Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 234 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

HELEN J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Picked up promptly at 2p.m. Guide very entertaining and informative. Called at several hotels in the area to pick up other passengers ,which we regarded as a bonus as we would not have seen the other beaches in the short time we were in Rio otherwise, Enjoyed the trip on the little train and the view from the top of Corcorvado was amazing. Seeing "The Christ "was a lifetime ambition and we were not dissapointed. Good trip and well organised.

Luanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We were picked up on time. The guide was very informative and helpful and spoke four languages. The clouds made our viewing less than ideal, but this had nothing to do with the guide or the tour. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

William G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

My trip to Corcovada on June 9, 2010 was terrific. The guide, Paolo, was impressive in telling us what was going, in four different languages. He was very friendly and well-informed. The one disappointment was that the rail line that was supposed to take us through the rain forest was washed out in an April torrent. But the buses and vans were nice substitutes. The view from atop the mountain is absolutely breath-taking. You can see all the way to the airport, and all the sections of the city that I visited Centro, Bottafogo, Copa, Ipanema, Lebron. At the top, I took out my ukulele and sang "Corcovado," in English of course, and drew a croud of Cariocas who sang along in Portuguese. It was a great moment.

Philippe B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved this trip. Went up on the cog train, got front seats and went through the rainforest - just amazing. Saw Christ's statue (currently in scaffolding until June) and had a good guide. I was glad to have taken the half day trip as temperatures were around 36C at 9am!!! Loved it.

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Another wonderful sight to see. Fabulous!!!!

Vanessa H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The Christ was amazing, very spiritual and uplifting! The guide on the other hand wasn't very pleasant. He almost seemed bothered by the whole trip, maybe personal issues. I don't recommend doing this trip without a tour group. People who went up the mountain on their own ended up waiting in long lines, while we swept through them like VIP members.

Tricia USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This is the way to go in RIO

John F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A great tour guide, and a great train ride up! I was disappointed that the mountain was fogged in!

Orlando O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was great!!! I enjoyed the tour and recommend it as a MUST DO!

Maureen S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The train was not working and the drive up was a thrill. Good tour guides who were very helpful.

Kevin Y United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Very good guide and stunning sights.

Christine R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour, excellent guide and added photographer.

MICHAEL B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Unmissable visit to this sight, I will never forget it. It truly is one of the wonders of the world.

Kerry G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had a fantastic time. The tour guide was great and spoke 4 languages. Would recommend to others.

Louis C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fabulous site and fabulous guide.

Wanda J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I fell in love with Rio on this tour!

MAYA R India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

I am not a Christian, but the majestic beauty of the statue of the Redeemer inspired spiritual joy in me, as it seemed to inspire in most visitors, young and old alike. Apart from being a wonderful piece of artistic engineering, the Redeemer statue is unique and absolutely fantastic.

Niomi M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Great! Loved it!

Anthony T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was outstanding. The guide spoke English very well and I will use Viator again when the next occasion comes up.

charissejuson

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very informative and personable, unfortunately I forgot his name! The cog train through the forest was definitely worth it versus taking a car to the top. The departure time 2pm made it a bit difficult to take pictures sun but we made it work. We went on a Wednesday and it was not crowded no line to enter, but I imagine the weekend to be packed making this tour perfect for those who want to skip the line!

Alain D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good organisation, professional guide, fantastic view over RIO

Eric T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good but unfortunately by the time we got to the top of Corcodavo the clouds came in and left us with only a few opportunities for pictures.

Stephanie G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I only had a two full days in Rio and since it was my first time, I wanted to get my bearings on day one and see one of the most famous sites. Since I was staying near the airport, I had to cab to the city center to be picked up. The coach was comfortable and air conditioned. My English speaking tour guide (also spoke French and Spanish) was so sweet and informative giving information about the city as we drove to Corcovado. Spent about 45 minutes up on the mountain. You really don't need more than that. There's some shops up there for souvenirs. Some take credit cards, some only cash. Cog train ride down was fun. Very timely tour. Left the rest of the early evening open to walk around Rio.

Russia P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Its a great tour!! This is a must do day trip if you have a few days in Rio De Janeiro.

Rowland C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour once started was very good and we enjoyed it.
There was a problem however with timing of the scheduled pick-up from the Copacabana Palace Hotel.
It was scheduled for 2pm but the bus arrived at 2.45pm leaving four of us with a long wait in the heat outside the hotel with no seating.
The tour guide was very good and interacted well with the group.
Overall, I was delighted, the exception being the long wait .
Bearing in mind I live in the UK and had travelled across the world to Rio, it all worked well.
I had to telephone twice to confirm the bus was indeed coming!

Viewing 4 of 10

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message