5 star rating: Highly Recommended 55 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  Minimum 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 55 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Highly recommended what an awesome experience a must do when in Iceland. These horses are truly amazing the guides and the beautiful sceneries all worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My friend and I had a terrific time on this tour. We had arrived from the US early that morning and were quite jet lagged. After checking in to our hotel we took a quick cat nap and then were off to ride. Great way to get over jet lag! The riding facility was in a nice location, not too far from Reykjavik but still in the country. They were organized and very professional. I loved the fact that the guides spit up the group so that the beginners did not slow down the intermediate and advanced riders. Even better, we met half way through the ride so that those beginners that felt comfortable moving up to the advanced group. I have been fortunate to ride all over the world, these Icelandic horses are amazing! Super sweet character, they move at a sweet pace and smooth tolt gate!
Following the ride, we had to wait a bit for our transportation to the Blue Lagoon, but it was nice time to get a sandwich and buy a 66 degree sweater. Note, the Blue Lagoon part is transportation only, make sure you purchase your entrance fee prior on the blue lagoon site. We spent almost 3 hours there soaking and scrubbing and took a break for a salad. The tour offered several options for transportation back to your hotel in Reykjavik. Great way to get over jet lag!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing experience - the horseback riding was well organized and so much fun. The lagoon is an absolute must-see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What an INCREDIBLE experience- definitely a must-do while visiting Reykjavik. The Viking horse farm is family-run and is situated on Videy Island, in Reykjavik harbor. The staff is warm and friendly and is overly generous with their time. Our horseback riding tour was supposed to be two hours long, but our guide so how much we were enjoying it and gave us an extra hour of trotting and cantering (the second half of the tour splits into beginners and more experienced riders). The views of the island are idyllic and truly breathtaking. I could have stayed for another few hours! The Blue Lagoon was another surreal experience- a hot spring in the midst of lava fields, where people from all over the world gather to relax and enjoy the wonder that is Iceland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time! The horses were amazing! They are energetic yet they took care of two dozen beginners and they gave a few experienced riders a GREAT time! The farm was pristine and the tour guides were knowledgeable. My friends had never ridden before and they loved it. Plus, they are very tall and the ponies were accommodating - even of my husband who weighs over 200 lbs. The Blue Lagoon was relaxing and amazing. It was great having the bus take us all around. We rented a car but we never had to use it because the tours were so easy and efficient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our day riding and then relaxing, but apparently we were picked up by a driver from another tour company and taken to a farm that we hadn't signed up for. They were kind enough to honor our tickets, and there setup was super; therefore I can't comment on how the riding would have been otherwise. We are experienced riders and had a tour that gave us suitable mounts and trail ride- I think we lucked out with the mix up! Later, they returned us to where we were supposed to be, and off we went to the blue lagoon. Entrance fee is not included, and that is expensive, but we relaxed for several hours and it was amazing! It truly is a unique experience. It was a wonderful day with plenty of time at both activities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great expereince. Had a really enjoyable time. The family run stables was extemely well run and equiped. The horses were lovely natured and well looked after.
The staff we very welcoming and myself and girlfriend were well looked after, as we were not too experiened on the horses.
Trip was advertised as 1 hour, however it was more like 2.5 hours, nice gentle start, then the pace picked up towards the end,

GREAT FUN! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED....!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Amazing hour or 2 long ride with cute viking horses and a friendly staff. Just be ready for a body ache the next day if you are not a constant rider.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A fantastic day out. With no horse riding experience I wasn't sure how this trip would go but it turned out to be the best day I had in Iceland. Collected at hotel and taken to the farm which is family-run and very friendly. Kitted out in overalls, gloves and hat and intruduced to a lovely, gentle Icelandic horse. Rudiments of riding explained but these horses really work on autopilot. A lovely ride through gorgeous scenery followed by coffee and a ride back into Reykjavik.

After the great morning on horseback it's great to carry on to the Blue Lagoon where you can hire towel, robe and then relax in the warm springs before choosing what time you wish to get the bus back to Reykjavik.

If you only do one tour in Iceland on a tight schedule, this is the one!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent horse riding and the Icelandic horses are exceptionally smooth and sure. A safe and well managed operation for both beginners and experienced riders.

The Blue Lagoon is a strange experience to be lazing in constant hot water outside on a cold day in moonlike surrounding scenery. I've never been under a hot waterfall before!

It should be said that ALL the transport arrangements throughout our stay in Iceland were spot on - all the time and every time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was perhaps the best day I've ever had!!!
We traveled by a short bus ride out into the country- The folks on this horse farm were so friendly and the horses had wonderful temperments! They were so sweet! Note: if you are an inexperienced rider, they do NOT give you any tips or instructions. Even though the horses do not run (unless you wanted them to!) they can trot very fast and there were a few people in our group that were a little freaked out! I ENJOYED THE RIDE! A few times our guide allowed me to gallop and it was really fun!
We then headed for The Blue Lagoon. This place is AMAZING !! What better way to spend the afternoon after a 2 hour ride, then with a soak in this place!! Wow! The employees were very helpful, locker rooms clean, and the pool itself was spectacular!!!
If you only have one day in Iceland, do this outing! Fantastic day and I highly reccomend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Perfect tour! We went first to the horse fam, where people were really nice and the tour was awesome. Two levels were available: beginner and advanced rider. Then we went back to Reykjavik for about 30minutes (I ate my sandwich there but you can also buy something at the Blue Lagoon)and took the bus to go to the Blue Lagoon. The bus drivers were really nice, and we could chose between several hours for the pick up. Great day with them!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved the horseback riding but it was definitely different from what we were accustomed to in the US. Even though the Icelandic horses are smaller, there was no stepstool to get on the horse - and they made you get off the horse mid way, so the horse had a break (not easy to do if you are short).....also this was more like riding English style than Western which is typically what novices are assigned in US. Our group was about half first time riders and half more experienced riders. That being said this ride had way more fast trots that one is used to when you don't ride oftem. It can be a little intimidating to new riders, but I do have to say the horses were incredibly calm and stable and I never felt there would be issues. Just know that you will go up/down hills - through a few streams/rivers and steep embankments - the horses are stable, but if you don't ride often might be a little scary. The owners of the stable are great and help you get all the gear on (they provide jackets, boots, hats, rain pants, gloves, scarfs, etc..). Blue Lagoon was heaven ......and much appreciated after the horse ride. I am always sore after riding since I don't do often, but not this time. Know that the Blue Lagoon part is only the bus ride to/from - doesn't include your entry fee. Treat yourself to the spa package which includes lunch buffet! If you love sushi, herring, fish, lamb - you will enjoy! Dressing rooms are typical European - no changing rooms, be ready for that. If you have time (and money) get one of the in water massages, I have never had such a relaxing massage.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The horse stables were fantastic. A very sweet lady bundled us up and put us in rain suits for the ride. I'm so glad she did! It was February, raining, and freezing, and still the most fun I've had in a long time! Don't miss your chance to ride these fantastic horsed through this beautiful scenery. Warming up in the Blue Lagoon afterwards was the cherry on top. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent trip, the staff were friendly and helpful and the experience unforgettable. The Lagoon was amazing especially once it was dark. Advisable to book a treatment in advance we had to stay for the last bus as all the treatments were booked until 5pm and we didn't want to go home without the experience.

From USD $ 116.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH31

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message