5 star rating: Highly Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

An awesome day, made even better by the well informed, easy going tour guide and coach driver. The day was well paced and we saw everything we expected, well worth the early start! Plenty of photo opportunities and local insight into the region.

Marie W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Stunning glacial lake, well worth the long drive. Boat trip was fantastic with informative guide. Highly recommended. Beautiful waterfalls along the way. Better to take your own food as meal stops not so great. An unforgettable day.

Mark B
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A long but rewarding day. Obviously the Duck ride is the highlight of the trip and a lot of fun plus beautiful scenery. Lunch stop is great with really good seafood soup, dinner stop is so so.

Kris L
Belgium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The boat trip on the lagoon was one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen. An absolute must see if you visit Iceland.

Jingming B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It's a great trip. Excellent local guide, small group, detailed introduction, good facility. The view of the glacier lagoon is fantastic. Highly recommended.

Mariusz K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very long, but wonderful trip! The Jokulsarlon was breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

There is no way to fully capture how amazing the lagoon is. It's a long day, but it was well worth it!

Lorna F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A very long day which can not be missed! The drive from Reykjavik to the lagoon is long but breathtaking! The guide provided fantastic information about the formation of the geographical features, but we just wished that the coach could stop every five minutes for us to take photos! The final destination is an experience and a half although be prepared for the weather to change drastically from your destination. Anythings possible so be prepared! Awful weather did not deter us from enjoying this memorable day out. More than adequate toilet stops and a well timed evening stop for dinner before returning late to Reykjavik.

Simon W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great trip - really enjoyed it, good food and guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A very long trip, but worth every minute and dollar. It was the highlight of my trip to Iceland!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The Iceland South Coast and Lagoon Day Trip is a long 14 hour day, but very much worth it. After all, you don't go on holiday to rest do you?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The Jokulsarlon Lagoon is truly a once in a lifetime experience. The high point of the trip was going into the lagoon on an amphibious boat and tasting a crystal clear, delicious piece of a 1000 year old iceberg.

Andrea W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I just wanted to say that I have been to Iceland previously and taken various tours. This was my first with your company and also my first hopefully of many! Visit to the Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. Quite simply, the entire tour was amazing and outstanding in every sense of the word. The tour guide was simply the best, extremely knowledgeable, friendly, good humoured and one of the best guides ever. Yes it is a long day but at the same time, the hours pass so quickly and not only was the trip value for money but I have come away with a lifetime of memories. Iceland really is one of the most amazing destinations I've ever been lucky enough to travel to and I cannot wait to visit again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Long but great trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent! Our tour guide was fabulous. She was extremely knowledgeable, very interested in us, and full of information about the culture and geography. The itinerary was great. Even a long day such as this - 14 hours - went by in a flash! I would recommend this tour highly.

Patrick L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Great guide and very interesting places to see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

What a wonderful trip! Well worth the long drive.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The glacier lagoon was absolutely beautiful so all in all the trip was worth it but I would probably not take a bus tour like this again. Our bus broke down pretty early on and we were able to get on a new bus quickly but we were set back by both this and the fact the boats at Jokulsarlon were not

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent scenery, the Jokulsarlon lagoon is a must!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was good. But dinner that was provided was inedible. Better to lower the price and we pay our own dinner.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The group was a bit big (57 people on a Charter bus), and the drive was looooong, but once we got to the Lagoon - it made the whole thing worth it! Our tour guide, Willie, was awesome! I had him the day before on the Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour, too - he's hilarious and knows a lot of great little places to stop as well. On this tour, we stopped at two waterfalls, a place for lunch, and another place for dinner. Overall, very good trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Long day on a bus but it's handled well with lots of breaks for seeing waterfalls, and getting food - I had food with me so it made some of the long 45 minute stops for lunch etc a bit dull. However the end point at Jokulsarlon was stunning. Sadly the last waterfall on the trip back was hard to enjoy fully as it was so dark it wasn't really safe to walk behind it, nor to get good pictures.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful scenery and glacial lagoon were stunning really enjoyed!

Tour guide was interesting and knowledgable.

However, it is a long tour (14 hours) and the bus was a bit cramped for such a long tour, would have been greatly improved by more spacious bus. Stops are a bit rushed but thats understandable given the distance covered they make stops shorter to make sure you see as much as possible.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Although I was very tired after the 14 hour journey, it was well worth it! Guide was excellent in sharing her knowledge and answering my questions. I would suggest to her not to continue talking after the 12th or 13th hour, especially about the history of the religions. Perhaps a lighter topic but most brain cells are dead after the long day. The scheduled stops and variety of experiences with waterfalls, glaciers, beaches, land forms, etc. made it very memorable for me.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great view of waterfalls and the glacial lagoon. Free wifi on the bus was great because the trip is very long. Sometimes the wifi wouldn't work for whatever reason. You're jammed into a bus full of tourists though so you get very limited time at each stop to run and take pictures/go the bathroom and get back to the bus. Plus you have many other people in your way when taking pictures at each site. Leaves at 8 am gets back to Reykjavik at about 11 pm.

From USD $ 187.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message