4.5 star rating: Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mainz, Germany
  • Duration:  1 Day

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the KD Rhine Pass from Mainz. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Good value. Clean and spacious boat. Lots of stops which allow you to choose where you want to get off. Good sound system and the commentary was in several languages including english. The food on the boat was very good and I was surprised by the variety

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It would be extremely helpful to provide fixed GPS coordinates and other launch site descriptions. Rainy limited our ability to enjoy fresh air and views at times. Even with the weather limits, the trip was very beautiful and informative..

Ralph M
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Great cruise with magnificent sites but gets boring if you stay on the boat too long. Recommend you get off and explore some of the towns along the Rhine.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was a very good trip after the problems were resolved. Our GPS took us to the wrong destination. I would suggest the address is spelled out making it very clear on your ad. Also, there was not a very good sign or identifiable markings for the boarding of the ship. We were in Mainz in plenty of time to get on the ship however because we could not find where to board we missed it and had to drive to the next town to board. We called when getting close to Mainz to find where to go and the lady who answered the phone was not helpful at all. The man in the booth might have told us we would have to cross the ferry when we got to the next town but we didn't have any idea about that and almost missed that one too. The traffic in Mainz was very bad so it is a good idea to let people know this so they can go especially early so not to miss the cruise. The boat was nice...meal was excellent. Good prices. The staff were very nice and helpful. The trip was beautiful and I have a lot of wonderful pictures. I would rate the trip as wonderful and we want to do it again as people come to visit here from the states. It would have just been really nice to have a couple tidbits of information beforehand to assist us getting aboard. Of course having the GPS take us to the wrong area did not help.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Excellent trip and would recommend it toall.

Robert K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Relaxing way to see the historic Rhine valley

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We went from Rudesheim to Cologne. The trip was very pleasant. Services on the boat were very adequate. Our group had an excellent time. The only drawback was that the boat ran about 1 1/2 hours behind schedule.

Devi P
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The Rhine river cruise is a very relaxing trip with beautiful views!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

It was a great trip going towards Koblenz; everything was perfect. However, on the way back to Mainz, things didn't go so smooth. The boat was 50 minutes late, and we arrived back in Mainz at 21:15, rather than 19:30 as scheduled. If you're driving home, make sure the parking garage doesn't close before 22:00; otherwise your vehicle may be stuck in Mainz overnight.

Alan H
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip from Mainz down the Rhine. We had expected castles but not the number nor their splendid setting. A relaxing day where we could just sit back and enjoy the views as we passed by.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

The Rhine is beautiful! Be sure to get your hands on a schedule of arrivals and departures from each stop beforehand. We didn't, and it messed our plans up a bit.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

This is a good day trip, but you must be able to devote entire day. The ship departed Mainz at 8:45 a.m. and did not arrive in Cologne until approximately 8:00 p.m. However, once on the ship, I found that the timetable did not allow one to get on and off at any particular destination.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Breathtaking!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

The cruise was very nice. The only improvement I can think of would be for me to check the weather reports and make sure it wasn't going to rain on my date.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Allow the cruise was excellent and well worth the time, the boats run so seldom that it is difficult, if not impossible to get off and back on more than once in a day. I'd more recommend an individual ticket.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Enjoyed the trip once we got on board but still had to wait in line for ages to get tickets at the booth despite having our viator vouchers which clearly claimed to be our ticket. Makes it a bit pointless having the pre-paid vouchers.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The greatest advantage of the trip are the landscapes around the river Rhein. The castles on the top of the mountains are impressive. The weather could have been better, so we could have enjoyed the trip on the deck, but it was too cloudy, windy and cold (yes, it was summer!). The boat was built in 1997, a little cigarette smelly and not very comfortable. It was a big restaurant downstairs and a bar upstairs. We intended to do the whole trip from Mainz to Cologne, but the chairs were simply not comfortable and impossible to take a nap. A couch would have been nice. Therefore, we stopped at Koblenz (worth visiting) and continued to Cologne by train. The service on board is below average in Germany, impossible to get a smile from the waiters, although the food prices were OK.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

I took the cruise by myself since I was traveling solo, so this might be why I found it a little long at 4 hours. Two hours would've been enough. The weather was mostly cloudy and cool, making it cold to be out on deck in the open air and not great lighting for photos Lot of cigarette smokers, as well, which was unpleasant for a non-smoker. Inside in the middle deck would've been nice and cozy if traveling with a partner; try to get near the big section of windows near the bow of the ship.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The schedule and the tickets I had were not correlating. I was at the boat for 8.45 as per my ticket but it did not come to 9.45. the boat also didn't go all the way to Köln as the schedule showed. I travelled from Mainz on the 4th of October and the schedule had been changed to that of the 5th October with no warning from KD. It meant I had to get off at St Goar and pay for a train to complete my journey. The staff on board were very helpful though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Terrific views from the ferry all the way up. Really is the best way to appreciate the Rhine River. Also a good range of food and drink available. Cons: I had difficulty in locating where the ferry left from (Google Maps seach points incorrectly to the commercial terminal). Suggest to add a note to indicate it is adjacent to the Rheingoldhalle building. Only one early ferry ran the day I went, so just as well I checked it all out the day before when I arrived. The English tour commentary is not very comprehensive, and is difficult to hear unless you sit right under the speaker. Suggest to do your own research and bring notes indexed by KM distance marks (as one US Tourist I sat next to did), as these marks are clearly visible on the rivers edge from the boat and were better than the canned commentary.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unable to get on and off to explore towns along the way, only one ferry rubbing on Sunday and it took literally the entire day just to get past lorelie rock and back to Mainz. A little disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Mainz to Koblenz was scenic, interesting, and relaxing but Koblenz to Koln was very industrial, less attractive, and boring. The boat's onboard staff seemed a bit disinterested and none spoke English. The food was good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I had to figure out how to return to Mainz on my own.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The Rhine is a beautiful place, and the boat tour was gorgeous, but the river cruise was not as advertised on this site. There are 2 KD Rhine boats, one leaving from the North and one from the south Mainz. You CANNOT get off the boat at any stop and hop back on to go to the next stop. The only way to make this a round trip boat ride is to get off at a stop before the boat coming the other direction gets to that stop to take you back. Going from Mainz is a much faster journey going downstream, and I would recommend going one-way, enjoying at least one town and then taking the train back to where you started.

Mike F
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

We need to be warned how long it would take and how many stops are involved.

From USD $ 35.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3320KDRHINEMAINZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message