5 star rating: Highly Recommended 44 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 44 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Even though it was pouring rain, I had a wonderful time! The trail was beautiful and the horses were so much fun. The farm had all the rain-proof coats and pants that we needed and it kept us warm and comfortable. After the ride we warmed up with some delicious soup and hot coffee. The tour bus part was a little rushed and I would have liked to explore some of the locations at a slower pace, but since I only had a few days in Iceland, this was a nice way to see it all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Best, most comfortable and most well behaved horses we've ever been on. Also the horse farm was very pleasant to visit and the hospitality and warmth of the owners was incredible. Would definitely do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a fantastic time and the folks at Laxnes Horse Farm were wonderful. The horses were very safe (I had a broken wrist and still managed to ride) but we also were able to trot and canter a bit on the trails. I might even suggest trying to squeeze two horse rides into your trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It is of so much fun! The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the tour is just magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was great! Very friendly staff. The trail was about 2 hours long, well worth your money. It rained on and off and they gave everyone water proof gear. A lot of celebrities have visited the place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Viking horse riding was so much fun. I recommend having lunch at the horse farm after the ride. The soup and breads were amazing.
Great guide on the Gulfoss and Geysir tour. I learned a lot about Iceland, both historically and geologically and saw 2 beautiful places..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely fantastic from the driver to the lunch. I am afraid of horses but these horses are very easy to ride and the scenery is spectacular. If you aren't a rider, wear thick jeans or your thighs will bruise. Exceptional and plan on going again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I give this trip five full stars plus! The horseback riding hosted by a small family farm provided the most fun of the day. My husband, a very beginning rider, said it was the best part of the whole day. I am an experienced rider and really enjoyed the small group, riding these wonderful small horses at their special 'tolt' gait, and the incredible staff at the Horse Farm. They provided a delicious soup, breads, strong coffee, and pastries as well as answered my many questions about the kind and very willing Icelandic horses. Seven thumbs up on this part. The trip by bus to the Gulfoss waterfalls and the 'Geisers' were great. The driver was very safe and the guide provided rich information about the history and the geographic of the countryside and the places we visited. This was a well-organized tour. We saw everything promised with good time at each place to enjoy what we came to view. We were back in the city on time having learned about and seen some of the natural beauty outside of Reykjavik. Thank you Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Exciting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Knowledgeable and patient, very attentive as to matching the skills of the rider to an appropriate horse. The ride itself is a wonderful trip out into the countryside and the dogs are absolutely delightful. I have never seen a happier dog than the one that trailed after our group of riders running merrily through the fields. The simple lunch offered after our ride ( consisting of soup and bread ) was the most delicious meal I ever had. A perfect excursion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

What a wonderful day! The organization was perfect, our guide was funny and well prepared. We first had a very nice horse ride crossing small rivers and enjoying the landscape. Just one note on the ride, they could have divided the group in 2 smaller groups, one for beginners and one for advanced. While we waited for the bus at the farm, we ate a good soup and had a chat with the locals. The tour continued to Thingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir, amazing places and nice weather. We could have had a longer break in Gullfoss. Highly recommended tour!

Philip M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a brilliant time on this excursion. I've never ridden before and survived smiling. The visit to Gulfoss and Geysir was breathtaking, especially in the winter conditions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

our tour guide was just amazing. He was basically our introduction to Iceland and his impression will last a lifetime

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Lots of fun packed into a day. I have recommended this to other friends traveling to Iceland.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I was a little disappointed with the horse riding - we went in a circle around the farm; granted we were on the horses for quite a while and the staff were EXCEPTIONALLY welcoming and friendly. The horses were quite docile and big teddy bears. Wishing for better views - maybe suggest different route? But you leave directly from and back to the farm, so only so much you can see in that vacinity. For the Gulfoss and Geysir Express part - AMAZING. Our tour guide took us to a few different places along the way, was funny and entertaining, and only six of us on the tour which made it that much more enjoyable =)

From USD $ 131.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message