• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 49 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Quito, Ecuador
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip was really good! There were lots of stops along the way to give you a full view of different aspects of Ecuadorian life. The only thing I wish is that we had more time in the actual market. The trip was based on Otavalo but we didn't get to explore it enough.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Great tour. Enjoyed the extra stops for dough figures and leather. Tour guide very knowledgable and interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Lots of fun. Search out for the best items and bargain hard!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Not so much the market but the sightseeing on the way to the market was beautiful. The "inside" market in downtown Quito on George Washington Street had better prices and very similar merchandise.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Nice, authentic, and colorful items made this whole experience fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Nice, shopping, unique.

Sharon P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

I was very happy with the staff; the tour leader was great and spoke fluent English and Spanish, and he was very informative. The driver was very careful and considerate on the roads, and the vehicle was quite modern and comfortable. The market and other places we went to were great, and lunch was fine, too. However, the tour could have been slightly more "eco friendly". The tour leader showed us how a certain species of plant can be used as a needle and thread by pulling off the "needle" from the plant and later disposing of it. If this is repeated every week, that's a lot of plants being damaged needlessly. Also he showed us an insect that the Ecuadorians use for dye. He squashed an insect in front of us as an example. I for one feel these examples could have been explained verbally.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The way to Otavalo market is pretty following part of the Andean range. I found the market very tourist like. People who would like to see a market have a choice to see the artisans market in Quito and then choose another tour.

Both tours I took, the personnel was attentive and experienced, very punctual and helpful. The quality manager was also very professional when I expressed my deception about the Cotopaxi tour, in all a very reliable company.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Disappointed we were only allowed to spend an hour at the market and far too much time at other places, the tour says Otavalo market so should have spent more time there! The lunch option was good, restaurant choice and menu offered something for all tastes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour guide was very conscientious but as with so many of these guides never seem to know just when
to stop talking. Otavalo Market itself is fascinating and the Andean mountain scenery en route is just mind
blowing. However, as with so many of these organized tours there are the inevitable 45 min stops at craft
stores, leather shops and pre-selected restraint the guide selects. Without these distractions, this 10 hour
tour cut have been cut down to 6 hours.
Its worth doing if you want totally taken care of all the way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Was good except for the fact the driver didn't know where the bus registration was and we were delayed at a checkpoint for quite some time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This trip was good except that it would have been better with more time at the market . An all day tour with only 1 1/2 hours at the market indicates too much time spent at other sites .

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The guide was very knowledgable and helpful. Also, the bus was air conditioned and comfortable. The trip was on a day with heavy traffic and we spent over 4 hours getting back. We spent more time on the bus than at the actual markets. I felt rushed at the markets, which was the whole point of the trip. If I were to go on a normal day, without so much traffic, I think I would have enjoyed the tour more. One more thing...buying the package with the lunch is more expensive than just buying it once you get to the resturant.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The time at the market was not long enough, the trip to the rose farm was unnecessary. It would be better to go straight to the market, followed by lunch then the rest of the programme if there is time to fit it all in - the whole point of the trip was to go to the market.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

It felt like a lot of driving to see a small market for tourists only... Our guide was great but the day itself was not really worth it.

From USD $ 54.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3074QMARKET

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message