4 star rating: Recommended 252 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 252 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sabyasachi G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We waited for four days till the tour went...and we cherish it forever...so lucky to have done and seen the Northern lights!!!!

Clare B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

the best thing I did on a 6 week Europe holiday. tour group was huge over 800, but were transported to a very remote area and move people staying in the buses. fantastic views of the lights, great photographic advise given by our bus leader. Despite the massive numbers on the tour, everything went on time and smoothly. couldn't praise the team more. will definatelly do this tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

True to its word, we were EASILY on for a second opportunity when the trip was determined to fall short of satisfaction for the client. We had good drivers on both occasions, enthusiastic, informative and patient guides on both outings and the Northern Lights did not disappoint. The only problem was that I was not sufficiently prepared on photo taking, so I was disappointed more with myself than with anything that was offered by viator. Thank you for great service and a wonderful experience. The Northern Lights show was spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Take very warm, waterproof clothing and be prepared to hang around in the cold, but truly unbelievable and worth every penny when you see the lights. Take a tripod for the pictures... amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent experience! We were lucky enough to see the Lights very early on and got a second, even better showing at the parliament field. Obviously, not guaranteed to get a showing but you can't go to Iceland and not do this trip

Lynne E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Coach took you to the National Park were it was in complete darkness and waited for the Northern Lights to appear. We were lucky to see the Lights dancing through the sky. On the way home coach took a further stop as the lights continued to dance through the sky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We got to see a great display of the Northern Lights.....what more can I say ?.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a great experience it was! We were lucky to see the Northern Lights. They were absolutely breath taking, not only green but also pink! The company that organized the trip is very professional. Both guide and driver were lovely. They really wanted to show us the best of the lights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved every second of the tour. Everything was well organized and we couldnt be more happier.
Thank you so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We arranged this for our first night just in case we didn't see them and we had two nights left. The arrangement with the ticket is if you don't see them you can use your ticket the next night and the next night and so on until you do. If you return home without seeing them your ticket is valid for two years. Now you can't grumble about that even though after 3 attempts we didn't see them!! The drivers that did all our trips from the coach firm Gray Line were absolutely superbe, driving over thick ice and not getting back until1.30am

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent trip. Recommended! Guide very knowledgeable. Take lots of warm layered clothes and shoes with a good grip as very icey.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour operator for our trip was Iceland Excursions/Grayline. We went twice as we did not see the lights first time. We were picked up from outside our hotel by feeder coach and driven to their offices by the Harbour. You have to go into their offices to exchange your Viator voucher for a ticket then get on a bigger coach which is waiting outside. (A tip for choosing your seat! Do not sit by the middle door. They cannot turn the emergency light off, it shines in your eyes and you cannot search the skies whilst driving for the lights.) They drive you to where the weather is best and do everything they can so you see the lights. The locations they choose have toilet facilities and a place to buy refreshments. Both Guides we had were brilliant and very informative. Definitely wear something warm! You cannot have too many layers on lol. It was freezing. Also take a torch and some snow grips for your shoes. It was very icy! We saw a brilliant Northern Lights display on our second attempt. Amazing! If you do not see the lights you can go again free of charge. You have to go to their office the next day and 're-book. Your ticket is valid for 2 years which is brilliant if you are short on time. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I got to see them faintly. Lucky enough to have clear cold skies. So many stars and clusters could be seen. Unfortunately they were that intense, but I still got to see them! Dress WARMLY if you are going in the winter.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour Guide was very informative and knowlegable.
Got a great visiblity of the Northern Lights, very surreal but well worth the trip!
Would have liked maybe a star map to acompany the trip to help identify the constellations?...

From USD $ 53.88

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message