4 star rating: Recommended 237 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 237 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ngiet
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Sunday february 13 we unfortunately did not saw the Northern lights. The tour operator gave us the opporunity to do the trip again free of charge. Monday February 14 we did the trip again and fortunately we did saw the Northern ligths for a few minutes! After that you couldn't see the Northern lights with your eyes, but on photocamera the Northern lights did appear!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Outstanding, we were about to give up, but the guide insisted and it became a magical and majestic natural light show in the sky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Bus very punctual.We did not see lights on first night and went back next night free of charge but unfortunately did not see them again.Guide and driver did their upmost to see lights by driving to several locations but we were unlucky.Driver very professional as were the guides who had great sense of humour and kept us amused during the journey and were very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

It was great. Although we waited several hours to see the lights we eventually did. At first I was disappointed because no lights were visible to the eye, only to cameras, a big green cloud then came over and we got to see the lights. We had a good clear night sky. It takes a while to get to a really dark spot, but was well worth the wait.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We had a great time and highly recommend it. The guide was super friendly and told us a lot about Reykjavik and Iceland. Although we couldn't see anything the first night, they were more than happy to book us on another night, free of charge, and we did end up seeing the Northern Lights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Simply breath taking, definitely a trip worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Brlliant, we were lucky that we saw the lights although obviously this is not guaranteed the anticpation is fun anyway. Our guide was great, very imformative and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Our tour guide was very good and spent a lot of time letting us wait and then see the northern lights; a special experience for everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We were extremely lucky that we saw the northern lights as soon as we got off the bus. I was expecting colours but they were just white but I have never been so cold in my life - temperature dropped to minus 10 and we were just stood in a car park for an hour. It's a very good offer because if you don't see them they will take you again and again for free until you do see them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a must-do if you're in Iceland during the winter. They were visible the night of my tour, but you do get the option of trying another night if you're not so lucky. Be sure and dress very warmly, as you'll be spending some time outdoors to capture photos.

Lesley R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

An excellent though very cold evening. We left at 8.00 and did not return until 2.00 in the morning, but we were taken right back to our hotel. The guide was extremely informative and spoke excellent English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

We saw the Northern Lights twice! Once at the well-chosen place where we were supposed to see them, the second time as the driver got a glimpse of the beginning of the phenomenon and drove us further to a darker place on a side road. Very nice guide and driver. A must for newcomers to Iceland!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I suppose having actually seen the Northern Lights cannot make the trip any less than wonderful... but be aware in case the weather is not the best night has to be completely clear, no clouds they will cancel and re-book you on the next day or any day you like. Well organised they call the hotel 30min before the pick up is due, we had two trips cancelled before going. The guys know what they do and the guide has a lof of knowledge, we got lucky and saw the lights after just an hour going around apparently it can last for a lot longer!. If you are planning on taking some photos I can only recommand doing a bit of research before to get the right settings and taking a tripod shutter will have to stay open for at least 15-20min. A must do in Iceland but please bear in mind seeing them is very VERY random!

SHAMBHAVI K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Although the tour was cancelled due to bad weather, the company offered an alternative for another evening. The experience was well worth it. The staff are very professional and made the trip very enjoyable.

Emma P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Local operator offers a free repeat tour if lights are not deemed to be a good enough show. We went two nights running and were lucky the second night. Excellent value. We would highly recommend this tour.

From USD $ 54.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message