4.5 star rating: Recommended 90 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Milford Sound Full-Day Tour from Queenstown. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 90 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Steven K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

excellent tour. great place, great people. loved it! The Great Sights staff rock.

Mun Yew A
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

informative, nice scenery

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

If you are in Queenstown, you must see Milford Sound. It is a spectacular sight. Even though it rained the day of our tour, if was worth it. It is a long day, but the bus ride is comfortable. I was a little disappointed with our guide, however, because we were constantly being rushed i.e. you have 10 minutes here, 15 minutes there, immediately after the boat ride be back on the bus. That is my only reason for not "highly recomending" this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

While the trip was long, the stops along the way in Fiordland and the trip to the Tasman Sea were well worth it. FYI - they stop in Te Anau for souvenirs and snacks to help tide you over during the long journey.

Kelly G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

A well paced trip and very well organised. Milford Sound and the scenery to the Sound were wonderful. Smaller than Doubtful Sound but still wonderful.

Linda G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

A long trip, but definitely worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The comfort stops at Te Anau were not long enough. This was due to the huge queues waiting for food and beverages.
It appears all the tours seem to stop there at the same time! Staggering tour group timings would help.
Milford Sound itself was not as scenic as expected due to the bad weather and clouds covering the mountains.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Tour date 03/02/15 This tour was a long day but well worth it. The sights were truly amazing! It rained all day we even had snow but to be honest the waterfalls were beautiful! I was told that its better when it rains than when its sunny and they were right! Only let down for me was the food on the cruise as i never had any included i was willing to buy lunch when i got there unfortunately there was no choice so bring your own!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Unfortunately the day we ventured to Milford Sound wasn't very pleasant even being the middle of November. Nevertheless we had a good day, a very informative bus driver and the few stops along the way broke the trip up which was handy as you are looking at about a 5 hour bus trip each way.
Our cruise was nice and it was such a great experience to see Milford Sound.
My only criticism on the day was the meal on board our boat.. We noticed that there were a few large groups which they seemed to cater for cuisine wise. I found that there wasn't much food choice on our buffet and I didn't believe that the food was of the best standard considering the cost for the tour.
After a long bus trip and an early start we really needed a nice lunch to fill up on - unfortunately we found ourselves stocking up on food on the stop on the way back to Queenstown.
A good day to see the sound however a few things that need reworking to make this a fantastic experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The driver built up our expectations far too much

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The programme for the day was well-planned. Weather is something out of control so depending on the weather one sees a different view of Milford Sound. Would be good to get back to Milford a second time with a sunny weather. The most impressive thing is the detailed and lively commentary performed by the driver during the 4-hour drive, even better was the available translation in Mandarin and Japanese. The only disappointment was the quality of the meal on board the boat. Meant to be international lunch buffet, it was just not cooked and served well enough for the price we paid.

Sarah H
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

It was a lovely day, but a very very long day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The trip across the Fjordland National Park was great but Milford Sound is a hype. Nothing extraordinary about the place.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The only problem was the weather - it rained about all day.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Milford Sound is exquisite but this is not the way to see it. Trying to access the lunch I prepaid was MAYHEM. I felt like a steer in a corral.

From USD $ 174.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS76

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message