4 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4-6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A memorable moment. A clear sunny day for Rio de Janeiro. The ship was relatively small and although we shared with other tourists it did not effect our enjoyment in the slightest. Our group was just four with a knowledgable English speaking guide. We had clear views of Christ the redeemer, sugar loaf mountain and according to our guide a very rare crystal clear view of Gods finger. It was a wonderful start to a fabulous holiday.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Cruise very well organized. Nice views of flamengo, downtown, sugar loaf and Niteroi. Lunch is really nice too, in Ipanema, close to the bar where the famous song was written and a block away from the beach.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great cruise well worth doing to see Rio from another perspective. Lunch was not up to much though and was at the same place as trip I took the day before.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Was good,and nice lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

A very relaxing and informative tour. Great weather and beautiful scenery

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Nice tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

well worth it even it was raining and bit misty on the day,guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Pleasant 2 hour cruise around Guanabara Bay on a really nice ship and a great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

GREAT GUIDE - LEO -THANKS
Tour only made more interesting by him as you could not hear the guide upstairs where most people went to get the view.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

A delightful trip around the bay giving different views of the beaches, main attractions and surrounding mountains. A full two hour sail - with no possibility of stops for swimming

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Hidden gem. Great view of Rio as seen from harbor ...also surrounding area. Would have been better if f guide provided overview of what we were going to see, but guide did provide good individual descriptions.

Seymour G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Was a very enjoyable trip - we were collected from our hotel as planned and given a good description of various points of interest during the cruise. The only disappointing aspect was that the cruise is advertised as 4 hours, but time on the boat is actually about 2 hours.

Kathleen T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Tour guide helpful. Good to see Rio from the water.

Susanne S
Switzerland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good weather, timing perfect, competent guide. Everything just fine.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

I thought this tour was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A very pleasurable few hours touring the bay and seeing some of the sights of Rio.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Satisfactory, the seafood had been removed from the booking so the Guide had to find a restaurant in Ipanema at the last minute and it wasnt great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Our overall experience was disappointing and did not meet our expectations. The scenery from the bay cruise was worth the experience with great views of Sugar loaf, forts, bay and Navel Museum and buildings, with Christ the Redeemer Statue in the background.
However the boat was somewhat crowded and noisy. Our guide who was not always present, but did interpret the difficult to hear boat commentary.
The day was spoilt by the very poor optional seafood lunch. From previous reviews on this site, we had expected a high standard of a seafood lunch. We were taken to "Bar do Beto" in Ipanema. Having chosen the fish from the options ( fish, steak, or pasta), what was served was bread, rice, potato and more batter than fish, and that was it! We also felt slightly rushed as our guide was managing a separate larger group.
Overall, the package was not value for money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The trip was not as expected based upon the reviews, but maybe I just had high expectations.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Not the four hour tour we were expecting. There are still nice views of the bay and niteroi, and the guide was very knowledgeable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This was a really lovely way to see the bay! We'd already seen the beauty from Sugarloaf Mountain, so it was great to see it by boat. Our guide "JB" was the best, he was extremely friendly and very informative. We got to Gloria marina very early which wasn't ideal (a lot of wasted time as not a lot to do). Note: you can NOT swim in the Guanabara Bay, so if you're thinking there might be some time to take a dip, think again! The cruise lasts for about 2 hours, even though it says four hours (this is supposed to include pick-up/drop off time). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased on board (not sure for how much - I couldn't bring myself to drink at 9am in the morning!) While it wasn't quite what we expected, it was a lovely morning out and we enjoyed the cruise. Great idea to see the bay from a different angle and if you are looking for something to do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A very pleasant cruise with commentary on board,

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The tour was very good from the point of view of scenery and landmarks where we got to see the entire panorama of Rio de Janeiro and the cities bordering the bay. However, our guide, very sweet and professional that she was, did not come across as too knowledgeable and some of her statements and answers were not very clear - I suspect it was the language barrier. The guide with another tour group on the same boat seemed to know more.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

it would be great if they included stops to island or ports of landmarks throughout the trip even if they rise the money price or length the time

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We went on the short trip around the bay. It lasted about 90 minutes. You don't get off the boat and its relaxing and the view from the boat is good. It is definitely a different view of Rio. The bus pickup is a bit of a pain because they are picking up other customers that aren't on your tour

From USD $ 64.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message