Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 408 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 408 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

PETER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The full day tour was good organized, guides were friendly and spoke multiple languages (English, Portuguese, Spanish). I would recommend this tour to anyone who is doing short trip to Rio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Gray Line Tours (the agency responsible for this tour in Rio) showed that they are a very competent and reliable during my visit! To begin my tour, I mistakenly went to the wrong pick-up location. But not to worry! In the mornings, there are usually several tours, from various tour groups, commencing their activities. And in my case, I also went to the wrong tour bus. I was greeted by a tour guide, who then called the Gray Line tour agency to tell them that I was on-board, and that they would drop me off at the tour group's starting point.
This was great! Even with my “bone-head” mistake, they were still able to correct my mistake with great inter-agency communication and professionalism that made the very chaotic portion of the tour--picking up all the tour passengers—a very comforting and painless experience.

Oh, and the tour......when they say "all day", trust that they mean ALL DAY! They should put, “tour 9am – until”. The tour guides do the best job they can to try to keep us on a time schedule.....but hey, we're tourists!!! It's like trying to keep bunch of kids focused when their are so many distractions! What's more, everyone wants to take the same picture!!; the Christ Redeemer, wow! Everyone wanted this picture!...and they got it!
Overall, it was a great tour, just prepare yourself to have the necessary energy to endure an entire day!

Lastly, I want to take a moment to acknowledge the magnificent job that our tour guide did. It is, particularly, fascinating to me when I encounter a person that can speak many languages fluently, but to also have the charismatic personality to match, amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great combinations of sight seeing with amazing views of Rio de Janerio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

to do both in one day may seem hectic but is worth the effort as a lot of time is spent in the travelling and gives a good tour of the tourist side of rio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Enter your review here.The trip was very good. We had plenty of time at both Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer. The views were fantastic. We all thoroughly enjoyed the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Worth every penny to not have to deal with the traffic and the guides took great care of you -

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

excellent tour and very professional guide. Good
value for the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Well organised ,conducted trip and the tour guides did a great job. The views were incredible.
We were a group of 8 vegetarians and our needs were very well looked after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

overall, a great day...Sugar Loaf - impressive but we only made it half way up due to the strength of the wind rendering the 2nd cable car unsafe...Christ the Redeemer - mind blowing! - the highlight of Rio...not to be missed...there were some negatives to the day...late pick-up from hotel...hanging around on the bus doing other pick-ups...would be so much easier and quicker to just have one [maybe 2] pick-up points on Copa beach - BE CAREFUL when ordering drinks with your lunch at the restaurant...we ordered 2 glasses of wine with our meal without checking the price...WHAT A RIP-OFF!!!...stick to water!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent tour...Highly recommend. Great lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This was a great tour and a MUST DO when in Rio de Janeiro. Lunch was delicious. However, drinks are not provided with your meal.. I thought this should of been included (soda, tea, water) since you spend a lot of money for this tour. Otherwise, this was a great tour..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The sights are awesome. Fun, fun, fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Wow - amazing tour. Everything went as planned. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable. Rio is such a beautiful city and you really can't see the sites / understand the history and culture without a guide. The itinerary may change on your tour date depending on the weather - they want you to be able to see Christ Redeemer when it's sunny out. Best way to see the city and get great photos! Highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Good. However guides decision to change the itinerary from Corcavado in the morning to Sugarloaf was not good. Always one needs to do Corcavado, christ the redeemer in the morning for sunlight (otherwise it is against light)...and must to sugarloaf in the evening for evening sunset views....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

We were lucky as the weather was very good. We loved the train journey to Christ the Redeemer and the view is fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

We were most pleased with the quality of Viator's trip taken March 18, 2011, which I had booked before leaving Florida.

We were met near the ship's dock by a representative . Despite being in a country and not speaking the language, the company made our tour very easy.

I would recommend this tour company to anyone, based on our experience with them.

Ruth Sullivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Really excellent day. Good guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Great tour. Most enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

a must-see place and the tour is scheduled very well

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

I t was wonderful tour, full day tour, but change tour guy in lunch time, such a mess, food in restauran was wonderful, but waitor forget some order in our group. it is good exprinions.

Daniela
Belgium

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

first class trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

this tour was great! it lasted almost 12 hours, included lunch at a great restaurant and they threw in a very nice city tour at the end. fabulous tour if you only have a day or two in rio. a great value!

David T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

great as always

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

realmente precioso, interesante ,cumple mas allá de lo imaginado,y nuestro guia excelente, mis recuerdos y agradecimientos..

From USD $ 173.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message