• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 221 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour Guide was very informative and knowlegable.
Got a great visiblity of the Northern Lights, very surreal but well worth the trip!
Would have liked maybe a star map to acompany the trip to help identify the constellations?...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Supposedly we experienced the best night in the last few weeks according to both guides and I would have to say I believed them. The whole sky was covered in shifting northern lights - it looked just like the pictures you see online when you search for northern lights!

Julie R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

brilliant saw the lights for 2 hours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We didn't get to see the Northern Lights due to the weather but we still enjoyed the experience. It's great to know that our ticket is valid for 2 years due to us not seeing the lights. The staff were friendly and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the first night we drove out near the airport from city center the tour guide had us walk over a path bridge to a rocky mud surface in some very cold windy weather.the tour guide spent most of her time trying to teach others how to use their digital cameras. even though all were taking pictures there was nothing to take pictures of. i thought this was crazy but decided to try the next night free. it was another trip to the airport area but this tme we were on the bus. we saw nothing this night either. the third night they drove us out two hours into the country and we saw the lights on three different occasions during the tour.. it was amazing and so glad i went out each night to see the lights on my third trip. well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Awesome! For the first few hours thought we weren't going tosee the lights, but the tour leaders persevered and when the Lights came they were almost unbelieveable. Would recommend this to anyone in spite of the late finish!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour guide done their utmost to make sure we saw the Northern Lights. We were very lucky. She was helpful and very kind. Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great tour! The original date was Feb 24 the tour was postponed several nights due to visibility issues. We finally went in Feb 27. It was clear but the aurora did not show. We then went to a different location ehere we saw some but nothing spectacular. We then moved to another location where they were somewhat visible. The tour company said it was not good enough so they let us go out again at no additional cost. We selected Mar 1 as it was our anniversary. We spent the day at the Blue Lagoon and that evening the aurora was out with spectular viewing. I recommend this tour but would advise scheduling it early in your time in Iceland in case the weather causes a postponment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour guides (Jakob, Baldur and co). Even though we had to wait a while for the clouds to clear, they kept the group happy, despite the cold. Spectacular view of the Northern Lights that night too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Picked up from our hotel. Taken to national park approx 10:00pm. It was dark, very very cold but brilliant. Guide explained the stars on show and the Aurora was brill.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was one on my list of the things I wanted to see before I die and it was absolutely worth it, it brought a tear to my eye. The tour guide was really knowledgable and shared many interesting facts about the lights and Iceland itself. Although you travel to the location in a very large tour bus you do not feel crowded when viewing the lights and you might even get to make a few new friends. I would really really recommend getting a professional camera as my little digital casio did not do it justice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I was fortunate that the weather cooperated and was able to see the Northern Lights, but I also want to compliment the bus drivers and tour guides for doing all that was possible for us to see them. We moved to three different locations as they consulted forcasts for the visibility. They really wanted to do their best to allow us to see this spectacular sight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

tour was cancelled 1st night due to cloud , but was honoured the following night , long trip ,guide had plenty of stories and info about the island and its history .the lights themselves were awesome a must do .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

No lights first night. No problem as Icelandic Excursions will take you as often as needed til you get to see them at no extra cost and this is open for 2 years. Second night had to be cancelled due to cloud cover. Third night we saw them. What a fabulous sight. So worth the effort. Icelandic Excursions are a brilliant company too - couldn't rate them highly enough. Thanks guys!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

prompt pick up
friendly drivers
good careful drivers too!!

From USD $ 49.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message