3.5 star rating: Worth doing 110 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  60 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rio de Janeiro Airport Roundtrip Shuttle Transfer. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 110 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

We arrived at 1030 in Rio. We asked airport information desk after waiting an hour and couldnt get any info. I called the number provided and was toldthe van was on its way. We waited till 1230 before the van arrived.The driver had no cue where our hotel was and didnt speak a lick of English. He took us to the Golden Tulipin Copacabana and insisted that was our hotel. Me and my wife refused to get down there as we were booked at the Royal Tulip in Sao Conrado.He made some calls an was ranting in Portugese and kept using my wifes name as it was easier to pronounce. I kept telling him the booking was done in my name. After another half hour he finlly realised there was a hotel by the name of Royal Tulip. He had to get directions from someone on the phone on how to get there. We were appalled. This man shouldnt be driving tourists around. Very BAD first impression of Brazil. We reaached our hotel at 1430, almost 6 hrs after we landed.
Our return back to the airport was a horrendous and frightening one. The driver picked us up at 1830 from the hotel. Our flight was at 2330. He was in a tremendous hurry and was driving at breakneck speed, changing lanes while talking feverishly on his cellphone. I yelled at him several times to slow down. He took no heed and continued barelling down the road. We thought we were going to die in a wreck in Rio and said our prayers. When we got close to the airport he asked us which terminal and we said Terminal 2.Our fellow passenger also was going to 2. Guess where we were dropped? Terminal 1. He dropped us off and raced away like he was late for his wedding.
Terrible drivers both times. Do you think we tipped either of them?? Negative. They gave us a lousy taste of Brazil and its people. Dont think we will ever visit Brazil again. These people should be fired ASAP.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

Always late and quite rude drivers. Better take a taxi, believe me.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

from the airport to the hotel: 15 minutes late, plus the driver had some "personal" detour with some friends!

from the hotel to the airport: the driver arrived 1 hour earlier!!! Nevertheless, we were ready, so we went down to the hotel reception in 5 minutes, but the driver has left already!!

Khie Chen
Indonesia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

The shuttle not ready at arrival gate.
After half an hour we are looking for the shuttle, some one help us to call the office, and they confirm to pick up at departure gate in 10 minute.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

The shuttle service was terrible. The instructions regarding the arrival pickup location were incorrect. The shuttle drivers were unsafe...driving while talking on cell phones (illegal in Brazil). Upon departure, there was no flexibility in arranging for a desired pickup time. The designated pickup time did not allow enough time to safely get through check-in lines and customs inspections for international flights. I was greatly disappointed and would never recommend this to anybody.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

It is amazing that the itinerary is so different from what the dispatcher meeting point was. I am so disappointed at how late and unorganized the roundtrip shuttle transfer.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

Not so good. The pickup point is very sketchy. there are three proposed pickup spots in the airport and they were all questionable. Calling to confirm pickup is a long distance call and the language barrier (Portugese only) makes the call take quite long. The driver was not there for 75 minutes from the agreed time. we were waiting helplessly in the airport for all that time. We did get to our hotel though but after 11 hours oof air travel it needed to be more clear and reliable.

Trudy A
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

No one was at the airport to meet me because my flight was late. Asked a stranger at the airport who could speak Portugese to ring the shuttle for me to find out what was going on. Was told the shuttle would be back at x time and would pick me up then if I wanted to wait - this was another 1 1/2 hour wait. Not impressed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Unknown location at the airport. Although I had given my flight details previously I still had to wait an and a half to be picked up!! Horrible

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2011

When I arrived at GIG airport the driver was missing. I spent about 20 minutes trying to find him and it didn't help that he didn't have a sign with my name so it was pure luck when I found him. Unfortunately he spoke no english so it was difficult trying to get him to give me my return slip to confirm what time the transfer would be picking me up at the end of my trip and just told me to sort it out with the hotel instead! So the day before checkout I told them this and of course they said it was not their responsibility and had to ring the tour operator to find out why they would tell me such nonsense. Anyway they managed to confirm my pick up time was for 7pm the following day but the tour operator forgot to pick me up and weren't able to get someone to pick me up until 8.45pm! Worst transfer service ever.

From USD $ 52.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484RIOAPTHTL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message