5 star rating: Highly Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Iceland South Coast and Jokulsarlon Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The Jokulsarlon Lagoon is truly a once in a lifetime experience. The high point of the trip was going into the lagoon on an amphibious boat and tasting a crystal clear, delicious piece of a 1000 year old iceberg.

Andrea W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I just wanted to say that I have been to Iceland previously and taken various tours. This was my first with your company and also my first hopefully of many! Visit to the Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. Quite simply, the entire tour was amazing and outstanding in every sense of the word. The tour guide was simply the best, extremely knowledgeable, friendly, good humoured and one of the best guides ever. Yes it is a long day but at the same time, the hours pass so quickly and not only was the trip value for money but I have come away with a lifetime of memories. Iceland really is one of the most amazing destinations I've ever been lucky enough to travel to and I cannot wait to visit again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Long but great trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent! Our tour guide was fabulous. She was extremely knowledgeable, very interested in us, and full of information about the culture and geography. The itinerary was great. Even a long day such as this - 14 hours - went by in a flash! I would recommend this tour highly.

Patrick L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Great guide and very interesting places to see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

What a wonderful trip! Well worth the long drive.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was good. But dinner that was provided was inedible. Better to lower the price and we pay our own dinner.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The group was a bit big (57 people on a Charter bus), and the drive was looooong, but once we got to the Lagoon - it made the whole thing worth it! Our tour guide, Willie, was awesome! I had him the day before on the Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour, too - he's hilarious and knows a lot of great little places to stop as well. On this tour, we stopped at two waterfalls, a place for lunch, and another place for dinner. Overall, very good trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Long day on a bus but it's handled well with lots of breaks for seeing waterfalls, and getting food - I had food with me so it made some of the long 45 minute stops for lunch etc a bit dull. However the end point at Jokulsarlon was stunning. Sadly the last waterfall on the trip back was hard to enjoy fully as it was so dark it wasn't really safe to walk behind it, nor to get good pictures.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful scenery and glacial lagoon were stunning really enjoyed!

Tour guide was interesting and knowledgable.

However, it is a long tour (14 hours) and the bus was a bit cramped for such a long tour, would have been greatly improved by more spacious bus. Stops are a bit rushed but thats understandable given the distance covered they make stops shorter to make sure you see as much as possible.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Although I was very tired after the 14 hour journey, it was well worth it! Guide was excellent in sharing her knowledge and answering my questions. I would suggest to her not to continue talking after the 12th or 13th hour, especially about the history of the religions. Perhaps a lighter topic but most brain cells are dead after the long day. The scheduled stops and variety of experiences with waterfalls, glaciers, beaches, land forms, etc. made it very memorable for me.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great view of waterfalls and the glacial lagoon. Free wifi on the bus was great because the trip is very long. Sometimes the wifi wouldn't work for whatever reason. You're jammed into a bus full of tourists though so you get very limited time at each stop to run and take pictures/go the bathroom and get back to the bus. Plus you have many other people in your way when taking pictures at each site. Leaves at 8 am gets back to Reykjavik at about 11 pm.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Long day but amazing sights that you likely wouldn't see otherwise.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great trip but a long day. Would have liked more time at some places and less coffee breaks. Guide was great. Trip on lagoon was really interesting and capped off with seeing seals.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great sightseeing of Icelend

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Overall, this tour was very worth it because Jokulsarlon was incredibly beautiful and unlike anything I'd seen. We made some great stops along the way and back, including Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss. I wish we had made a few more quick stops for photo opportunities because we passed so many beautiful sights on the drive. That drive is also a special part of the tour. We didn't get to do the boat on the lagoon which was disappointing. (Apparently there was too much ice in the lagoon?) The guide said that we would receive free dinners in Vik. I wasn't hungry and veggie options are limited in Iceland, so I passed on the dinner. I feel like I should've been offered a discount voucher or had been reimbursed for the lunch I bought, but nothing was offered. Book this tour, but make you're aware that while you do stop for food you might want to bring plenty of extra as it's a full day!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I recommend this tour and everything was very well organized except the fact that the boat trip didn't take place because the icebergs were to big apparently. The weather was good and the tour guide very well informed. On the way to the main attraction points I saw some amazing landscape views and I wish we could stop for some minutes to take some pictures, although considering that the coach was full I imagine that it would have taken more than a couple of minutes.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Another alternative experience to save your time seeing the glacial lake in one day!!
We almost give up to go there due to our time limitation.
Fortunately we found this tour on Viator. By the way we didn't ride the boat in the lagoon because of the weather condition but it is still great to see this amazing nature!!!
WE WOULD REGRET IF WE DID NOT GO THAT PLACES.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was the highlight of our trip, not necessarily because of the tour company but because of the destination. Note, this is a very long tour, about 15 hours long. There are a lot of stops and we saw quite a bit. We could not get the boat ride on the iceberg lake because it got extremely windy, and i guess dangerous to be out in the water. The tour company paid for our dinner to cover the boat ride that we didn't take. One other detail, our hotel was so close to the departing location, they decided not to pick us up on the day of the tour and didn't notify or their decision either, which messed with our vacation plans and we missed the bus. Luckly we still had a couple of days in Reykjavik and were able to take the tour the day after. They gave us 50% discount on an alternative tour to compensate for the error for that lost day. (They did offer a double free tour of the city, but we opted not to, because we had already walked around the city, which is pretty small and no replacement for a 15 hour tour). The guide Hiltur was excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Even in less than ideal weather, the pay-off at the end of this trip was totally worth the long drive from Reykjavik. We really enjoyed the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Really nice tour! Our guide was very informative he had a video, loads of tibits and even some Icelandic music playing. Some food should really be included, lunch or dinner at least. The glacier lagoon is so unique you can't miss it. Just beware this is a very long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

I really enjoyed it. But it was a very long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Absolutely beautiful! It's a LONG tour and I took several naps on the drives! There's a lot to see - waterfalls, visitors center, and the lagoon! The only thing I think this is missing is the fact that you don't have much time at any place! It's too rushed. I think this tour should either be longer so you have extra time at each place or make it a 2 day tour! But worth going to see it!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

A long day out but well worth the effort. Probably too long day for children.

From USD $ 187.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message