4 star rating: Recommended 235 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 235 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved every second of the tour. Everything was well organized and we couldnt be more happier.
Thank you so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We arranged this for our first night just in case we didn't see them and we had two nights left. The arrangement with the ticket is if you don't see them you can use your ticket the next night and the next night and so on until you do. If you return home without seeing them your ticket is valid for two years. Now you can't grumble about that even though after 3 attempts we didn't see them!! The drivers that did all our trips from the coach firm Gray Line were absolutely superbe, driving over thick ice and not getting back until1.30am

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent trip. Recommended! Guide very knowledgeable. Take lots of warm layered clothes and shoes with a good grip as very icey.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour operator for our trip was Iceland Excursions/Grayline. We went twice as we did not see the lights first time. We were picked up from outside our hotel by feeder coach and driven to their offices by the Harbour. You have to go into their offices to exchange your Viator voucher for a ticket then get on a bigger coach which is waiting outside. (A tip for choosing your seat! Do not sit by the middle door. They cannot turn the emergency light off, it shines in your eyes and you cannot search the skies whilst driving for the lights.) They drive you to where the weather is best and do everything they can so you see the lights. The locations they choose have toilet facilities and a place to buy refreshments. Both Guides we had were brilliant and very informative. Definitely wear something warm! You cannot have too many layers on lol. It was freezing. Also take a torch and some snow grips for your shoes. It was very icy! We saw a brilliant Northern Lights display on our second attempt. Amazing! If you do not see the lights you can go again free of charge. You have to go to their office the next day and 're-book. Your ticket is valid for 2 years which is brilliant if you are short on time. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I got to see them faintly. Lucky enough to have clear cold skies. So many stars and clusters could be seen. Unfortunately they were that intense, but I still got to see them! Dress WARMLY if you are going in the winter.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour Guide was very informative and knowlegable.
Got a great visiblity of the Northern Lights, very surreal but well worth the trip!
Would have liked maybe a star map to acompany the trip to help identify the constellations?...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Supposedly we experienced the best night in the last few weeks according to both guides and I would have to say I believed them. The whole sky was covered in shifting northern lights - it looked just like the pictures you see online when you search for northern lights!

Julie R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

brilliant saw the lights for 2 hours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We didn't get to see the Northern Lights due to the weather but we still enjoyed the experience. It's great to know that our ticket is valid for 2 years due to us not seeing the lights. The staff were friendly and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the first night we drove out near the airport from city center the tour guide had us walk over a path bridge to a rocky mud surface in some very cold windy weather.the tour guide spent most of her time trying to teach others how to use their digital cameras. even though all were taking pictures there was nothing to take pictures of. i thought this was crazy but decided to try the next night free. it was another trip to the airport area but this tme we were on the bus. we saw nothing this night either. the third night they drove us out two hours into the country and we saw the lights on three different occasions during the tour.. it was amazing and so glad i went out each night to see the lights on my third trip. well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Awesome! For the first few hours thought we weren't going tosee the lights, but the tour leaders persevered and when the Lights came they were almost unbelieveable. Would recommend this to anyone in spite of the late finish!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour guide done their utmost to make sure we saw the Northern Lights. We were very lucky. She was helpful and very kind. Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great tour! The original date was Feb 24 the tour was postponed several nights due to visibility issues. We finally went in Feb 27. It was clear but the aurora did not show. We then went to a different location ehere we saw some but nothing spectacular. We then moved to another location where they were somewhat visible. The tour company said it was not good enough so they let us go out again at no additional cost. We selected Mar 1 as it was our anniversary. We spent the day at the Blue Lagoon and that evening the aurora was out with spectular viewing. I recommend this tour but would advise scheduling it early in your time in Iceland in case the weather causes a postponment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour guides (Jakob, Baldur and co). Even though we had to wait a while for the clouds to clear, they kept the group happy, despite the cold. Spectacular view of the Northern Lights that night too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Picked up from our hotel. Taken to national park approx 10:00pm. It was dark, very very cold but brilliant. Guide explained the stars on show and the Aurora was brill.

From USD $ 54.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message