5 star rating: Highly Recommended 136 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour involves so many hours inside the coach, but the lagoon, the waterfalls and even all the landscape you can see through the window at any second of the tour are impressive!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The guide was nice and good; the trip was informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very long bus ride that was worth every minute. Seeing the southern coast of Iceland and the remoteness of it was like traveling back in time. Seeing the remains of the many floods throughout the area gives you a real perspective on the power of water. The Glacial Lagoon is spectacular!!!!!

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Long journeys (10hrs return!!!), but the lagoon is JUST AMAZING! We loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Or tour guide was amazing. She not only told us points of interest in tour but Iceland in general, food, culture, music, few saga's etc. I learnt more in the day trip then by reading travel books. Highly recommend trip to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

AMAZING!!!!!!! Our tour guide was STAR. so informative, patient and kind!!!! A must see, worth the drive!
very well organized, professional...
***** tipping is a must for them******

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I have to first start off by saying this trip was amazing! The scenery is spectacular and our tour guide Rakna(i hope im spelling this correctly) was so incredibly nice and informative. She taught us so much about the sights we were visiting and passing. She also told us Icelandic stories of the sagas, elves and trolls. We first visited a waterfall on our first stop and it was breathtaking. The lush green moss, mist of the foss(waterfall in Icelandic) was truly a sight. We then proceeded on towards the glacier lagoon. The scenery of the glaciers, volcanoes and taking the boat ride in the glacial lake was fantastic. We then proceeded back to Reykjavik, but as an added bonus the guide and driver decided to give us an extra trip to a scenic view of a glacial split and the black sand beach of Vik. Vik was hands down my favorite spot in Iceland. Hearing the crashing of the waves of the north atlantic, walking on the volcanic black sand, viewing the cliffs and taking in the fresh briny air was a little piece of heaven on earth. Then we visited another waterfall which was beautiful and back to Reykjavik. It might appear like a long day, but its not, the time flies by and theres ample food and bathroom stops. Overall, extremely recommended trip. Please dont miss this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great trip . Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

FANTASTIC VIEWS ALONG THE WAY WITH PLENTY OF STOPS AT WATERFALLS AND FOOD AND TOILET STOPS. TO SEE THE GLACIERS WAS AMAZING BUT THE HIGHLIGHT HAS TO BE THE BOAT TRIP THROUGH THE LAGOON FULL OF ICEBURGS WAS A SIGHT BTO BE SEEN. ALTHOUGH A LONG DAY WOULD NOT HAVE MISSED IT.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Definately worth it. I hired a car but would have been able to see what the tour showed me :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The natural environment was phenomenal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I twas a long day, but worth evry minute of it.

nellie or fraggers
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A fascinating, if long, day which illustrates how being in Iceland is like being in another world! Skogarfoss and Jokulsarlon have to be seen to be believed. Well organised trip with a hardworking and fluent guide to provide the background information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Sorry no pics (scenery was amazing) but tour was really great. Guide and driver were helpful, informative and entertaining. A long day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Best TOUR ever !!! I'll never forget it !! DiDi our guuide was awesome and full of information about the area and Icelandic Culture. This was not a tour, this was a 14 hour college course of one of the most fascinating subjects in the world. 5 stars is not enough !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and not only described where we were and what we were seeing but kept us informed as to the time table. Jokulsarlon was magnificent! The boat ride, hot chocolate with rum and whisky with glacial ice just added to the beauty of nature. Well worth your time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Lagoon is amazing! And the landscape and everything around, so cool! There are seals, just pay attention!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Absolutely amazing! If you visit Iceland you must do this tour. Top of my list!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful trip! Pickup at hotel was a great convenience. The bus was comfortable, the guide exceptional. It was a long day and well worth it. We were overwhelmed by the beauty and variety of scenery and experiences, esp. the boat ride on the glacial lagoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Beautiful! The boat ride among icebergs was worth the super long ride. But please pack your own lunch. There is only one place where you can eat and "overcharging" does not even begin to discuss a very high school cafeteria lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

It sounds pricey and it is a bit, but if you have limited time in Iceland and limited means of transportation, this is totally and completely worth it. There were several stops to break up the ride, all of them marvelous, and to my great surprise, we even made it back into town as scheduled. This tour stopped at Skogafoss, Seljalandsfoss, Jökulsárlón, Vík, Skaftatell Visitor Center, and made additional stops for lunch and dinner at roadside diners/gas stations (where you could sit down or self-cater).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Worth the drive. I was reluctant to take such a long trip but I saw so much of Iceland, it was pretty spectacular. The guide was very informative and excited to be shower us her country. At the lagoon, the also make rum hot chocolate. Pretty delicious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent tour good verity of scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Another great tour but wrap up warm for this one. Definitely the coldest I felt all week but so worth it. Glacier and boat trip an amazing experience and stunning views all day ending with another beautiful waterfall. Go behind if you can!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Long journey but worth the effort

From USD $ 185.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message