• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Quito, Ecuador
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

excellent tour. knowlegable & personable tour guide. Roberto was the greatest!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgeable and quite helpful. It is rather long 10 hours, but worth it. It is not necessary to take the optional lunch as there is more than enough time to do it on your own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a great time on the tour. This is the second time we used Viator and both tours have been great. Our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and a great ambassador for her country, Ecuador.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Otavalo market tour was great. The market area covers a large section of downtown and we had about two hours to shop around. Some great deals can be found and half the fun is in the bargaining. The restaurant we stopped for lunch was very good; the menu was quite large, waitstaff friendly and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a great day. Enjoyed every stop. However, we only had a little over an hour in Otavalo on Saturday (the biggest market day). The correct title for the tour would be "Quito area tour including Otavalo."

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

trip was wonderful and we really enjoyed the marketplace in otavalo, I hope to get back soon
our guide with Viator did a great job.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

This was a well orgainized trip with frequent stops and enough time for shopping at several places. a great way to see the country side as well as Otavalo.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Very good. Lots to see en route also. Market great fun, wish we had more time there instead of Cotaccachi leather area. Perhaps Peguche water falls could be a trip addition?

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Salome was our guide and she was excellent. There were several interesting stops along the way which enhanced our visit to Otavalo. More time in Otavalo would be a good idea. We had 1.5 hours - maybe should be 2. We wondered why there was no stop when we crossed the equator. all in all a good trip and recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip was really good! There were lots of stops along the way to give you a full view of different aspects of Ecuadorian life. The only thing I wish is that we had more time in the actual market. The trip was based on Otavalo but we didn't get to explore it enough.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Great tour. Enjoyed the extra stops for dough figures and leather. Tour guide very knowledgable and interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Lots of fun. Search out for the best items and bargain hard!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Not so much the market but the sightseeing on the way to the market was beautiful. The "inside" market in downtown Quito on George Washington Street had better prices and very similar merchandise.

Special Offer

From USD $ 43.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3074QMARKET

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message