4.5 star rating: Recommended 106 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 106 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really a wonderful experience.we really enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved the trip. Brian the driver was very informative and told us lots of things about NZ. The boat trip was great and good buffet lunch. If you don't want to sit on a coach for hours then fly back.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very long bus ride, but I sat next to a cute girl and chatted the whole time so it wasn't too bad. I tried to take the helicopter ride back but not enough people wanted to go. Scenery is gorgeous and worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very efficient. Milford Sound is so beautiful. I had a great day but very long


4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The tour is an excellent experience. It is a long day trip to the Sound and back but worth it. The tour guide we had was very professional and knowledgeable and made the three hour bus trip enjoyable. The boat trip was quite short but we saw lots of waterfalls, seals basking on rocks and gorgeous scenery. Lunch was average and not really worth it. Overall, a very good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

You can't go wrong with a road trip to Milford Sound, the scenery is just amazing, tour guide very friendly, helpful and knew what he was talking about. Only thing I had wished for was a few more stops to take photos as the scenery is just spectacular. I used Viator in Europe, always happy with them

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great trip and beautiful vistas, would be great to add to original verbiage that there is a 4-hour bus-ride to get there and then to get back.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A fantastic day filled with gorgeous views. Very similar to the Doubtful Sound tour, but both are worth doing. The tour guide Dion was wonderful. He made the experience so much more fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

really enjoyed the day, mu only critisism would be that taking photo on the boat was difficult as there are so many peope trying to do the same thing

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Need to go to both Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound. Missing either would be regetful. It is beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

A terrific way to spend your birthday! Our guide, "The BIg D" was great fun and very knowledgable and the scenery was breathtaking.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Beautiful scenery all around...saw fur seals and a waterfall...it was an awesome day out too! Would highly recommend this day trip. I found the bus there and back comfy and enjoyable as well but you can take a helicopter or short flight back for additional funds.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

It was a long day, unfortunately rained on the day but still good:)
The driver was very nice and informative.
Loved it.

Steven K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

excellent tour. great place, great people. loved it! The Great Sights staff rock.

Mun Yew A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

informative, nice scenery

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

If you are in Queenstown, you must see Milford Sound. It is a spectacular sight. Even though it rained the day of our tour, if was worth it. It is a long day, but the bus ride is comfortable. I was a little disappointed with our guide, however, because we were constantly being rushed i.e. you have 10 minutes here, 15 minutes there, immediately after the boat ride be back on the bus. That is my only reason for not "highly recomending" this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

While the trip was long, the stops along the way in Fiordland and the trip to the Tasman Sea were well worth it. FYI - they stop in Te Anau for souvenirs and snacks to help tide you over during the long journey.

Kelly G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

A well paced trip and very well organised. Milford Sound and the scenery to the Sound were wonderful. Smaller than Doubtful Sound but still wonderful.

Linda G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

A long trip, but definitely worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Lovely day out. Brian was a really good driver, very informative but not constantly talking. He knew all the good photo spots. We had snow before we reached the tunnel, a great experience for those who hadn't seen snow falling before. The cruise wa good. It rained constantly but this just served to improve the waterfalls.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Unfortunatley we did not make it to Milford Sound as the road was closed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The comfort stops at Te Anau were not long enough. This was due to the huge queues waiting for food and beverages.
It appears all the tours seem to stop there at the same time! Staggering tour group timings would help.
Milford Sound itself was not as scenic as expected due to the bad weather and clouds covering the mountains.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Tour date 03/02/15 This tour was a long day but well worth it. The sights were truly amazing! It rained all day we even had snow but to be honest the waterfalls were beautiful! I was told that its better when it rains than when its sunny and they were right! Only let down for me was the food on the cruise as i never had any included i was willing to buy lunch when i got there unfortunately there was no choice so bring your own!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Unfortunately the day we ventured to Milford Sound wasn't very pleasant even being the middle of November. Nevertheless we had a good day, a very informative bus driver and the few stops along the way broke the trip up which was handy as you are looking at about a 5 hour bus trip each way.
Our cruise was nice and it was such a great experience to see Milford Sound.
My only criticism on the day was the meal on board our boat.. We noticed that there were a few large groups which they seemed to cater for cuisine wise. I found that there wasn't much food choice on our buffet and I didn't believe that the food was of the best standard considering the cost for the tour.
After a long bus trip and an early start we really needed a nice lunch to fill up on - unfortunately we found ourselves stocking up on food on the stop on the way back to Queenstown.
A good day to see the sound however a few things that need reworking to make this a fantastic experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The driver built up our expectations far too much

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 95.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS76


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message