Superb trip - exciting going on the trip - 2 boat journeys, 2 coach journeys were brilliant but, and we were prior aware, that the return journey being the same naturally and understandably lost the "newness" and hating the Americanism "W*W" factor saying was lost on the return journey - superb just the same but wouldn't repeat the trip - flying back might be an option but not sensible because gaining little returning from Te-Anau.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Bonne organisation du voyage. Beau fjord. Dommage que le soleil n'ait pas été au RDV. Chauffeurs-guides très bavards. Attention au moustiques au point d'embarquement sur le bateau ! Je trouve qu'il manquait un point d'orgue à cette croisière !

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A fantastic day filled with gorgeous views. Very similar to the Milford Sound tour, but both are worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful area. A must when in New Zealand

Karen Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good winery tour visiting 4 local wineries with a tasting plate for lunch at the first winery. Excellent value

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great trip. The guide was very good, gave us lots of information and answered our questions. The scenery was amazing, The day was perfect. The tea and coffee was much appreciated!

Sheree V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Beautiful! What more could you ask for, seals and flipping dolphins and don't forget the view. Beware though that this is a long day and like yourself there are many tourists on one big boat. Be quick to secure a good spot or you will be bombarded with pushy photo snapping tourists.

Kelly G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A wonderful trip from start to finish. The whole tour was well thought out and well paced. Doubtful Sound is breathtaking and a must see on any trip to NZ.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The portal seemed to be confused with daylight saving times. We booked the trip before changing the clock and the voucher clearly said 8:15, but we were woken up at 7:15 with the bus expecting us. Other than that, the trip was great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Unfortunately the day I went it was very misty and so couldn't see much of Doubtful Sound. It was a relatively expensive trip though and going on a big bus tour-party isn't for everyone

From USD $ 206.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ301

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message