Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Furo A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

All I can say is WOW - My friend and I were visiting NZ south Islands for the first time and my breath was taken away more than once on our trip to Milford Sound. We were picked up promptly try and grab breakfast somewhere before you board from the beautiful Novotel Lakeside and off we went...it is an early start and a long journey so make sure you get plenty of rest the night before and are well hydrated. A mini bus took us to join the other bus tour and we were off. Leaving early on a beautiful day in October gave us perfect views and breathtaking scenery as we traveled towards Milford Sound. We stopped enough times to take photos and since we were a small bus we could change the schedule to beat the crowds! Our bus driver was superb and professional and the boat tour was just WOW! We saw waterfalls and seals and views everywhere like in a movie and the BBQ lunch was decent with coffee and tea included. Take your own water bottle for the trip though! Also take warm clothing for when you are on top of the boat as it gets very windy and cool and you get quite close to the waterfalls. We took all pictures on the way there of all the parks and treats along the scenic route and it rained on the way back but that's OK cause we slept most of the way back anyway - a long day but worth every penny!

Hayley B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very good day trip. Staff were awesome. Good NZ commentary. Had perfect weather in the morning and had fun watching movie on the way home. Thanks!

ANASTASIOS E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

We absolutely had a wonderful day that was really well organised - heaps of time to take photos and a great lunch!! I would definitely recommend this day trip with Viator!!

Brice M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Great informative and entertaining driver. The views and hikes were awesome. The buffet on the boat was also awesome.

Yoshiko T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

It was awesome!!! I loved it!!! It was a very long day, so I was very tired but I enjoyed!!! The guide and driver were very kind and friendly. I and my mum felt very welcome. It is a long way to go and come back, but it's worth the time!!!

Sean D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Was a great day out although a very long day. Guides were very informative of landmarks and general information of area. Barbeque excellent with a great spot to eat. Very good value for money.

GARBUTT R French Polynesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The tour was very friendly. The nature land so beautiful very different than Tahiti. And the BBQ a good idea, this tour will be recommended to our friends.

Joseph L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This bus tour is absolutely perfect for anyone wishing to visit Milford Sound. Our driver was so passionate about 'his' country. He got us to all the perfect spots to see the beautiful scenery around the shed loads of coaches. So informative and such a nice guy. If you've spent your life savings flying around the world, the last thing you would want is an Englishman posing as a Kiwi- which I did actually have! Although the main reason we booked this tour was due to the response from the Manager on tripadvisor.com, this shows how passionate they are! A truly brilliant day!! Thank you so much.

Beverley W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The people who ran this trip really made it a wonderful experience, they were very informative and lunch was great.

Diane L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

What a wonderful trip! We experienced much more than just Milford Sound!

Graeme W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour , very good way to see Milford Sound and Fiordland, especially if you have limited time.
Very informative , plenty of opportunities to take photos along the way ,lovely lunch (loved the well cooked sausages and lamb kebabs on the BBQ) and enjoyed the bush walk.
Would definitely recommend it.

Paul B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Brilliant views

Ray S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The bus was mid-sized so not as comfortable for the long day's ride. Having a BBQ picnic was really cool!! We stopped in a national park where the driver and his assistant cooked us a delicious lunch as we all sat around the "campsite" in comfortable chairs and ate our lunch. It was a pretty day, so that helped. The driver was very friendly and very knowledgeable. The ferry ride through Milford Sound was run by the national park and was beautiful. A great day overall. Unbelievable scenery all day long.

Marion L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was a marvellous day trip. We had a comfortable minibus and started out from Queenstown with gentle rain and a view of an overnight snowfall on all the mountains in the middle of summer. There was a refreshment stop in Te Anau and then onto Mirror Lakes with a bbq lunch at Knobs Flat. The sun shone and the water sparkled on the river with the colours of the Lupin flowers making a pretty landscape picture. Then came the really big adventure of travelling through the Homer tunnel and a cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea. The sunshine gave us many lovely photos with the waterfall spray as we came up close. We also spied the fur seals sleeping on the rocks ignoring the pesky tourists. The return journey was through beautiful rolling very green hills covered in sheep, of course and still the backdrop of snow covered mountains. Chris,the driver, was very pleasant and knowledgeable and made our outing most enjoyable. This trip was great value for money and I recommend it to others.

Martin E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Fabulous trip made all the better by the driver (Chris) who was patient, caring and filled all our needs for a most enjoyable trip. The scenery is breathe taking, with very informative information from Chris and we 'will go back one day'.

David P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

beautiful views, great staff. well planned trip. thanks so much for such an awesome and memorable day

glenda1

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip - but a long day. Nice to be with a smaller group and not on a large coach. Specatular scenery on the drive up and informative tour guide. The Milford Sound cruise was lovely and the buffet lunch was good.

Lorraine

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The lunch selection was great. The trip went smoothly and we really enjoyed the scenery.

Melinda M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Well organised, nice day out. The sound is very beautiful and the drive there was very nice too. I'm glad we got to experience it. I had thoughts of driving there from Queenstown but so glad I didn't. There is so much to see in New Zealand and if you are lucky to get a sunny day then Milford Sound would be a delight.

Ken E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The day started of raining and cloudy. Could not see any of the mountains. We stopped twice on the way to Milford Sound. The first was after a couple of hours in the bus which was appreciated. The bus seats were a little bit small for me. I recommend the pie place that Chris our guide pointed out. Had a venison pie for what served as my breakfast with a cup of coffee. It hit the spot. Our second stop, around noon, was at a lodge area so that we could eat lunch. The lunch was fine. We got to Milford Sound just at 2:00 and our boat was waiting for us. Like a miracle the sun came out and the clouds went away. The boat ride around the sound was beautiful. I actually almost enjoyed the four hour trip back to Queenstown as much because all of the mountains we couldn't see in the morning were there for the ride back. This country is absolutely beautiful. One is sort of beholden to the weather on this trip but if you what you get is good, you won't be disappointed.

Primrose M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

It was a long journey. There were stops to visit the mirror lake, the chasm, etc. The fjord cruise was breathtaking and memorable. The food in the buffet was oriental... a bit disappointed as I expected NZ food. Anyway, one dish was mussels! That was so good!

betty m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We loved the trip. The Sound was beautiful, the bus trip was interesting and the lunch was in a picturesque setting. Thanks

nzamora

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Nice trip. The bus isn't very clean, but the scenery is beautiful! Don't forget your Sand Fly repellent!!

Simmi K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was very entertaining. Jono and Moyomo were great and Jono was very knowlegdeable.it was a fun day. Thank you for a good experience.

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great trip overall and the BBQ is a great idea. landscapes are absolutely breathtaking even with an awful weather like the one we got. Driver seemed a bit rushed though.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 135.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3287_ZQN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message