• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  Minimum 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viking Horse-Riding Tour and Blue Lagoon from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Amazing hour or 2 long ride with cute viking horses and a friendly staff. Just be ready for a body ache the next day if you are not a constant rider.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A fantastic day out. With no horse riding experience I wasn't sure how this trip would go but it turned out to be the best day I had in Iceland. Collected at hotel and taken to the farm which is family-run and very friendly. Kitted out in overalls, gloves and hat and intruduced to a lovely, gentle Icelandic horse. Rudiments of riding explained but these horses really work on autopilot. A lovely ride through gorgeous scenery followed by coffee and a ride back into Reykjavik.

After the great morning on horseback it's great to carry on to the Blue Lagoon where you can hire towel, robe and then relax in the warm springs before choosing what time you wish to get the bus back to Reykjavik.

If you only do one tour in Iceland on a tight schedule, this is the one!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent horse riding and the Icelandic horses are exceptionally smooth and sure. A safe and well managed operation for both beginners and experienced riders.

The Blue Lagoon is a strange experience to be lazing in constant hot water outside on a cold day in moonlike surrounding scenery. I've never been under a hot waterfall before!

It should be said that ALL the transport arrangements throughout our stay in Iceland were spot on - all the time and every time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was perhaps the best day I've ever had!!!
We traveled by a short bus ride out into the country- The folks on this horse farm were so friendly and the horses had wonderful temperments! They were so sweet! Note: if you are an inexperienced rider, they do NOT give you any tips or instructions. Even though the horses do not run (unless you wanted them to!) they can trot very fast and there were a few people in our group that were a little freaked out! I ENJOYED THE RIDE! A few times our guide allowed me to gallop and it was really fun!
We then headed for The Blue Lagoon. This place is AMAZING !! What better way to spend the afternoon after a 2 hour ride, then with a soak in this place!! Wow! The employees were very helpful, locker rooms clean, and the pool itself was spectacular!!!
If you only have one day in Iceland, do this outing! Fantastic day and I highly reccomend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Perfect tour! We went first to the horse fam, where people were really nice and the tour was awesome. Two levels were available: beginner and advanced rider. Then we went back to Reykjavik for about 30minutes (I ate my sandwich there but you can also buy something at the Blue Lagoon)and took the bus to go to the Blue Lagoon. The bus drivers were really nice, and we could chose between several hours for the pick up. Great day with them!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved the horseback riding but it was definitely different from what we were accustomed to in the US. Even though the Icelandic horses are smaller, there was no stepstool to get on the horse - and they made you get off the horse mid way, so the horse had a break (not easy to do if you are short).....also this was more like riding English style than Western which is typically what novices are assigned in US. Our group was about half first time riders and half more experienced riders. That being said this ride had way more fast trots that one is used to when you don't ride oftem. It can be a little intimidating to new riders, but I do have to say the horses were incredibly calm and stable and I never felt there would be issues. Just know that you will go up/down hills - through a few streams/rivers and steep embankments - the horses are stable, but if you don't ride often might be a little scary. The owners of the stable are great and help you get all the gear on (they provide jackets, boots, hats, rain pants, gloves, scarfs, etc..). Blue Lagoon was heaven ......and much appreciated after the horse ride. I am always sore after riding since I don't do often, but not this time. Know that the Blue Lagoon part is only the bus ride to/from - doesn't include your entry fee. Treat yourself to the spa package which includes lunch buffet! If you love sushi, herring, fish, lamb - you will enjoy! Dressing rooms are typical European - no changing rooms, be ready for that. If you have time (and money) get one of the in water massages, I have never had such a relaxing massage.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The horse stables were fantastic. A very sweet lady bundled us up and put us in rain suits for the ride. I'm so glad she did! It was February, raining, and freezing, and still the most fun I've had in a long time! Don't miss your chance to ride these fantastic horsed through this beautiful scenery. Warming up in the Blue Lagoon afterwards was the cherry on top. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent trip, the staff were friendly and helpful and the experience unforgettable. The Lagoon was amazing especially once it was dark. Advisable to book a treatment in advance we had to stay for the last bus as all the treatments were booked until 5pm and we didn't want to go home without the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

I had an extraordinary time ! I was in Iceland for a day with a layover and decided to do this. The only thing I could say that might be taken as a negative was the way the trip was laid out. I was under the impression we'd take the horses to the lagoon. Instead, we were taken to the horse farm, where we rode for several hours through the countryside, taken back to the visitors' office, and then picked up to go to the lagoon. The lagoon was an additional fee and the trip could very easily fill an entire day. Also, when you start out on the horses, you think, "This is nothing," but then they start to run... watch out :D Your butt may be sore for a few days. Overall, I had a wonderful time. If you're in good heath and your body can take the horse ride, do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Nice tour. Horse-Riding takes almost 2 hours instead of 1 hour, which is good. Blue Lagoon is amazing place. We'll definitely go again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

An amazing time! They were so friendly! Warning: if you have rode a horse before but are not very comfortable on them make sure to say you have never rode before and you will get a less experienced horse (it will walk most of the way, not gallop).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Fabulous! All the horses are amazing and the views are breathtaking. Staff was very helpful. Embla has the best face and Langenesse has a gentle spirit. Blue Lagoon is an experience beyond words!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was AWESOME!!!
The people were very friendly and helpful. The horses were amazing. This excursion was the highlight of my trip to Iceland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The tour itself was fabulous, however, my experience with Viator--not so much. Their customer service is terrible,. I called regarding a question about my tour and both women thatI spoke to were not only unhelpful, but they were very rude and abrupt. I wish I would have waited until I got to Iceland to book directly with Icelandic Excursions. I will never use Viator again. I advise you to either book through another third party vendor or try to book directly with Icelandic Excursions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

A thoroughly enjoyable day: pick-ups/transfers were punctual and straight-forward. Starting the day off with some horse riding and finishing it with a relaxing few hours in the Blue Lagoon were ideal companions, and a wonderful way to end a fantastic long weekend in Iceland!

From USD $ 127.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH31

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message