Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Monica O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What you would expect for a shuttle transfer. A little hard to find upon arrival. Shuttle was old and a little rickety, but I was the only traveler on the way to hotel and only one pick up upon departure so that was nice. Airport is far and there is always traffic so probably the way to go versus a taxi.

Laura

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We got to and from our hotel safely, but we had to get picked up for our return flight 4 hours early. That meant hanging out at the airport an hour before our Emirates gate even opened and an hour earlier than necessary, to board the flight.

sandyrass United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Efficient but very unclear that you need to wait til the hour to even be met at the meeting point... Left me very uncertain.

Francesca B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

The transport was OK but there was confusion picking me up. I expected them to be waiting for me in the Arrivals Hall, instead I waited for 1 1/2 hours (I was tour I may have to wait an hour due to it being busy on Friday), before finding out that I had to go to the third floor and there was no one there who would ring Viator for me. I couldn't ring myself and the local phones were all written in Spanish and no one at the Information Desk on the 3rd floor would help me. I finally went back down to the tourist information on the 1st floor who rang Viator and fortunately the driver was in the area and came back. Whether he was there when I first arrived I'll never know.

Laurent L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Everything went well except for the fact that they arrived half an hour late to take us to the airport on the last day.

Marcey F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

I was very pleased with the ease of pick up and drop off, on time etc.

Nella E

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

We had to wait for nearly 2 hours after we landed before the shuttle arrived, then the driver had an argument with his control and took it out on all his passengers! The driver on the return trip was very polite and could not have been more helpfut, shame we could not say that for the first one!! P Ellams

Ekaraj P Thailand

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Call center couldn't communicate English .

Kevin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

picked up and dropped off as scheduled. be sure to follow the directions on the print out

Mary H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

We had a problem with pickup at the airport. No one met us at the designated meeting place. After 45 minutes, we went to the info desk and they called the contact number and someone came within minutes. Pick up at the hotel was not a problem.

Benjamin P

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

20 minutes later than scheduled time, but ok.

Ken United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

the pick up from the airport could have been better, there was no desk as stated, and the driver was late, therefore no signage was showing, we had traipsed up and down the arrivals lounge and asked many people, then we noticed the driver just getting our name sign out, last thing you need after a long flight, the transfer back was very good with a hotel pick up at exactly the time given

Kraig K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

ride from airport to hotel was fine but ride upon return to the airport was scary. Driver was distracted, on his phone, talking to a friend, swerving all over the place going extremely fast

irma a

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Tour Operator provided decent service. It was definitely more reasonably priced to take the shuttle from GIG airport to our hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema. However, you pay for what you get. The drivers were courteous, but did not speak English. The drivers did not wear a uniform, just jeans and a t-shirt. It was difficult to distinguish who the driver was. The shuttle vans aren´t the cleanest. Overall, service is just ok.

Peter T Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Well organised, good service.

Sonja W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

The driver was very nice and the trip to the hotel uneventful. We had a different driver back to the airport which was fine. He was nice and arrived a bit early, but that turned out to be the right move. The only thing that I did not like was having to call yo reconfirm. My expectation was that they would be there standing at the gate with a sign card with my name on it. That did not happen. If you're going to need to call them, what is the use in providing the flight information?

Jason R USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Good value for the money however there were a couple of issues. The language barrier was very frustrating, especially when we arrived to ground transportation at the airport. Then the driver was over 30 mins late to take us to the airport, luckily I arranged for an earlier pickup then needed. Other then that the staff was extremely professional and courteous.

Charlotte D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Despite the website advertising hourly pickups, I arrived at 09.05 and was told to wait until 11.00 to be picked up from the airport. On the return trip I was told I would be picked up at 10.00, but wasn't picked up until half an hour later after I'd phoned the company, and then we picked up several more people before getting to the airport 2 minutes before check-in closed for my flight. The person on the phone was not concerned about the timing of the return transfer and couldn't understand why I was worried as I had 'plenty of time' to catch my flight. I won't be using them again.

David S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This transfer was fine-we were met promptly at the airport even though our flight was early, and the very early departure flight transfer was also great. However, on the last leg of our trip to Rio, no one was there to meet us and no record of our booking was found at the local carrier.

Andrejus B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Found out about this transfer from Viator. For the price it could have been way better. Both inbound and outbound travels were late ~20 minutes. Drivers didn't speak any english and support people on the phone didn't speak any english also. They would make you wait on the line until they could patch you through to someone who would speak a little english and you could actually talk about your reservation. For the money paid - not worth it.

Rebecca L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Probably my mistake, but wasn't expecting a shuttle but a private car. It took over an hour to leave the airport waiting for other passengers who never showed up. No specific time was given for the return trip to the airport. We had to call to get a time. The driver was 30 minutes later then the stated time. Not very comforting when you are dirving through rush hour traffic to catch an International flight.

Having to always reconfirm the services is difficult when you don't always have access to email or phone.

Elisha B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Ok-for the price, but the pick up was late and we were wondering if they would show up at all. Also it says the last trip to the airport is 19:00, but they pick you up early, so if you have a late flight (like we did) you may be at the airport for several hours before your flight.

Raymond D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The Driver was 1 hour late picking us up from the airport. The airport inomation desk was kind enough to call and fnd out what was going on and when the driver would arrive. The driver was also one half hour late picking from the hotel and to the airport.
The drive got us there on time but we waited, unsure if the driver would show .

Donald S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were not picked upon arrival. However upon calling a driver did come, however we waited about two hours.

Jerry W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Because of bags were late at the pickup, our driver left without us to go to the hotel. The airport had to call the driver back.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484RIOAPTHTL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message