4.5 star rating: Recommended 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

breathtaking beauty

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Superb trip - exciting going on the trip - 2 boat journeys, 2 coach journeys were brilliant but, and we were prior aware, that the return journey being the same naturally and understandably lost the "newness" and hating the Americanism "W*W" factor saying was lost on the return journey - superb just the same but wouldn't repeat the trip - flying back might be an option but not sensible because gaining little returning from Te-Anau.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Bonne organisation du voyage. Beau fjord. Dommage que le soleil n'ait pas été au RDV. Chauffeurs-guides très bavards. Attention au moustiques au point d'embarquement sur le bateau ! Je trouve qu'il manquait un point d'orgue à cette croisière !

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A fantastic day filled with gorgeous views. Very similar to the Milford Sound tour, but both are worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful area. A must when in New Zealand

Karen Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good winery tour visiting 4 local wineries with a tasting plate for lunch at the first winery. Excellent value

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great trip. The guide was very good, gave us lots of information and answered our questions. The scenery was amazing, The day was perfect. The tea and coffee was much appreciated!

Sheree V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Beautiful! What more could you ask for, seals and flipping dolphins and don't forget the view. Beware though that this is a long day and like yourself there are many tourists on one big boat. Be quick to secure a good spot or you will be bombarded with pushy photo snapping tourists.

Kelly G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A wonderful trip from start to finish. The whole tour was well thought out and well paced. Doubtful Sound is breathtaking and a must see on any trip to NZ.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Pleasant day although a long way from Queenstown. Better to do this trip from Te Anau.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Very good except for the looooooong time spent in bus and catamaran.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The portal seemed to be confused with daylight saving times. We booked the trip before changing the clock and the voucher clearly said 8:15, but we were woken up at 7:15 with the bus expecting us. Other than that, the trip was great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Unfortunately the day I went it was very misty and so couldn't see much of Doubtful Sound. It was a relatively expensive trip though and going on a big bus tour-party isn't for everyone

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

This trip is very long, 12 hours and only 3 hours is actually in the Doubtful Sound Area. The rest involves both Coach and Boat Cruise getting out to the area. The day we went in September it was cloudy and rainy. They said it often rains in the area and acted like is was more the norm than the exception. I would wait to book this trip until you are in Queenstown and know for sure the weather will be good.

From USD $ 169.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ301

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message