5 star rating: Highly Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

What a wonderful day! The organization was perfect, our guide was funny and well prepared. We first had a very nice horse ride crossing small rivers and enjoying the landscape. Just one note on the ride, they could have divided the group in 2 smaller groups, one for beginners and one for advanced. While we waited for the bus at the farm, we ate a good soup and had a chat with the locals. The tour continued to Thingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir, amazing places and nice weather. We could have had a longer break in Gullfoss. Highly recommended tour!

Philip M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a brilliant time on this excursion. I've never ridden before and survived smiling. The visit to Gulfoss and Geysir was breathtaking, especially in the winter conditions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

our tour guide was just amazing. He was basically our introduction to Iceland and his impression will last a lifetime

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Lots of fun packed into a day. I have recommended this to other friends traveling to Iceland.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Loved our horse riding tour in the morning. The horses were adorable and easy to ride. The area we rode them through was stunning, even though it was cloudy and rained off and on. The afternoon tour was excellent - we had a wonderful tour guide who told us all kinds of interesting things about Iceland and Icelanders between destinations. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't feel rushed at any of the stops. I'm docking a star because we had about an hour and a half between horse riding and the bus tour and there was confusion about when the bus would pick us up for the second half. There was tasty soup and bread at the farm for 1000 ISK but I wish I had brought some extra snacks to make it a full lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

As I wanted to ride horses, see Gulfoss Falls, and did not really care about seeing the Blue Lagoon (not something the locals recommend though most foreigners would recommend), this tour was perfect for me.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The horse riding was fantastic!! So nice that they let you do some proper gallopping! NB. You need to pay for the lunch as it is not included in the overall price (I did not take any money with me, but luckily someone else on the tour lent me some - otherwise I would have starved!!) The rest of the tour was a bit rushed and we ended up seeing the Geysirs in the dark as we didn't get there till 5pm.Perhaps doing them as two sepparate tours would have been better.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The excursion was very enjoyable and we have no regrets. The tour guide talked too much and the talk was characterized by too much bad humor and sarcasm, which made it difficult which facts to believe and which not to believe--not a good feature for a tour that aims to inform about a place's history and local lore. Other than that, the tour was great -- horses were excellent, stable workers very nice and helpful, the bread and soup delicious. We would have appreciated more time at the first stop on the Gulfoss/Geysir tour so we could have walked down along a nearby bridge. Aside from that, no complaints.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was my first time riding a horse so was a little nervous, but the people at the farm where we did the horse riding were very nice and made sure we were all comfortable and matched with the right horse. I thoroughly enjoyed the horse riding having a permanent smile on my face the whole time, and the scenery was beautiful. We were welcomed back with homemade soup and bread for lunch, which you had to pay a little extra for. Going on after to Gulfoss and the Geysir was also a wonderful experience, and rpovided a full and tiring day in all. My only complaint was the coach journey to Gulfoss, as the roads were very bumpy and the driver drove way too fast. Everytime we went over a bump people were jolted about in the back of the coach, which was amusing at first, but when someone was jolted so much that they hit their head on the roof above it ceased to be funny any more. A few people told the driver about this and fortunately he drove much slower on the way back. All in all though a very enjoyable trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Expensive, but most things are in Iceland! This was a great tour and all round good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Horseback riding was fantastic! The remainder of the bus tour was good, although the tour guide could have been more engaging. It was great to get to see all of the golden circle spots in one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Even though the weather was appalling, the horse riding was amazing - friendly horses, even friendlier people. We stayed and had some homemade soup for lunch while we waited for the coach which, considering we were soaked, was most welcome !

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Poorly coordinated pick-up and extended waiting time marred the first part of the trip. We were picked up at the hotel, dropped downtown, waited 1/2 hour, picked up again, then the tour bus made a stop at our hotel! A waste of a full hour. Tour was terrific, though.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The Gulfoss and Geysir express worked well, because we saw Thingvellir as part of our snorkelling tour. If you book the horseback riding, know that it's quite a long trek. My friend thoroughly loved it, but as an inexperienced rider I would have been much happier with just an hour's ride.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Saw someone fall off a horse, was really fun.

From USD $ 159.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2970AH27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message