Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

beautiful views, great staff. well planned trip. thanks so much for such an awesome and memorable day

glenda1

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip - but a long day. Nice to be with a smaller group and not on a large coach. Specatular scenery on the drive up and informative tour guide. The Milford Sound cruise was lovely and the buffet lunch was good.

Lorraine

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The lunch selection was great. The trip went smoothly and we really enjoyed the scenery.

Melinda M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Well organised, nice day out. The sound is very beautiful and the drive there was very nice too. I'm glad we got to experience it. I had thoughts of driving there from Queenstown but so glad I didn't. There is so much to see in New Zealand and if you are lucky to get a sunny day then Milford Sound would be a delight.

Ken E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The day started of raining and cloudy. Could not see any of the mountains. We stopped twice on the way to Milford Sound. The first was after a couple of hours in the bus which was appreciated. The bus seats were a little bit small for me. I recommend the pie place that Chris our guide pointed out. Had a venison pie for what served as my breakfast with a cup of coffee. It hit the spot. Our second stop, around noon, was at a lodge area so that we could eat lunch. The lunch was fine. We got to Milford Sound just at 2:00 and our boat was waiting for us. Like a miracle the sun came out and the clouds went away. The boat ride around the sound was beautiful. I actually almost enjoyed the four hour trip back to Queenstown as much because all of the mountains we couldn't see in the morning were there for the ride back. This country is absolutely beautiful. One is sort of beholden to the weather on this trip but if you what you get is good, you won't be disappointed.

Primrose M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

It was a long journey. There were stops to visit the mirror lake, the chasm, etc. The fjord cruise was breathtaking and memorable. The food in the buffet was oriental... a bit disappointed as I expected NZ food. Anyway, one dish was mussels! That was so good!

betty m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We loved the trip. The Sound was beautiful, the bus trip was interesting and the lunch was in a picturesque setting. Thanks

nzamora

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Nice trip. The bus isn't very clean, but the scenery is beautiful! Don't forget your Sand Fly repellent!!

Simmi K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was very entertaining. Jono and Moyomo were great and Jono was very knowlegdeable.it was a fun day. Thank you for a good experience.

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great trip overall and the BBQ is a great idea. landscapes are absolutely breathtaking even with an awful weather like the one we got. Driver seemed a bit rushed though.

Felicity H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Thank you very much for a very good trip. The water falls were spectacular and so were the walks in the forest. That said it was a shame that the weather was so wet which meant we did not see the tops of any of the mountains. Shame it's not possible to arrange the weather! The stop for the BBQ was fun and the food was very tasty.

Michele D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Trip was very pleasant and it is nice to be in a small group. Scenery is breathtaking, guides were very friendly and the barbeque lunch was a nice touch. Most enjoyable day. Highly recommend.

Edith C Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Nice trip and friendly tour guides. BBQ lunch is special. However, the trip is a bit long, especially long travel on the return.

DINH CUONG V Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Good tour, good service. Driver, also Tour host is very friendly and provides a lot of information all the long way of the tour. BBQ lunch provided is delicious. Strongly recommended this tour .

Chad T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Transport was good pickup was direct from my hotel. It's a long drive but was comfortable. The BBQ lunch was quite mediocre but the cruise and lush scenery was wonderful. The guides were extremely pleasant and knowledgable.

Merissa M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

A great trip, but I would have liked more time to do walking in Milford Sound rather than being in the back of a bus for the majority of the day.

Debbie J D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Unfortunately we didn't research this trip enough. The trip was 5 1/2 hours on a small
"bus". There wasn't enough leg room, so a very uncomfortable ride.
Half way to the sound we stopped for a bathroom break and we offered to trade seats with anyone who wanted to trade..We were lucky that someone volunteered and we had a bit more leg room in the back seat of the bus..still a long ride for such a small bus..
The BBQ food and refreshments were good, the company and staff were good, but I would recommend doing Millford sound in a much larger Bus..
We were lucky enough that a return flight was offered to anyone that wanted to fly back to Queenstown, both my hands went up immediately..I couldn't bear the thought of another 5 1/2 hours to return to Queenstown..It wasn't cheap to fly back to Queenstown, but well worth it just for the sights and scenery your would never see from the ground..Millford Sound is breath taking for it beauty..if you can afford it..fly, it is well worth the memories.

JROD

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

There weren't enough people signed up for our trip so we were combined with another company. The bus was very cramped (and full). We were running a bit late so not much time between arriving at the terminal and boarding the boat. The weather was gorgeous - and the view was spectacular (as always). Thankfully they offered us the opportunity to fly home instead of taking the boat, so that's what we did. It was interesting to see the mountains and lakes from the air for a different view.

Michael L

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Enjoyed the trip but was a little disappointed with the cruise.

Mark M Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Bus was expected to be much more comfortable than we had. Seats should have had more cushioning and should have been slightly wider. Bus should have had a much better supension, too rattly and too noisy, wheels needed to be larger. I expected bus trip to be more comfortable than driving, but that was not the case, not at all. If I go again, I'll be driving myself, and maybe I'll meet your BBQ bus somewhere. Having better suspension and better seats and maybe a slightly wider bus shouldn't add much to the cost and would make the trip times more comfortable and pleasant.

sumeet a

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

though new zealand is one of the best places to visit, milford was one of the most ordinary and the price that I paid was much higher than what I was getting locally in queenstown. Not a place worth visiting

Julie T Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

For us personally it was a day wasted, would have preferred to do more exciting stuff than being stuck in a bus.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 149.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3287_ZQN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message