4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mainz, Germany
  • Duration:  1 Day

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the KD Rhine Pass from Mainz. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was great and timeous. However not enough options for getting off at different towns. Would be nice if KD had more boats operating.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was looking for a 'hop on hop off' type ticket for Rhine but difficult to find. Ticket is good going long distances, but check standard prices on a website before booking if only going short distances. It also seems that you can only get off/on a boat once (ie not unlimited hop on hop off in a day)

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip but NOT necessary to board in Mainz, which would have been out of our way due to where we were staying. Luckily there was a Port right in Assmannshausen, Germany...where our Hotel was located. Boarding locations should be a part of Viators information. Especially for us First time travelers.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic. If we were to do this trip again, we would start in calone and go all the way down to Minez. Great service. The only problem was the manager of the crew smoked constantly and the smell would come into the dinning area. I mentioned it to a crew member but nothing was corrected.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the boat first so had the pleasure of picking whatever seat we wanted. We had 2 staff members serve us, one was great and one not. We got off at St Goar and explored the castle. Was amazing. Little long but worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The Rhine River is amazing and was one of the highlights of the trip. My only complaint: if you have a German rail pass, you may not need to purchase this pass - check to see if your rail pass covers the KD Rhine cruises. There are a lot of castles along the Rhine and with this pass, you have the flexibility to get off the boat and spend time in a few of the towns. I got off in Bacharach and St. Goar to visit Rheinfels Castle. Great views the entire way from Mainz to Koblenz.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was fantastic! Loved the service and facilities on board got some great pics. Loved Rudeshiem would recommend as a stopover along the way

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A lovely tour on the Rhine. We went from Mainz to Boppard and then returned on the same boat. We could have changed boats and gone further up the Rhine but found the boat trip so relaxing that we decided to stay and enjoy it. The views were amazing and there was good commentary on the boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We stayed overnight in Mainz and started our Rhine cruise from there. I would suggest that Viator let those who have booked know the street intersection where one must enter the dock area, as well as providing a bird's eye view map. If we had traveled by bus, instead of by taxi, I have no doubt we would have missed the departure time. However, we had an experienced cabbie, who got us there with a half-hour to spare. Keep in mind, Viator, that lots of your guests have never before done this activity. That said, here is the good part: Boarding was very good, no hassles. Finding a nice view from the boat was easy, there are lots of very good seats from which to view the river and sights, both inside the boat and out on the deck. There were a lot more castles than I thought we would see - many, many nice towns and lots of castles. I was very happy with the rate of speed, the food on board, the announcements of the castles, the crew, the restrooms, the chairs and indoor seats. I would highly recommend this tour. The price is a VERY good value. We saw a lot and had a good time. We disembarked in Koblenz (could have used directions to the rail station) and had a good walk through the town. I am very glad that we chose this Viator tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We very much enjoyed our Rhine trip, the morning was very cool but could enjoy from inside just fine. We would recommend this to anyone, it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We took the train back to Mainz from Koblenz getting off in a couple small towns on the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We used the pass to travel from Mainz to Cologne.It was a cheap and scenic way to get from one place to another. Got the Rhine river cruise, which is magic, with a ride from point A to point B for 30euros. It's an 11 hour journey but worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We boarded at Rudesheim (where we had stayed the night before). The boat left at 9:15 AM, and went up the Rhine River to Koblenz arriving a little after 1 pm. We were told there that the return boat to Rudesheim left at 2 pm and would arrive at 8 PM! The ride was 4 hours one way, and then 6 hours back! So, we had to incur the expense of a bus and then a train from Koblenz to Rudesheim. An extra expense that we weren't expecting.
The boat ride was really nice though. Really nice!

I would only suggest that you go part of the way to Koblenz (maybe to Bacharach) and then return from there to your starting point at an earlier hour than 8.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We were lucky to be on their newest boat which was large and comfortable. Service was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Relaxing Day

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

It was wonderful! Seeing the castles, vineyards, and towns were a plus. Definitely worth the trip! We wished we could have gotten off and on more often to enjoy each town.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

A beautiful low cost way to cruise the Rhine. Get in line early (~20 minutes) if you want to sit at a table on the main deck...they fill up fast. Although the sun deck vistas are beautiful, just remember to bring a hat! The boat was packed after just a few stops so the earlier stop you get on, the better. Our plan was to hop on and off of the boat at different locations, but found that the better idea was to pick a destination down the river (like Koblenz) and then take the regional trains back to stop at some of the towns. Usually there are trains every hour. All in all a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Nice cruise from Mainz to Koblenz (6 hours). Cool to see castles on the Rhine. Train on both ends about a 15-20 min walk from dock. A little hard to hear announcer on top deck, but they do speak English. Beer, soft drinks, lunch available. One note: If you print your "voucher" online, you still need to stop by the K-D kiosk to trade it in for a ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant day. Unfortunately what should have been a 1 ship journeyfrom Mainz to Cologne turned out to be a succession of 3 ships of varying quality.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

This was a fun, relaxing trip down the Rhine. We saw a castle almost every 5 minutes! Stunning views of the countryside!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

anyone in the area of the Rhine should take this cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We travelled up and down the Rhine from Bacharach to St Goar and up to Rudesheim. All three boats were comfortable with good restaurants and gave information about the castles in all the passengers' languages. We were able to explore St Goar and Rudesheim briefly before catching the next boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was easy to book with Viator and the administration and cruise staff were very excellent. The cruise was amazing in terms of sights but very crowded.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Good value. Clean and spacious boat. Lots of stops which allow you to choose where you want to get off. Good sound system and the commentary was in several languages including english. The food on the boat was very good and I was surprised by the variety

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It would be extremely helpful to provide fixed GPS coordinates and other launch site descriptions. Rainy limited our ability to enjoy fresh air and views at times. Even with the weather limits, the trip was very beautiful and informative..

From USD $ 34.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3320KDRHINEMAINZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message