4.5 star rating: Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

It was breath taking. The staff was so considerate of everyone's ability to hike the trail etc. They were excellent. The guide took extra time to talk about the surrounding area and the information was interesting.

Geoffrey T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The views were fantastic. This is a must-do trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

WOW! Milford Sound in the winter was incredible. The forecast was for rain and snow on the drive out, but when we passed through the tunnel to Milford, it was blue skies and lots of sun, with a fresh cover of snow on the peaks and waterfalls at their maximum. It was perfect!

Wayne C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Three cheers for our bus driver. He made the trip very memorable with his local knowledge, sense of humour and fabulous skill in making every passenger feel welcome.

Veronica A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Loved it, was extremely beautiful and peaceful. The option to take the plane ride on the way back was awesome!

Kerry O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

The trip back was very long. It would be good to have a stop somewhere else.

Frances M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

One could easily run out of superlatives in trying to describe the beauty of this area. The driver-guide ensured that we had many opportunities for 'photo-shoots' en route to Milford Sound. The boat trip was most enjoyable and the included lunch was excellent. However, be aware that this is a very long bus trip. We spent between 8 and 9 hours on the bus, but it was worth it to experience this stunning part of the world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

This trip was incredible. The area has endless beauty and the captain of the boat navigated to areas that were strikingly beautiful. When animals were in sight, the captain would announce the sighting and navigate to the area so that we could get a good look. Incredible!! We only had 1 day there, but we're already planning a trip back.

Anna M
Bulgaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

This was the highlight of our trip to the South Island.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was beautiful! Cruise was that best part. The guide could have spoken a little less.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was excellent.. on a bright sunny day its awesome. We loved it

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our driver Brian was helpful, interesting and friendly. His 'spiel' was spoken quickly at times, I suspect tourists from non-English speaking countries would have had trouble understanding him.

The bus company (Intercity I think) refused our reasonable request to join the tour at Te Anau. We asked twice but they would not compromise. Interestingly we observed another couple join the tour at Te Anau so the company is inconsistent in their rules.

We enjoyed the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Trip was excellent. Perfect weather and commentary was great !

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

It was a miserable day for our trip which put a damper on it however in saying that the waterfalls that were running due to the rain were spectacular the boat trip was good informative and nice meal. The bus trip was very informative and recommend both

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice day out on the Sound. We had a few stops on the way there which included the Mirror Lakes and a chance to get some coffee and a quick bite at a gift shop. The actual boat ride along the Sound was not very long as compared to your days journey. However, it was enjoyable. We opted for a lunch box, which was ok. The people that chose the buffet appeared to have to eat right away and the buffet was only offered for a short period of time. That being said, I would suggest to pack a lunch and snack for the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour through spectacular sceneries and mountain ranges

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really a wonderful experience.we really enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved the trip. Brian the driver was very informative and told us lots of things about NZ. The boat trip was great and good buffet lunch. If you don't want to sit on a coach for hours then fly back.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very long bus ride, but I sat next to a cute girl and chatted the whole time so it wasn't too bad. I tried to take the helicopter ride back but not enough people wanted to go. Scenery is gorgeous and worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very efficient. Milford Sound is so beautiful. I had a great day but very long

Molly
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour is an excellent experience. It is a long day trip to the Sound and back but worth it. The tour guide we had was very professional and knowledgeable and made the three hour bus trip enjoyable. The boat trip was quite short but we saw lots of waterfalls, seals basking on rocks and gorgeous scenery. Lunch was average and not really worth it. Overall, a very good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

You can't go wrong with a road trip to Milford Sound, the scenery is just amazing, tour guide very friendly, helpful and knew what he was talking about. Only thing I had wished for was a few more stops to take photos as the scenery is just spectacular. I used Viator in Europe, always happy with them

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great trip and beautiful vistas, would be great to add to original verbiage that there is a 4-hour bus-ride to get there and then to get back.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A fantastic day filled with gorgeous views. Very similar to the Doubtful Sound tour, but both are worth doing. The tour guide Dion was wonderful. He made the experience so much more fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

really enjoyed the day, mu only critisism would be that taking photo on the boat was difficult as there are so many peope trying to do the same thing

From USD $ 151.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS76

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message