3.5 star rating: Worth doing 110 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  60 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rio de Janeiro Airport Roundtrip Shuttle Transfer. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 110 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Tour Operator provided decent service. It was definitely more reasonably priced to take the shuttle from GIG airport to our hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema. However, you pay for what you get. The drivers were courteous, but did not speak English. The drivers did not wear a uniform, just jeans and a t-shirt. It was difficult to distinguish who the driver was. The shuttle vans arenĀ“t the cleanest. Overall, service is just ok.

Peter T
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Well organised, good service.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

The driver was very nice and the trip to the hotel uneventful. We had a different driver back to the airport which was fine. He was nice and arrived a bit early, but that turned out to be the right move. The only thing that I did not like was having to call yo reconfirm. My expectation was that they would be there standing at the gate with a sign card with my name on it. That did not happen. If you're going to need to call them, what is the use in providing the flight information?

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Good value for the money however there were a couple of issues. The language barrier was very frustrating, especially when we arrived to ground transportation at the airport. Then the driver was over 30 mins late to take us to the airport, luckily I arranged for an earlier pickup then needed. Other then that the staff was extremely professional and courteous.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Despite the website advertising hourly pickups, I arrived at 09.05 and was told to wait until 11.00 to be picked up from the airport. On the return trip I was told I would be picked up at 10.00, but wasn't picked up until half an hour later after I'd phoned the company, and then we picked up several more people before getting to the airport 2 minutes before check-in closed for my flight. The person on the phone was not concerned about the timing of the return transfer and couldn't understand why I was worried as I had 'plenty of time' to catch my flight. I won't be using them again.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This transfer was fine-we were met promptly at the airport even though our flight was early, and the very early departure flight transfer was also great. However, on the last leg of our trip to Rio, no one was there to meet us and no record of our booking was found at the local carrier.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Found out about this transfer from Viator. For the price it could have been way better. Both inbound and outbound travels were late ~20 minutes. Drivers didn't speak any english and support people on the phone didn't speak any english also. They would make you wait on the line until they could patch you through to someone who would speak a little english and you could actually talk about your reservation. For the money paid - not worth it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Probably my mistake, but wasn't expecting a shuttle but a private car. It took over an hour to leave the airport waiting for other passengers who never showed up. No specific time was given for the return trip to the airport. We had to call to get a time. The driver was 30 minutes later then the stated time. Not very comforting when you are dirving through rush hour traffic to catch an International flight.

Having to always reconfirm the services is difficult when you don't always have access to email or phone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Ok-for the price, but the pick up was late and we were wondering if they would show up at all. Also it says the last trip to the airport is 19:00, but they pick you up early, so if you have a late flight (like we did) you may be at the airport for several hours before your flight.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The Driver was 1 hour late picking us up from the airport. The airport inomation desk was kind enough to call and fnd out what was going on and when the driver would arrive. The driver was also one half hour late picking from the hotel and to the airport.
The drive got us there on time but we waited, unsure if the driver would show .

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were not picked upon arrival. However upon calling a driver did come, however we waited about two hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Because of bags were late at the pickup, our driver left without us to go to the hotel. The airport had to call the driver back.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Our arrival transfer didn't turn up and left us at the airport trying to find a transfer to our hotel!
Our departure transfer was okay, however we had to walk 15 minutes to a hotel for pickup which was a bit difficult with our suitcases!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

Not a good experience. The shuttle did not show up @ 9:00 and we wait for another hour @ 10:00. The driver did not find other 6 passengers and ran around the terminals several times till almost 11:00 a.m. We wasted almost two hours that should be taken us @ 9:00 a.m.

Gcastillo
Costa Rica

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Pick-up driver was not at the convened meeting point. Tour operator logo was not visible. Return driver was excellent. I still highly recommend this instead of airport taxis.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

First of all, they tell you to go to a meeting point at the airport once you get out of customs. Well, the meeting point is right by a food stall. There's no desk indicating where to go nor is there a company representative waiting there directing you where to wait. Just by asking around did we figure out that you just sit on the chairs and wait until the driver shows up.... which in our case wasn't for close to an hour after our arrival time. The return trip to the airport was OK.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I'm usually a huge fan of viator and its services and heavily rely on them when traveling outside of Europe. It was difficult getting a hold of the tour agency via e-mail had no problems with them during my other tours in Brazil. First they couldn't find my booking, after they found it, they didn't tell me at what time they would pick me up. So I followed all the instructions on the voucher and just waited for anyone to show up I waited for an hour. The driver didn't speak a word English and the van was disgusting. My flight back to Europe was 3 days later. I asked the tour agency via e-mail again when they would pick me up for my flight on Monday morning on Saturday. I didn't receive an answer e-mail, call etc. at all. I took a taxi to the airport. They only replied to my e-mail informing them I'd take a taxi to airport, telling me that they didn't reply because it was the weekend and why I was complaining because I had no problems with them for the other tours.
I recommend taking a taxi - cheaper and more reliable

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

never showed up. The Information people had t call, and we were kept waiting over an hour.
had airline schedule changes, which I emailed them. Still not good. Wished I would of taken a Radio taxi.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

My flight was delayed so the driver didn't wait and I had to take a taxi.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

This is the 1st time that I've had a problem with a local shuttle via Viator while traveling. On the trip from the airport to my hotel not only did the driver try to take me to the wrong hotel then with the attitude that I didn't know where my hotel was but they did it again on the return trip to the airport. I was constantly on the phone with them trying to explain where my hotel was located while they talked to me as if I was wrong and didn't know where I was. This constant explaining while 'roaming' on my AT and T phone service tripled my phone bill for that month. When the guy at the shuttle office finally decided to listen to my directions, they sent a large new bus to take me to the airport. But what I had to endure was ridiculous.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The driver was 45 minutes late on the depature leg. When he finally arrived, the seats were taken up mostly by the luggage of other travelers. We were packed like sardines and it was miserable. Eould definitely not recommend this to friends and associates.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Waited 3 hours before I was picked up.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Rather disappointed on arrival. We waited in arrivals for one hour. We eventually found out that pick up is from the departures section. Not much sense but that's the way it is. After waiting for a further 45 min in the departures the driver finally showed up. Our return pick up was OK.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I bought the round trip. When i arrived at the airport no one was there. When i rang the supplier i was told that as I was going to an apartment they would not take me as they only took people to hotels. I had told the Viator booking that I was going to an apartment but they must have missed either that or the fact that the contractor only services hotels. I had to take a taxi.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I love Viator and rely on them, particularly when I am traveling out of the Country. This is the first time I've had a problem. I would NOT recommend the shuttle transfer. I waited at the airport for 3 hours, and after 2 phone calls to the local provider of the shuttle, they still did not show up. And when I called to schedule my return to the airport, they told me they couldn't take me because they didn't have room. Even though I pre-paid for the service! Viator should consider working with a different local company.

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484RIOAPTHTL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message