4 star rating: Recommended 221 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  3 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Simply breath taking, definitely a trip worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Brlliant, we were lucky that we saw the lights although obviously this is not guaranteed the anticpation is fun anyway. Our guide was great, very imformative and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Our tour guide was very good and spent a lot of time letting us wait and then see the northern lights; a special experience for everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We were extremely lucky that we saw the northern lights as soon as we got off the bus. I was expecting colours but they were just white but I have never been so cold in my life - temperature dropped to minus 10 and we were just stood in a car park for an hour. It's a very good offer because if you don't see them they will take you again and again for free until you do see them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a must-do if you're in Iceland during the winter. They were visible the night of my tour, but you do get the option of trying another night if you're not so lucky. Be sure and dress very warmly, as you'll be spending some time outdoors to capture photos.

Lesley R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

An excellent though very cold evening. We left at 8.00 and did not return until 2.00 in the morning, but we were taken right back to our hotel. The guide was extremely informative and spoke excellent English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

We saw the Northern Lights twice! Once at the well-chosen place where we were supposed to see them, the second time as the driver got a glimpse of the beginning of the phenomenon and drove us further to a darker place on a side road. Very nice guide and driver. A must for newcomers to Iceland!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I suppose having actually seen the Northern Lights cannot make the trip any less than wonderful... but be aware in case the weather is not the best night has to be completely clear, no clouds they will cancel and re-book you on the next day or any day you like. Well organised they call the hotel 30min before the pick up is due, we had two trips cancelled before going. The guys know what they do and the guide has a lof of knowledge, we got lucky and saw the lights after just an hour going around apparently it can last for a lot longer!. If you are planning on taking some photos I can only recommand doing a bit of research before to get the right settings and taking a tripod shutter will have to stay open for at least 15-20min. A must do in Iceland but please bear in mind seeing them is very VERY random!

SHAMBHAVI K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Although the tour was cancelled due to bad weather, the company offered an alternative for another evening. The experience was well worth it. The staff are very professional and made the trip very enjoyable.

Emma P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Local operator offers a free repeat tour if lights are not deemed to be a good enough show. We went two nights running and were lucky the second night. Excellent value. We would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was amazing!! We had a great time, it is very cold so make sure you bundle up but the tour guides were so friendly and will answer all of your questions!

Mee Fong L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I have booked this tour on Monday but since it was too nice and clear weather on Sunday, so we have change our mind to take this tour on Sunday night. Unfortunately we couldn't see any Northern light under the good weather even though we have been driving through around 5hours in dark and try to find the northern light. Anyway, the agent allowing we to come back on Monday for this trip absolutely free. This is what make me think about this is worth trip to go as they will make sure you can see the Northern light as possible.

Paul M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour - and we saw the lights. Highly recommended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

picked up from the hotel on time transferred to main bus drove for 45 minutes guide was unsure whether we would see the lights as it was slightly cloudy. however another 10 minutes of patience saw a slight flicker in the sky - bus changed direction and we stopped in a lane in complete darkness and there were the lights flickering across the sky. unfortunately no colours but spooky got some reasonable pictures using a long exposure. I am truly grateful to have seen them as people in our hotel had mised them the night before!! sropped back in the town centre at our request.

Susan B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This is a must do trip to do in Iceland during the winter months. I was very lucky when I went and saw those amazing lights, it all depends on the weather though. Wish I'd had a professional camera though for the proof.

From USD $ 49.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 18+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH33

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message