4.5 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Rio de Janeiro Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This is an excellent way to see the downtown core of Rio de Janeiro! The walkabout lets one experience the environment that is not available on a bus tour. In our day tour there was no indication of the dangerous environment that had been predicted in some travel information obtained before we arrived in Brazil. Rio is like any other big city in the world, one has to be aware of time and place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour and excellent guide. This tour is a must in Rio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Five of us did the Rio de Janiero walking tour. Our guide was delightful.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Rio de Janeiro's downtown is a very rich architectural treasure, but the traffic, forget it! The churches and the buildings are very elegant and beautiful. Don't forget to visit Colombo! And bring your camera and prepare yorself for a great history appointment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and charismatic. He remembered our names and personally engaged us throughout the tour. My wife and I both enjoyed his humor and personality woven into his great time management skills as well! That was a tough tour to fit within a short amount of time, but he managed to get us through safely in the middle of downtown. We had nothing but good feelings by the end.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Absolutely fantastic! Guide is the best I have ever had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were glad that we were part of the tour group to go to the Centro district. We felt safe the entire time and got a lot more from the tour because of our well informed tour guide. The walking tour can be long and tiring, so save it for a time when you can rest a bit afterwards. It really is worth it if you enjoy looking at architecture and historical sites. This tour showed us a side of Rio that we hadn't seen before and may not have explored on our own.

Trevor H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A nice way to see the old city

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The highlight of this tour was undoubtedly the guide - J.B.
He managed to make everything so interesting and included everyone in his question and answer sessions. Within 20 mins he had remembered all our names. Old town Rio is starting to become dilapidated and the old historic buildings are gradually being replaced by modern skyscrapers. Such a shame really, these places must have look magnificent in their heyday. The visit to the Cake and coffee shop was a well appreciated break in the walk which took approximately 4 hours.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful! We learned so much about Rio/Brasil and saw sites that we would never had seen if we hadn't taken the tour. JB was well-informed and very pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very informative, good guide who spoke English , nice to have door to door service. overall an enjoyable tour. only issue was amount charged differed from website , I contacted the email for customer service but no reply

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The historical center of Rio de Janeiro is interesting. Our guide was very knowledgeable and efficient. Don't miss the famous cafe "Colombo".

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Guide very knowledgable and friendly. They called my hotel before pickup to confirm my availability and if not available they would reschedule tour. Can't beat that! Ron from toronto

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very interesting and informative. The churches old and new form a large part of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

JB our excellent guide showed us the delights of Rio. His knowledge and enthusiasm made it a day to remember. A definite highlight was the Confeitaria Colombo as well as the description of Carnevale!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was safe, you should definitely take this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent guide, very informative. Enjoyed it a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

I really liked the tour,wished more places would have been covered fro example the Opera house.Our tour guide was great.The transport was not good a little bit.And also if the tour is done in one language is much better.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

I enjoyed the content of the tour very much. It was interesting to see old Rio and walk its streets. The pace was a bit too fast for my taste -- too much information in a fast tempo. I could not quite absorb it all. Nice coffee break at the end in a beautiful cafe.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was good. Rio has a lot of interesting history but they have not perserved it as well as Europe. Many of the beautiful historic sites have become fronts to skyscrappers. It was still very interesting and worthwhile to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

If you want to know more historical information about the city and some of its churches, take this tour, it was good.

Ursula H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Guide very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Christian G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This tour is perfect if you want to see the other side of Rio. You wont get bored because there's so much to see!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We booked this tour to learn about the history and the past of this vibrant city. We enjoyed visiting historical places and appreciated the information that we were told by our dynamic guide. Also during the tour, we had the chance to make a little stop at the beautiful Confeitaria Colombo. For the price of the excursion, I was expecting more from this tour. The places we visited didn't have entrance fees and we visited mostly monasteries, churches and cathedrals. Overall, it was a good walking tour and excursion.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable! Definitely worth doing because there are some wonderful sites that you are not likely to find or see otherwise.

From USD $ 56.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message