Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 228 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 228 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Philippe B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved this trip. Went up on the cog train, got front seats and went through the rainforest - just amazing. Saw Christ's statue (currently in scaffolding until June) and had a good guide. I was glad to have taken the half day trip as temperatures were around 36C at 9am!!! Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Another wonderful sight to see. Fabulous!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The Christ was amazing, very spiritual and uplifting! The guide on the other hand wasn't very pleasant. He almost seemed bothered by the whole trip, maybe personal issues. I don't recommend doing this trip without a tour group. People who went up the mountain on their own ended up waiting in long lines, while we swept through them like VIP members.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This is the way to go in RIO

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A great tour guide, and a great train ride up! I was disappointed that the mountain was fogged in!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was great!!! I enjoyed the tour and recommend it as a MUST DO!

Maureen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The train was not working and the drive up was a thrill. Good tour guides who were very helpful.

Kevin Y
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Very good guide and stunning sights.

Christine R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour, excellent guide and added photographer.

MICHAEL B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Unmissable visit to this sight, I will never forget it. It truly is one of the wonders of the world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had a fantastic time. The tour guide was great and spoke 4 languages. Would recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fabulous site and fabulous guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I fell in love with Rio on this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

I am not a Christian, but the majestic beauty of the statue of the Redeemer inspired spiritual joy in me, as it seemed to inspire in most visitors, young and old alike. Apart from being a wonderful piece of artistic engineering, the Redeemer statue is unique and absolutely fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Great! Loved it!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very informative and personable, unfortunately I forgot his name! The cog train through the forest was definitely worth it versus taking a car to the top. The departure time 2pm made it a bit difficult to take pictures sun but we made it work. We went on a Wednesday and it was not crowded no line to enter, but I imagine the weekend to be packed making this tour perfect for those who want to skip the line!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good organisation, professional guide, fantastic view over RIO

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good but unfortunately by the time we got to the top of Corcodavo the clouds came in and left us with only a few opportunities for pictures.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I only had a two full days in Rio and since it was my first time, I wanted to get my bearings on day one and see one of the most famous sites. Since I was staying near the airport, I had to cab to the city center to be picked up. The coach was comfortable and air conditioned. My English speaking tour guide (also spoke French and Spanish) was so sweet and informative giving information about the city as we drove to Corcovado. Spent about 45 minutes up on the mountain. You really don't need more than that. There's some shops up there for souvenirs. Some take credit cards, some only cash. Cog train ride down was fun. Very timely tour. Left the rest of the early evening open to walk around Rio.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Its a great tour!! This is a must do day trip if you have a few days in Rio De Janeiro.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour once started was very good and we enjoyed it.
There was a problem however with timing of the scheduled pick-up from the Copacabana Palace Hotel.
It was scheduled for 2pm but the bus arrived at 2.45pm leaving four of us with a long wait in the heat outside the hotel with no seating.
The tour guide was very good and interacted well with the group.
Overall, I was delighted, the exception being the long wait .
Bearing in mind I live in the UK and had travelled across the world to Rio, it all worked well.
I had to telephone twice to confirm the bus was indeed coming!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing! Though the "off-road jeep" portion is a little falsly represented as it's actually a train like thing pulled on a trail. Other than that amazing experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great afternoon out. I had read some not so flattering reviews but was very happy with the experience. My only issue was when I arrived in Rio and rang the phone number to confirm pick up time the guy spoke no English so I was unable to make arrangements. Reception at my hotel then rang on my behalf. The bus and guide were on time, friendly, informative and professional. An excellent option to look at parts of Rio and the breathtaking Corcovado.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was OK, but nothing special about our tour guide or the itinerary. It was more convenient because hotel pick up/ drop off, and no line to purchase the ticket. You can go on your own.

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message