4 star rating: Recommended 224 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 224 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This tour was the defining tour of my trip. It was a life goal to see the northern lights and they were able to provide me with a great spot and loads of information. They lights were amazing..check out the pic..can't wait to go back!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

We were lucky and saw the northern lights on our nights - the tour guide was very nice, she also told us about history and explain about the lights and also Icelandic customs, etc.. amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Shame we didn't get to see the Northern Lights but Viator managed to take us to the only place where there would be a gap in the cloud cover that evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great! We werent able to see the lights the first night so I was allowed to go a second night for free and we eventually saw the lights. Definitely take a camera that is capable of capturing low light images, regular cameras and cell phones won't capture the images

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Actually got a good view while driving to a spot to look for them. Driver pulled over and we all piled out to stare. Guide was great. Friendly and very knowledgeable. Would recommend it to anyone - and have.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

After one weather cancellation and one failed attempt to find the lights, the third time was the charm. I suggest you give a camera and tripod to the guide to take a photo that can sold to those without the proper camera to take a photo on their own. I could tell you how to set up your camera for the guides to use.

harrylcf
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Awesome time. Pretty lucky as the northern lights was on display for an hour plus!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I had heard mixed reviews of this tour, but when you are counting on a natural phenomenon, you never know what you are going to get. Our guide gave lots of information about the lights on the way and right when we showed up to Thingvellir, the lights appeared! It was very cold, but we stayed as long as the lights were performing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We booked this trip for the first full day we were there as we knew we may not see them first time.Good job we did as it took 3 nights of looking at the sky in the cold before we saw them,but they were so worth it.Had no trouble re booking onto the next days trip,staff helpful and friendly.Take warm clothes,and a camera with a long exposure of around 15-30 seconds, and a tripod, otherwise you wont get any photos.We were told by the guide that Sept ,Oct and Feb were the best months to see them-Good luck!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

I'm normally very sceptical about booking things on the internet but on this occasion I'm so glad I did. Everything about the trip was fantastic. The booking service, actually being collected from our hotel at the time agreed, the on board commentary and then the piece de la resistance actually being fortunate enough seeing the lights in the sky. It took about 1 1/2 hours to get dark enough but when it did WOW truly an amazing experience. Thanks Viator. Will def use again next time I travel.

Ngiet
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Sunday february 13 we unfortunately did not saw the Northern lights. The tour operator gave us the opporunity to do the trip again free of charge. Monday February 14 we did the trip again and fortunately we did saw the Northern ligths for a few minutes! After that you couldn't see the Northern lights with your eyes, but on photocamera the Northern lights did appear!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Outstanding, we were about to give up, but the guide insisted and it became a magical and majestic natural light show in the sky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Bus very punctual.We did not see lights on first night and went back next night free of charge but unfortunately did not see them again.Guide and driver did their upmost to see lights by driving to several locations but we were unlucky.Driver very professional as were the guides who had great sense of humour and kept us amused during the journey and were very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

It was great. Although we waited several hours to see the lights we eventually did. At first I was disappointed because no lights were visible to the eye, only to cameras, a big green cloud then came over and we got to see the lights. We had a good clear night sky. It takes a while to get to a really dark spot, but was well worth the wait.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We had a great time and highly recommend it. The guide was super friendly and told us a lot about Reykjavik and Iceland. Although we couldn't see anything the first night, they were more than happy to book us on another night, free of charge, and we did end up seeing the Northern Lights.

From USD $ 46.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message