Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ernel Arcangel F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very knowledgeable guide. Thank you Roberto.

Dorothy D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

excellent tour. knowlegable & personable tour guide. Roberto was the greatest!

Gerald D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgeable and quite helpful. It is rather long 10 hours, but worth it. It is not necessary to take the optional lunch as there is more than enough time to do it on your own.

Daniel M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a great time on the tour. This is the second time we used Viator and both tours have been great. Our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and a great ambassador for her country, Ecuador.

Ross M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable and interesting day. Liked the small group. Guide was great and provided enough time at each of the stops. Well organized.

Angela R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

LOVED this tour! Our bilingual tour guide, Maria Alicia, was wonderful. There was so much packed into this day but it was lovely from start to finish. We made stops to see the Lago San Pablo San Pablo Lake, where the views are just breathtaking, we stopped to visit a local Shaman at Ilumán, a small town in the Imbabura province, we stopped at the famous Otavalo market of course and Cotacachi, known for its leather, and also in Peguche, where we learned about indigenous music of the Andes, we also stopped in a town famous for its bizcochos and watched how these treats are made. The only part I didn't love was the lunch, which we had pre-paid. We ate at La Marquesa restaurant in Cotacachi and it was pretty bad. We ate it because we were hungry but it was bland and greasy and just kind of gross. Even the fries were bad and it's hard to mess up fries. The other plates looked just as unappealing so I'm not sure it was an isolated thing. We would have been better off bringing a sandwich from home or eating elsewhere. Other than that, it was a wonderful experience. On our day it was a small group so we definitely got personal attention. Thank you Maria Alicia!

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I had wanted to go to Otavalo for a longtime, and this was a very good way to do so.I would, however, have liked to stop at the animal market as well, if only for an hour. We did have sufficient time at the craft market, the lunch stop was good, and the stop at the equator line a nice bonus. I don't know if the option of an included lunch was necessary. We signed up for it while everyone else on the bus paid a la carte which I actually would have preferred as there was just too much food for me as a lunch. I did appreciate the fact that the tour seemed well organized, on schedule, and informative.

Uwe R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

only a Little bit far away from town but was very good

Jenny M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a small group of 11 - our tour leader spoke good English. The markets were great. The lunch stop and leather stop a little too long - perhaps a bit extra time at the markets

Zaida A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were about disappointed about the quality of the market and the wares. A lot of things but not enough variety. The tour was organized and well led; tour guide was very good.

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

An enjoyable day with several interesting stops! We were able to stand on the equator and very much enjoyed the visit to the greenhouses to see the process of rose production. We would have liked additional time at Otavalo as the one hour went very quickly. It is a fascinating place.

Angelito A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was a good tour but it would have been better if the guide would take the same time explaining in English what he explained in Spanish. There were about 3x when he completely forgot to repeat what he said in Spanish. I had to raise my hand the 4th time (soon have done it sooner) for him to say in English what he just said in Spanish. Also, because I understand some Spanish I know that he cut out some information when he said it in English. The places were interesting and the food was good. Guide was cordial. Overall, since many English-speaking people are discovering Ecuador as a destination to visit, it would be help your tourist industry to invest in preparing good English-speaking guides to do the tours. All I am saying is, there is certainly a room for improvement.

John J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Otavalo market tour was great. The market area covers a large section of downtown and we had about two hours to shop around. Some great deals can be found and half the fun is in the bargaining. The restaurant we stopped for lunch was very good; the menu was quite large, waitstaff friendly and helpful.

Edward M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a great day. Enjoyed every stop. However, we only had a little over an hour in Otavalo on Saturday (the biggest market day). The correct title for the tour would be "Quito area tour including Otavalo."

Wilda W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

trip was wonderful and we really enjoyed the marketplace in otavalo, I hope to get back soon
our guide with Viator did a great job.

CAROLLE H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

This was a well orgainized trip with frequent stops and enough time for shopping at several places. a great way to see the country side as well as Otavalo.

Joy O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Very good. Lots to see en route also. Market great fun, wish we had more time there instead of Cotaccachi leather area. Perhaps Peguche water falls could be a trip addition?

Norman R Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Salome was our guide and she was excellent. There were several interesting stops along the way which enhanced our visit to Otavalo. More time in Otavalo would be a good idea. We had 1.5 hours - maybe should be 2. We wondered why there was no stop when we crossed the equator. all in all a good trip and recommended.

Laura P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip was really good! There were lots of stops along the way to give you a full view of different aspects of Ecuadorian life. The only thing I wish is that we had more time in the actual market. The trip was based on Otavalo but we didn't get to explore it enough.

Mary T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Great tour. Enjoyed the extra stops for dough figures and leather. Tour guide very knowledgable and interesting.

Jeremy W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Lots of fun. Search out for the best items and bargain hard!!!

Amy W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Not so much the market but the sightseeing on the way to the market was beautiful. The "inside" market in downtown Quito on George Washington Street had better prices and very similar merchandise.

Israel B Israel

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Nice, authentic, and colorful items made this whole experience fun.

Israel B Israel

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Nice, shopping, unique.

Sharon P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

I was very happy with the staff; the tour leader was great and spoke fluent English and Spanish, and he was very informative. The driver was very careful and considerate on the roads, and the vehicle was quite modern and comfortable. The market and other places we went to were great, and lunch was fine, too. However, the tour could have been slightly more "eco friendly". The tour leader showed us how a certain species of plant can be used as a needle and thread by pulling off the "needle" from the plant and later disposing of it. If this is repeated every week, that's a lot of plants being damaged needlessly. Also he showed us an insect that the Ecuadorians use for dye. He squashed an insect in front of us as an example. I for one feel these examples could have been explained verbally.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 61.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3074QMARKET

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message