Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Enjoyed the comfortable coach and excellent commentary from our guide. Lost our breath repeatedly with all the beautiful scenery!

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic! And such beauty! Even though this was a long day, it was so scenic and amazing I didn't mind the long drive at all. Our driver was very friendly and ensured we were informed of all the highlights along the way. Very happy I took this tour.

Mary - Canada

Alberto K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! Good combination of bus, catamaran and trecking.
Places visted are amazing!!

thornylain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Milford Sound is a must-see on the South Island. This tour is long (takes at least five hours to get to the Sound) but with stops on the way, the ride is beautiful and relaxing. The tour guide Brian was informative and had a great knowledge of the area - if only he didn't talk so much! :D The cruise itself is great, however, do not get the buffet lunch as we didn't think it was worth it. You are better off bringing your own, or buying a sandwich, crisps and a drink on the boat. Also, highly recommended to upgrade to a scenic flight back to Queenstown. This is organised by the tour guide on the way to Milford and worth every penny if only to shave 4 hours off the bus ride back. :)

kaysb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What an experience! Even with terrible, rainy weather this was so worth it. A sight to see, don't miss out!

deepak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth doing this trip. The river cruise was the highlight.
The bus driver needs peoples skills though.

Sheems

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome - don't bother with the lunch though. not good at all or worth the money. I should have brought some sandwiches along with me.

ANIL PAUL K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Superb!!

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus ride was long, but was quite interesting and included several stops along the way! Milford Sound is and was amazing, so well worth the trip. The boat trip was also fun and made for an enjoyable day. I did not take the buffet option and I am not sure if it was worth it to be honest. Personally, either buy a sandwich onboard or bring your own. I did not fly back to Queenstown, however the option was there... however I found the cost's were very high! I found out you can take a helicopter tour from Queens town and land on a glacier for just over $200 NZD compared with the $550 or so that was suggested. So best to do your home work ! All in all it was a good day out!

Karen K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

An incredible day providing breathtaking views of hills, sheep, mountains and rivers. The cruise on Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea added waterfalls, rainbows, awsome rock formations and seals. It was a day to remember and comes highly recommended.

Grayden H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great trip - albeit a long bus trip to get there. The driver was very knowledgeable. We brought our own lunch for the cruise, but the buffet smelt good (no idea if it was actually nice). You can buy snacks, drinks and tea/coffee on board.
If you suffer motion sickness, you'll need something for the bus trip - it's a good 3 hours of windy roads in each direction. Even with multiple stops, this can be hard going.
Apart from that, great day out!

Joseph J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A must see even on a cloudy day

Colin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It was raining on way which was good as when there were lots of waterfalls on the journey and also when we got to Milford Sound. There were lots of photo stops so a chance to stretch your legs very frequently. We came back by Helicopter and this was amazing. The Helicopter isn't cheap but it's an experience you'll never forget - it will also reduce the 4-5 hour drive to 45 minutes! The pilot took us up to 9,000 feet between the clouds and the mountains (which was a bit scary) and landed on one of the highest peaks where we had our photo taken beside the helicopter. The views coming back to Queenstown are fabulous.

Usman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Spectacular Landscapes.

Kathy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We reaLly loved the Milford sound trip. from the moment we were met by our bus driver we knew we were in for an interesting journey. He was very knowledgable and added lots of great photo opportunities to match the fab scenery.
The boat trip portion of the tour was spectacular.

SAMANTHA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a great trip.Beautiful scenery and plenty of stops for photos to break the trip up.Milford sound was amazing.Our guide(Brian) was fabulous.He was friendly and knowledgeable.Just fantastic.

Violet Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very long long bus ride, 4.5 hours per way.. the scenery was awesome though and probably worth it on they way there as they do a lot of photo stops at very nice places.. but the return journey was just a 4.5hr dash back to queenstown..
Would be better to do the tour from te anau which is only 2hr away.. or take the helicopter/plane ride back to queenstown but needs minimum numbers and quite expensive

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Milford Sound from Queenstown was a long one, but there were several stops along the way to see some beautiful sights. The boat ride on Milford Sound was stunning, and the weather cooperated with beautiful, blue skies. A highlight (of many we experienced) on our NZ holiday.

Sapetti Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excelent, from the begining to the end everything was well organized and perfect, with a lot of opportunities to take pictures.

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was a great trip. Well organised, pleasant and informative guide and the snack pack lunch really hit the spot! We were lucky with the weather and Sound was stunning.

francisco g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Amazing. One of the most beautiful places, I have seen. Perfect organization.

caroline f Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

An extremely beautiful and informative tour- Couldn’t have asked for more. Our driver Brian, knew a lot about everything from History to agriculture and farming and everything else in between. The coach is comfortable and the glass roof means you don’t miss a thing. The cruise portion of the tour did not disappoint either. We were told of the things we could possibly see – dolphin, penguins or seals – we saw it all! And even though it was winter, getting up close and personal with a water fall was very cold but also exciting!

Rachel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had an excellent guide I believe we called him Big D. He was very informative on the whole trip we would know what was coming and all about it. It might of been a 4 hour bus ride each way but it didn't seem like it as there is so much to see along the way. I would love to do it again. We were on 5 different trips while on our vacation and by far this was the best. Thanks from IOWA

Chad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The most beautiful place imaginable! We had to wait an extra day because the roads were closed to snow, but the waterfalls and miniature avalanches we saw were worth the wait

Theresa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was a long day but well worth it! Luxury coach ride was great with a very informative and friendly bus driver, plenty of stops along the way to take photos, Cruising on Milford Sound was unforgettable! Highly recommend the Buffet lunch on the boat cruise.

Viewing 2 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 163.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS76

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message