Viewing All 44 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Elizabeth E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organised, the scenery was fantastic and the cruise was delightful and informative. We all enjoyed it very much.

vako Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A long day. Lots of travelling is involved to get to Doubtful Sound which is quite isolated we needed to catch 2 buses and a boat ride to get to the place. The cruise itself was beautiful and the guide was very knowledgable and provided us with very interesting information about Doubtful Sound. Doubtful Sound is 10x bigger than Milford Sound and was more serene and untouched.

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The day was beautiful and great scenery and cruise on Doubtful Sound. Unfortunately, the scenery in Doubtful isnt as spectacular as Milford Sound. .,,so I was a bit disappointed after the Milford experience. However, it was still a great tour and worth every penny.

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The service by teh company and the trip were superb. The only warning is that there is a lot of coach travel (but I am told less than Milford). Threre again, better to get someone else to drive it, rather than me. I would recommend the company.

KATHY W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We chose to do this tour rather than Milford Sound because the long drive there was broken up with a boat ride and drive over Wilmot Pass. The drive over the mountain pass was very cool - you are driving right on the edge of the mountain and when you look out the window it is straight down, but beautiful! So it is a 2 hour bus drive from Queenstown to Lake Manapouri, hour boat ride to the Wilmot Pass road, hour bus ride over Wilmot Pass, and a 3 hour boat ride through Doubtful Sound. It is a long day and it is considered rain forest, so bring a rain coat. We had some sun and rain, lots of clouds. We saw a lot of waterfalls, a few penguins and several seals, but no dolphins that day.

Paul B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

breathtaking beauty

Kenneth H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Superb trip - exciting going on the trip - 2 boat journeys, 2 coach journeys were brilliant but, and we were prior aware, that the return journey being the same naturally and understandably lost the "newness" and hating the Americanism "W*W" factor saying was lost on the return journey - superb just the same but wouldn't repeat the trip - flying back might be an option but not sensible because gaining little returning from Te-Anau.

NATHALIE B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Bonne organisation du voyage. Beau fjord. Dommage que le soleil n'ait pas été au RDV. Chauffeurs-guides très bavards. Attention au moustiques au point d'embarquement sur le bateau ! Je trouve qu'il manquait un point d'orgue à cette croisière !

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A fantastic day filled with gorgeous views. Very similar to the Milford Sound tour, but both are worth doing.

Geri B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful area. A must when in New Zealand

Karen Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good winery tour visiting 4 local wineries with a tasting plate for lunch at the first winery. Excellent value

Anna G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great trip. The guide was very good, gave us lots of information and answered our questions. The scenery was amazing, The day was perfect. The tea and coffee was much appreciated!

Sheree V Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Beautiful! What more could you ask for, seals and flipping dolphins and don't forget the view. Beware though that this is a long day and like yourself there are many tourists on one big boat. Be quick to secure a good spot or you will be bombarded with pushy photo snapping tourists.

Kelly G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A wonderful trip from start to finish. The whole tour was well thought out and well paced. Doubtful Sound is breathtaking and a must see on any trip to NZ.

Lin

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Pleasant day although a long way from Queenstown. Better to do this trip from Te Anau.

Alberto K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Very good except for the looooooong time spent in bus and catamaran.

Wai Tik C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The portal seemed to be confused with daylight saving times. We booked the trip before changing the clock and the voucher clearly said 8:15, but we were woken up at 7:15 with the bus expecting us. Other than that, the trip was great!

RAJones

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Unfortunately the day I went it was very misty and so couldn't see much of Doubtful Sound. It was a relatively expensive trip though and going on a big bus tour-party isn't for everyone

James T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

This trip is very long, 12 hours and only 3 hours is actually in the Doubtful Sound Area. The rest involves both Coach and Boat Cruise getting out to the area. The day we went in September it was cloudy and rainy. They said it often rains in the area and acted like is was more the norm than the exception. I would wait to book this trip until you are in Queenstown and know for sure the weather will be good.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 179.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ301

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message