Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 219 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 219 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Maureen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The train was not working and the drive up was a thrill. Good tour guides who were very helpful.

Kevin Y
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Very good guide and stunning sights.

Christine R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fantastic tour, excellent guide and added photographer.

MICHAEL B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Unmissable visit to this sight, I will never forget it. It truly is one of the wonders of the world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had a fantastic time. The tour guide was great and spoke 4 languages. Would recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fabulous site and fabulous guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I fell in love with Rio on this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

I am not a Christian, but the majestic beauty of the statue of the Redeemer inspired spiritual joy in me, as it seemed to inspire in most visitors, young and old alike. Apart from being a wonderful piece of artistic engineering, the Redeemer statue is unique and absolutely fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Great! Loved it!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour was good but unfortunately by the time we got to the top of Corcodavo the clouds came in and left us with only a few opportunities for pictures.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I only had a two full days in Rio and since it was my first time, I wanted to get my bearings on day one and see one of the most famous sites. Since I was staying near the airport, I had to cab to the city center to be picked up. The coach was comfortable and air conditioned. My English speaking tour guide (also spoke French and Spanish) was so sweet and informative giving information about the city as we drove to Corcovado. Spent about 45 minutes up on the mountain. You really don't need more than that. There's some shops up there for souvenirs. Some take credit cards, some only cash. Cog train ride down was fun. Very timely tour. Left the rest of the early evening open to walk around Rio.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Its a great tour!! This is a must do day trip if you have a few days in Rio De Janeiro.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour once started was very good and we enjoyed it.
There was a problem however with timing of the scheduled pick-up from the Copacabana Palace Hotel.
It was scheduled for 2pm but the bus arrived at 2.45pm leaving four of us with a long wait in the heat outside the hotel with no seating.
The tour guide was very good and interacted well with the group.
Overall, I was delighted, the exception being the long wait .
Bearing in mind I live in the UK and had travelled across the world to Rio, it all worked well.
I had to telephone twice to confirm the bus was indeed coming!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing! Though the "off-road jeep" portion is a little falsly represented as it's actually a train like thing pulled on a trail. Other than that amazing experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great afternoon out. I had read some not so flattering reviews but was very happy with the experience. My only issue was when I arrived in Rio and rang the phone number to confirm pick up time the guy spoke no English so I was unable to make arrangements. Reception at my hotel then rang on my behalf. The bus and guide were on time, friendly, informative and professional. An excellent option to look at parts of Rio and the breathtaking Corcovado.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was OK, but nothing special about our tour guide or the itinerary. It was more convenient because hotel pick up/ drop off, and no line to purchase the ticket. You can go on your own.

Valerie F
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I was collected on time at the alloted hotel, my voucher was requested and then seated. The commentary was in several languages, most impressive tour guide. I lost a camera phot memory card during the day and when I asked if one was found on the bus, the reply was very prompt....unfortunately a no. A good comprehensive tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really easy way to see Christ the Redeemer. The guide was informative and made sure that we had the best seats on the tram. I was at 5 stars until the guide told the bus to leave back to the hotels, while my Mom and I were still in the bathrooms. If it weren't for the men selling commemorative licence plates outside of where the bus was parked, who banged on the side of the bus to get it to stop when they saw us running, my 70 yr old Mom and I would have been left behind, at dusk. I doubt this happens too often, though.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The overall logistics was comfortable and hassle-free, and they had a tour guide who could speak 5 languages (German, Spanish, French, Portugese, and English). Very happy that he spoke English! (even if I didn't coordinate this in booking this tour). The weather was overcast though so views and sights were generally gloomy. So lesson is to tour during the sunny months! Still, the sight of the Christ the Redeemer statue up close was awesome =)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed the trip, had bit of trouble contacting the local tour operator on a Sunday in Portuguese but we got there. Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was fabulous. We were picked up at the hotel in a very comfortable bus, driven around the Copacabana picking up other guests. The tour guide explained what we were seeing at each turn. Rio de Janeiro is a fabulous and picturesque city and the drive to Corcovado Mountain provided an extra bonus. Once we got to the Mountain, the train ride up was an experience. The tour guide left us to enjoy the ride and the Statue and the train ride back down. There was little lag time gathering everyone back onto the bus and the ride back to the hotel was very fast. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for a fun way to see the Statue and see a little of the city as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall this was a good experience. The tour guide didnt explain very much to us while we were at the site. There were a ton of people on the mountain at the same time so it was very cramped up there. I would have to say you would do better to go earlier in the day to beat the crowd. This tour is a decent value but if you want to beat the crowds skip this tour and do it on your own earlier in the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is probably actually 5 stars. I'm giving it 4 stars because they were doing construction/maintenance on the statue while we were there. My issue with that is that we were there during the World Cup when millions of people were visiting Brazil and Rio and it didn't make sense to work on it during this time. This is not the fault of the tour company but all the scaffolding kind of ruined many of the pictures. Also WAY too many people up there at the same time. But it is a great tour, amazing views, breathtaking experience and if you're in Rio I would not miss this tour. You can drive up or take the train up and I would recommend the train (we did both). I also recommend the 2pm tour because you get to be up there in the daylight for the stunning views but it also gets dark enough early enough (in late June) that you also get to see the sunset and the statue lit up.

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message