4.5 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Quito, Ecuador
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Half Day Quito City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was fantastic and so knowledgeable. We would not have learned as much on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very knowledgeable guide and well planned half-day tour in Old Quito. We enjoyed it very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Wilson, the guide was very good. But the tour group was too big and the old ladies from Argentina kept wandering off. I know we did not get to see some of the things on the tour route as a result. When possible you need smaller groups all in one language.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

I am pleased that I found the time to take this tour. It was well organised, I saw parts of Quito that I otherwise wouldn’t have if I had gone site-seeing on my own, and I gained a better understanding of the city’s rich history. My guide was very friendly and informative, and above all, very accommodating of my poor Spanish language skills.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I was the only person booked on the tour so it ended up being a private tour, which was really good. My guide Carla was really informative and entusiastic and knew so much about her city. Learnt so much about the city and really enjoyed myself.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Had a great time seeing Quito

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Friendly Guide! Very Informative!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Everything was very punctual. Guide was very well knowledged. Only isapontment that this was a Spanish and English tour (2 English speaking and 6 Spanish speaking). Although the guide tried to allocate his time, the Spanish speakers won!).

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Old town Quito is beautiful! I was quite surprised they had amazing architecture, very charming and quite interesting. The tour guide Karla was very good, knowledgeable and very friendly. She had to conduct the tour in both English and Spanish since we were the only English speaking group. They were also very prompt in picking us up from the hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The guide was excellent. Very informative and courteous. We are elderly travelers and appreciated the extra consideration.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Excellent guide and driver and good overview of city, its historiy and attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We went on a Sunday morning and therefore couldn't get in some of the churches due to mass being held. The churches that we did see were beautiful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We had a good trip, problem was there was a mix of languages being shared during the tour. We asked for english and on two different trips got spanish speaking guides, who gave us some english but mostly spanish.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour itself was interesting. First stop was the Bascilica which was terrific. Then we went to the statue of the Virgin on the top of the hill (on a clear day) and it was beautiful. Then on to centro where we walked down 2-3 streets and were TOLD how nice they were and what interesting shops there were but everything was closed!!! After that we went into TOO MANY churches (4, I think). The guide was pleasant but his English was so poor that all of us barely understood him (2 Americans and 2 Canadians). We could only pick out the occasional English word. With no disrespect, I suggest that the guides practice their English skills with native English speakers before giving tours. I had been in Ecuador for 3.5 months already, so I was the only one who regularly understood (most of) what he was saying. The other tourists had just arrived and hadn't gotten used to how quickly the Spanish speak. All in all, the tour was good, but we relied on looking at things instead of learning what they meant. Also, while touring 3-4 churches in centro we were repeatedly told that there were other interesting things that we could come back and see on our own. That was disappointing as this was the main reason for taking a tour -- to have someone SAFELY take us to these interesting places!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The Tour was sold including complimentary hotel pick-up and drop off in Quito. This was not the case and we had to find our own way to where the tour began. When I mentioned this to the tour operator they said the issue was with Viator.
The Tour Guide did his best however I found his accent and understanding of english difficult to understand so although we saw places we weren't able to learn much.
Otherwise we enjoyed the tour but we would have liked to see the changing of the guard which was taking place.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Guide absolutely fabulous great knowledge and fun but other than churches little to see in the town, disappointing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Quito downtown is beautiful, but you can do the sightseeing on your own, since this was a walking tour and everything is very close to one another. I also did not like the fact that extra money was charged for the museum and other entrances. We felt 'nickled and dimed'!

From USD $ 28.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3074QCITY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message