4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mainz, Germany
  • Duration:  1 Day

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the KD Rhine Pass from Mainz. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a fun and relaxing way to get from Frankfurt to Duesseldorf. We took the first half of the tour where all the castles are, got off at Koblenz and then caught a train the rest of the way north. The second half of the tour is through more industrialized areas. We suggest that you purchase additional information on the castles; there are maps of the Rhine and its castles available at many of the ports, for example. The narration on the boat is good but leaves you wanting more and is sometimes hard to hear if everyone is talking. Bring a windbreaker and a hat. It was chilly in the morning and then sunny and very hot by 10 AM. Bring snacks, too, if you want to eat up on the outdoor deck.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The booking, online ticket printing and easy acceptance by the agent at the gang-plank was simple and convenient. It worked just as we all hoped internet booking should go! We had great weather, the food on board while limited, was good and not overly expensive. The choice of beer and wine was likewise. In short, the trip from Mainz to Koln was great and gave us a good orientation for the weeks drive we subsequently took along the shore.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

We really enjoyed this trip. The highlight is the stretch from Mainz to Koblenz - Koblenz to Koln is more industrial. The full trip does take 12 hours, but full food and drink is available on the entire journey.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip not crowded at all . We went from Mainz to Rudesheim and had a wonderful day.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. Some of the staff not so much. The brochures and the schedule are less than user friendly. I would do it again but now I am better prepared to know what and what not to expect.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was great and timeous. However not enough options for getting off at different towns. Would be nice if KD had more boats operating.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was looking for a 'hop on hop off' type ticket for Rhine but difficult to find. Ticket is good going long distances, but check standard prices on a website before booking if only going short distances. It also seems that you can only get off/on a boat once (ie not unlimited hop on hop off in a day)

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Wonderful trip but NOT necessary to board in Mainz, which would have been out of our way due to where we were staying. Luckily there was a Port right in Assmannshausen, Germany...where our Hotel was located. Boarding locations should be a part of Viators information. Especially for us First time travelers.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic. If we were to do this trip again, we would start in calone and go all the way down to Minez. Great service. The only problem was the manager of the crew smoked constantly and the smell would come into the dinning area. I mentioned it to a crew member but nothing was corrected.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the boat first so had the pleasure of picking whatever seat we wanted. We had 2 staff members serve us, one was great and one not. We got off at St Goar and explored the castle. Was amazing. Little long but worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Using the Viator ticket at the KD Rhine window was a breeze - there were no issues with that. We boarded the boat in Mainz and got off in Koblenz (walked through town - although its a bit far so you may want to take a cab) and took the train back to Mainz. There is reasonably priced food and drink available on board and plenty of seating (at least in mid September!). The only thing I could say which could be improved is clearer information on where to board the KD Rhine Boats (perhaps a map with some streets on it or an address) - we happily found it to be closer than we expected. If you go in at the FIschtorplatz in Mainz you can't miss it. Also, the Viator tickets maybe should say to exchange your voucher for a ticket at the booth (we did this anyways) but some may find this confusing. Happy sailing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The Rhine River is amazing and was one of the highlights of the trip. My only complaint: if you have a German rail pass, you may not need to purchase this pass - check to see if your rail pass covers the KD Rhine cruises. There are a lot of castles along the Rhine and with this pass, you have the flexibility to get off the boat and spend time in a few of the towns. I got off in Bacharach and St. Goar to visit Rheinfels Castle. Great views the entire way from Mainz to Koblenz.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was fantastic! Loved the service and facilities on board got some great pics. Loved Rudeshiem would recommend as a stopover along the way

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A lovely tour on the Rhine. We went from Mainz to Boppard and then returned on the same boat. We could have changed boats and gone further up the Rhine but found the boat trip so relaxing that we decided to stay and enjoy it. The views were amazing and there was good commentary on the boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We stayed overnight in Mainz and started our Rhine cruise from there. I would suggest that Viator let those who have booked know the street intersection where one must enter the dock area, as well as providing a bird's eye view map. If we had traveled by bus, instead of by taxi, I have no doubt we would have missed the departure time. However, we had an experienced cabbie, who got us there with a half-hour to spare. Keep in mind, Viator, that lots of your guests have never before done this activity. That said, here is the good part: Boarding was very good, no hassles. Finding a nice view from the boat was easy, there are lots of very good seats from which to view the river and sights, both inside the boat and out on the deck. There were a lot more castles than I thought we would see - many, many nice towns and lots of castles. I was very happy with the rate of speed, the food on board, the announcements of the castles, the crew, the restrooms, the chairs and indoor seats. I would highly recommend this tour. The price is a VERY good value. We saw a lot and had a good time. We disembarked in Koblenz (could have used directions to the rail station) and had a good walk through the town. I am very glad that we chose this Viator tour.

From USD $ 38.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3320KDRHINEMAINZ

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message