• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 27 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Queenstown to Christchurch via Mount Cook Full-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 27 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Long trip, but great views and the possibility of going on a Helicopter flight at Mt Cook, which I took up, was great

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Great tour guide, very comfortable and made good use of time. The trip between Mt. Cook and Queenstown is somewhat more interesting than the portion to Christchurch.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Excellent way to return to Christchurch for flights out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Grumpy bus driver and too many stops. Mt. Cook was a beautiful site to behold, and we are glad we stopped by on our way between Queenstown to Christchurch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Good bus and excellent driver had safe punctual trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

You get to see some great landscapes, but where don't you see great landscape in New Zealand. The Day trip from Queenstown to Christchurch itself was just excessive! There are stops about every hour to 45 minutes just for the bus driver to get coffee. I don't know if this is New Zealand law but it dragged what could be done in 8 hours to 12 hours. Be prepared for a long day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

Although you get to stop and take pictures along the side of the road, you don't get to experience that much. The extended break at Mt. Cook is nice, but the overall experience didn't feel absolutely complete. But it is a great way to see a lot on a limited amount of time. I did a more personal tour of Skippers Valley in a 4x4 and found that a lot more rewarding.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The weather was bad and you could not see Mount Cook. I was hoping to take a helicopter flight but all flights were grounded because of the weather.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

The driver/guide was excellent. The scenery was O.K. Long ride for limited scenery. Probably worth doing, but only if one is particularly interested in the Glacier. I've seen them before and been on one so there was novelty, which impacts my opinion. If time is an issue, then would skip and fly.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

The main attraction we were looking forward to in this tour was the Mount Cook. And we got to spend just 50 minutes at the Hermitage hotel so we just had lunch there. The your should not mislead people by saying it's via Mt. Cook. The translator was rude at most times. Not recommended!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Not the best of trips the weather closed in and was raining for most of the day, couldnt actually see Mount Cook and the stop at the top was for 1 1/2 hours with nothing really to do as all flights cancelled. The other thing i thought was unfair was that the trip was more of a local bus not an organised tour as we stopped and started dropping and picking people up at differenct locations all day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

was not worth the money at all. Most of the stops were at gift shops and while the commentary was decent it was not worth the money i paid for it.

From USD $ 186.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS83

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message