Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Nice cruise from Mainz to Koblenz (6 hours). Cool to see castles on the Rhine. Train on both ends about a 15-20 min walk from dock. A little hard to hear announcer on top deck, but they do speak English. Beer, soft drinks, lunch available. One note: If you print your "voucher" online, you still need to stop by the K-D kiosk to trade it in for a ticket

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant day. Unfortunately what should have been a 1 ship journeyfrom Mainz to Cologne turned out to be a succession of 3 ships of varying quality.

Karen R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

This was a fun, relaxing trip down the Rhine. We saw a castle almost every 5 minutes! Stunning views of the countryside!

Lise S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

anyone in the area of the Rhine should take this cruise

Clare A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We travelled up and down the Rhine from Bacharach to St Goar and up to Rudesheim. All three boats were comfortable with good restaurants and gave information about the castles in all the passengers' languages. We were able to explore St Goar and Rudesheim briefly before catching the next boat.

Stephanie H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

It was easy to book with Viator and the administration and cruise staff were very excellent. The cruise was amazing in terms of sights but very crowded.

deborah l

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Good value. Clean and spacious boat. Lots of stops which allow you to choose where you want to get off. Good sound system and the commentary was in several languages including english. The food on the boat was very good and I was surprised by the variety

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It would be extremely helpful to provide fixed GPS coordinates and other launch site descriptions. Rainy limited our ability to enjoy fresh air and views at times. Even with the weather limits, the trip was very beautiful and informative..

Ralph M South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Great cruise with magnificent sites but gets boring if you stay on the boat too long. Recommend you get off and explore some of the towns along the Rhine.

Richard W S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was a very good trip after the problems were resolved. Our GPS took us to the wrong destination. I would suggest the address is spelled out making it very clear on your ad. Also, there was not a very good sign or identifiable markings for the boarding of the ship. We were in Mainz in plenty of time to get on the ship however because we could not find where to board we missed it and had to drive to the next town to board. We called when getting close to Mainz to find where to go and the lady who answered the phone was not helpful at all. The man in the booth might have told us we would have to cross the ferry when we got to the next town but we didn't have any idea about that and almost missed that one too. The traffic in Mainz was very bad so it is a good idea to let people know this so they can go especially early so not to miss the cruise. The boat was nice...meal was excellent. Good prices. The staff were very nice and helpful. The trip was beautiful and I have a lot of wonderful pictures. I would rate the trip as wonderful and we want to do it again as people come to visit here from the states. It would have just been really nice to have a couple tidbits of information beforehand to assist us getting aboard. Of course having the GPS take us to the wrong area did not help.

Frederick S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Excellent trip and would recommend it toall.

Robert K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Relaxing way to see the historic Rhine valley

Laurie R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We went from Rudesheim to Cologne. The trip was very pleasant. Services on the boat were very adequate. Our group had an excellent time. The only drawback was that the boat ran about 1 1/2 hours behind schedule.

Devi P Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The Rhine river cruise is a very relaxing trip with beautiful views!

Justin S Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

It was a great trip going towards Koblenz; everything was perfect. However, on the way back to Mainz, things didn't go so smooth. The boat was 50 minutes late, and we arrived back in Mainz at 21:15, rather than 19:30 as scheduled. If you're driving home, make sure the parking garage doesn't close before 22:00; otherwise your vehicle may be stuck in Mainz overnight.

Alan H New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip from Mainz down the Rhine. We had expected castles but not the number nor their splendid setting. A relaxing day where we could just sit back and enjoy the views as we passed by.

Mark S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

The Rhine is beautiful! Be sure to get your hands on a schedule of arrivals and departures from each stop beforehand. We didn't, and it messed our plans up a bit.

Diedre T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

This is a good day trip, but you must be able to devote entire day. The ship departed Mainz at 8:45 a.m. and did not arrive in Cologne until approximately 8:00 p.m. However, once on the ship, I found that the timetable did not allow one to get on and off at any particular destination.

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Breathtaking!

Clarissa C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

The cruise was very nice. The only improvement I can think of would be for me to check the weather reports and make sure it wasn't going to rain on my date.

John P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Allow the cruise was excellent and well worth the time, the boats run so seldom that it is difficult, if not impossible to get off and back on more than once in a day. I'd more recommend an individual ticket.

Kevin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Enjoyed the trip once we got on board but still had to wait in line for ages to get tickets at the booth despite having our viator vouchers which clearly claimed to be our ticket. Makes it a bit pointless having the pre-paid vouchers.

M ROGERIO S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The greatest advantage of the trip are the landscapes around the river Rhein. The castles on the top of the mountains are impressive. The weather could have been better, so we could have enjoyed the trip on the deck, but it was too cloudy, windy and cold (yes, it was summer!). The boat was built in 1997, a little cigarette smelly and not very comfortable. It was a big restaurant downstairs and a bar upstairs. We intended to do the whole trip from Mainz to Cologne, but the chairs were simply not comfortable and impossible to take a nap. A couch would have been nice. Therefore, we stopped at Koblenz (worth visiting) and continued to Cologne by train. The service on board is below average in Germany, impossible to get a smile from the waiters, although the food prices were OK.

Heidi S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

I took the cruise by myself since I was traveling solo, so this might be why I found it a little long at 4 hours. Two hours would've been enough. The weather was mostly cloudy and cool, making it cold to be out on deck in the open air and not great lighting for photos Lot of cigarette smokers, as well, which was unpleasant for a non-smoker. Inside in the middle deck would've been nice and cozy if traveling with a partner; try to get near the big section of windows near the bow of the ship.

Meghann L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The schedule and the tickets I had were not correlating. I was at the boat for 8.45 as per my ticket but it did not come to 9.45. the boat also didn't go all the way to Köln as the schedule showed. I travelled from Mainz on the 4th of October and the schedule had been changed to that of the 5th October with no warning from KD. It meant I had to get off at St Goar and pay for a train to complete my journey. The staff on board were very helpful though.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 35.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3320KDRHINEMAINZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message