4 star rating: Recommended 29 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Petropolis Day Trip from Rio de Janeiro including Imperial Museum and Crystal Palace. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 29 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Worth the time for sure. Learnt the history of the country from a very good guide Maria. She was organized. Recommendation for buffet lunch was also excellent! Recommend it!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Very good However, Crystal Palace is disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Just simply a beautiful tour.

William S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Late start, entry to Crystal Palace included on my voucher - not included on tour. The guide was going to contact the company about this but never did so we didn't get inside the Crystal Palace which we had paid for. Other than those points it was a good tour.

Mariusz K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A very nice trip. Be aware that in winter it may get quite cold there as it's high in mountains.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

The guide was knowledgeable and courteous and the bus was comfortable. The only drawback is that the tour was given in three languages - which can be confusing at times. But all in all, we would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Our guide was great! It was a beautiful ride and he gave us lots of history. It was also nice to be with a small group. Could have used a little more time in town. The lunch place was definitely not something we'd want to do again! Find something on your own rather than eat the buffet they suggest!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Too bad, it was raining that day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

A good day trip..but we left Rio a bit late and so I think we did not have as much time in Petropolis as we should have. The visit to the Imperial Museum was not long enough.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Enjoyed the trip, but could have skipped the stop at the chocolate place.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Our guide was FANTASTIC!!! Can't say enough good about him. Sites we saw were enjoyable. This we would give 4 stars. The service we had via phone ahead of time, countless calls, prompted by the company (0 stars) telling us to keep calling back for an update on pickup time, WAS HORRIBLE. The last time we talked, the night before, we were told we would be picked up at 7:10. The van arrived at 10:15. This did not make any of us very happy and because of this, we would not use your company again or recommend it. Therefore 2 stars

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This trip was ok, but could have been a lot better. Petropolis itself is beautiful and worth seeing. However, for us, it was not a strictly English tour. Our guide had about 7 Portuguese, 2 Spanish, and then 2 English speakers (us.). Therefore, we didn't get much out of the tour as there wasn't much described due to time issues of having to use 3 languages - and not much in English overall.

We also had a pickup/drop-off way across the city which at night added significantly to the ride home due to traffic.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

The tour of the Imperial Museum was done much too fast. The company's guide gave no time to look at things or to ask questions. In addition, he did not leave any time to see the gardens. Considering that it is about a three hour round trip to get there, the half-hour tour of the museum was wholly inadequate.. Stop at the Chocolate Factory on the way up was a waste of time and could have been skipped to leave more time for the museum. I would avoid the company if I ever get to go to Brazil again. Don't pay extra for the Crystal Palace! We didn't and we saw everything there was to see!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The palace was closed, which was the main attraction on this tour. 4 hours bus ride to get back to the city because of the bad traffic. The tour guide was nice tho.

From USD $ 64.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_10

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message